We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Devon View Guest House
Ranked #30 of 39 Swansea B&B and Inns
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely and welcoming”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights while in Swansea. It could not have been more cozy and just what we wanted. The view is amazing, the food good, and Alison is lovely and was very helpful.

This is a guest house, so be prepared for the stairs.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josephcarrfrost, Owner at Devon View Guest House, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
thank you for spending the time in doing a review of your stay with us. it is always great to receive a good review and we look forward to you returning if you get the chance. kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    45
    20
    12
    27
See reviews for
35
65
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this area a few times now and this must be one of the cleanest yet comfortable rooms,good f portion's of food made feel welcome by staff will be booking in here again all things catered for thanks mick

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josephcarrfrost, Owner at Devon View Guest House, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
thank you for such a good review. we do appreciate it when guests spend their time doing this and we try very hard to make guests feel welcome. hopefully you can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Came down for the weekend to visit daughter." Nov 23rd" Wanted somewhere close to the university where she is studying. Choose Devon View Guest House as we have stayed there before. What another great stay. This time we had a sea view room with en suit. The sea view was fantastic as we sat in the chairs in the bay window as the sun was out. Room was very clean. Breakfast was excellent. Staff so friendly.
A big thank you to Alison & Angela who made us so welcome.

Room Tip: choose a front room if you want an excellent sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed here overnight whilst moving my Niece into Swansea Uni. Beautifully decorated room with fab view. Very clean and tidy. Plenty of breakfast choice and friendly staff.
Downsides? Place overall a bit too warm for my comfort, very steep stairs if you are not fully mobile and there was no ventilation in the en suite bathroom and stone cold shower (although my sister had one just before me and hers was hot). From reading other reviews this may be a pressure issue.
Also, beware of the swivel, halogen spotlights in the room, they burn if you try to re-angle them to use with the mirror when they are on....... Still got the dead brown skin on my finger to show for it!
Having said all this, would still recommend it overall and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Myself and husband stayed her for 2 nights In september 2013 as we were settling our daughter into her halls at Swansea university the owners were very friendly and made us very welcome the room was spotless and vleaned every day and our shared bathroom was spotless which was a worry for me the breakfast was lovely with a very good choice we will be staying again but in an en suit room and only for the fact some one in b&b who was using same bathroom as us didn't flush the toilet every time they used it which is no fault of the owners cleanliness we walked into town both nights and it was not to bad a walk

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maley1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was booked last minute and I was a bit worried that it might be poor as it was one of the few remaining B&B's left that had room for 3 people. But it was surprisingly nice, we were greeted at the front door and as my daughter had 3 suitcases and a huge trunk they were very accomodating and they ended up putting it in their kitchen. The only real downside to this B&B is the several flights of stairs you have to go up to get to your room if its at the top. But the room was just the right size for us and with very clean floors and beds, these were cleaned everyday, but the room was quite hot and the windows had to be opened. The view was very beautiful of the beach which is right opposite across the road. Another downside would be having to go down to the second or first floors to use the tiny bathroom with a small shower, but to be honest if you're staying for only a few days then you don't need a massive shower. The breakfast was nice and varied with an option of getting cockles and laverbread. It was a trek to get to the city centre but a bus or cab fare are cheap enough and easy to find. Overall I think this B&B is a great little place and I would definately be booking here again.

Room Tip: The front rooms have a great view of the ocean but are quite noisy with the main road being just out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragonheart2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
161 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I thought it the fairest way to review this B&B ...

The pros:

- the view from the front rooms is amazing - right over the seafront so you can happily watch the tide come in and out ... Truly panoramic.

- and if you're exploring the area, the Devon View is good too ... Easy access back to the M4, and into Mumbles

- we were warmly welcomed and the staff were most friendly ... recommending nearby restaurants, immediately dealing with faults (a broken shower)

- there are restaurants within an easy walk ... the Thai next door has good reviews, and there's an Italian restaurant and Indian ones too.

- it is a drive into town, but the parking there is easy, even on a Saturday night. Or get a taxi.

The Cons:

- the front rooms are noisy. I mean, NOISY!!!!! There's a busy four-lane road right outside, and the traffic is pretty constant. We were there in a heat wave, and, with one window open, we had to put the subtitles on the TV. It was that bad. Then, on the Sunday night, the Thai place next door let rip with the live music. At which point my friend and I just had to laugh. To be fair, the B&B owners are doing all they can to stop the music disturbance, so this will be less of a problem in the future ... Hopefully ...

- the en-suite bathroom was really tiny ... No window and no ventilation. And plastic. The shower didn't work ... No hot water. The owners will have fixed this by now, though. There was a nice shower room down the corridor, which we used.

- the Devon View isn't in a nice part of town. I never felt unsafe, but it is a bit rundown.

- the breakfast was nothing special. Served with a friendly smile, but I didn't look forward to the food.

My companion said she could forgive this B&B everything for the view. She so loved looking out of the window, it made her holiday. So there you go. For me, it was way too noisy, and, although I have fond memories of our visit, I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: For the view, go for the front. For sleep, you need a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janthefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.6 mi away
Hurst Dene Hotel
Hurst Dene Hotel
#19 of 22 in Swansea
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White House
The White House
#15 of 22 in Swansea
161 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#11 of 22 in Swansea
205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leonardos Guest House
Leonardos Guest House
#17 of 39 in Swansea
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon View Guest House

Property: Devon View Guest House
Address: 394-396 Oystermouth Road, Swansea SA1 3UL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Devon View Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star overlooking the whole of Swansea Bay and set back just a stones throw from the 7 mile sandy beach. Views to the magnificent Gower and the famous Mumbles. We have 5 star food hygiene rating!!! Just a short walk to the town centre with its famous indoor market and surrounded by fine restaurants of almost every nationality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Devon View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon View Guest House Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing