We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,tidy, friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Devon View Guest House
Ranked #31 of 39 Swansea B&B and Inns
1 review
“Clean,tidy, friendly”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Location is fab! Just opposite the sea! The breakfast is totally fantastic! Owner is so friendly and lovely! Room has the basin. The only thing which is not perfect, is you have to share the toilet. But the toilet is so clean, so it is not a big matter for me! Excellent experience in Swansea.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xuzhenyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    45
    22
    12
    32
See reviews for
37
71
39
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was our first visit to Swansea and the Devon View had some great reviews. The location was great, right opposite the sea and only a view minutes walk from the shops. Our bedroom was lovely, spacious, clean and tidy and had a sea view. Our hosts were very friendly and sociable. Breakfast was excellent with a great choice and very filling! Although there is no parking on site there is plenty of parking locally. We would highly recommend the Devon View Guest and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the en-suite sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funkysister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have been travelling and working in Swansea for the last 5 years and was reccomended to stay at the Devon View. I must say the level of service here is second to none. Clean rooms, very friendly and helpfull hosts who will always go thast extra mile to help make your stay an enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Front rooms all have a view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nodgeWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

the couple who had the guest house were so friendly and helpful. lovely breakfast. clean and tidy homely . we had a sea view it really pays. not to far to walk to shops. beach right across the road just right. .the bed was so comfy.

Room Tip: sea view a bit special
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinarobinson948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josephcarrfrost, Owner at Devon View Guest House, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
thank you for your review. it is great for us to feel we have served our guests in such a way that they are happy. we look forward to you returning. take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I required accommodation with printing facilities as I am a lawyer and I need to be able to produce documents for use at court at short notice. With this in mind, my partner emailed Devon View on my behalf almost a month in advance of my stay. The title of her email was 'Printing enquiry' and it made an enquiry as to room availability and included the passage 'A key consideration will be printing facilities'. She received a response shortly thereafter which included the following two sentences: 'we can make our printer available if you place all files for printing on a memory stick'; and 'please note that depending on the amount to be printed we may need to recover ink and paper costs'. Happy with this response I asked her to book a room on my behalf which she did.

The day that I was due to arrive I rang up to let them know when I would arrive (as requested). I sought to arrange in advance a fee for using printing facilities and it immediately became apparent that there was a degree of reluctance to print my documents. I was told that I would not be able to print documents before 9.00 am (precisely when I would need to print them). During this conversation it was suggested that I buy 'a cheap printer'.

I arrived that night and immediately needed to print documents that I had been working on on the train. This was reluctantly done, but in a manner that suggested that I would not be allowed to print any further documents.

The next evening I approached the manager to find out whether or not I would be allowed to be able to print any more documents. I was told that I would not and that I was being 'unreasonable'. I asked what it was about my conduct and behaviour that had been unreasonable and no explanation was given. I reminded the manager that I had made it clear several weeks in advance that printing was a key consideration and I was told that I had not specified how much printing I would require (I found this a bizarre response - clearly it was likely that I would be doing a substantial amount of printing given that I had said it would be a key consideration and, in any case, surely it was incumbent upon Devon View to say so if there was a maximum amount of printing that I would be allowed to do). I asked whether it would be better if I left and went to stay at alternative accommodation with printing facilities. I was told that I could but that I would still have to pay for my room.

Throughout my exchanges with him I found the manager to be unnerving, aggressive, unreasonable and rude. I was flabbergasted not to have been given access to printing facilities in circumstances where I had made it clear weeks in advance that this was a key consideration. In my opinion it was disingenuous to suggest that printing facilities were available in the first place. Further, not to have been allowed to leave when it became apparent that printing facilities were not available was, in my opinion, disgraceful. As a result of this situation I was unable to do my job in the way that I would have liked.

This is without doubt the worst experience I have had in a guest house, hotel, hostel, etc., and I have stayed in a great many. Indeed, I have never previously made an entry on trip advisor but have felt compelled to do so in these circumstances.

The guest house itself was run down and the pressure in the toilet in my room was such that toilet paper had to go in the bin and, even then, it did not flush properly requiring me to pour several kettles of water down it each time I wished to flush it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BLH12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josephcarrfrost, Owner at Devon View Guest House, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
ouch! what a comprehensively unhappy time you spent with us. being a lawyer you are well aware of the futile nature of responding within this format in a negative way so all we can say is we are surprised at the review but leave it to your comments and scores to illuminate any reader as to your intentions in the comprehensive nature of the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights while in Swansea. It could not have been more cozy and just what we wanted. The view is amazing, the food good, and Alison is lovely and was very helpful.

This is a guest house, so be prepared for the stairs.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josephcarrfrost, Owner at Devon View Guest House, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
thank you for spending the time in doing a review of your stay with us. it is always great to receive a good review and we look forward to you returning if you get the chance. kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this area a few times now and this must be one of the cleanest yet comfortable rooms,good f portion's of food made feel welcome by staff will be booking in here again all things catered for thanks mick

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josephcarrfrost, Owner at Devon View Guest House, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
thank you for such a good review. we do appreciate it when guests spend their time doing this and we try very hard to make guests feel welcome. hopefully you can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.1 mi away
Beachcomber
Beachcomber
#17 of 22 in Swansea
80 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
174 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The White House
The White House
#15 of 22 in Swansea
164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel
3.5 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#11 of 22 in Swansea
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon View Guest House

Property: Devon View Guest House
Address: 394-396 Oystermouth Road, Swansea SA1 3UL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Devon View Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star overlooking the whole of Swansea Bay and set back just a stones throw from the 7 mile sandy beach. Views to the magnificent Gower and the famous Mumbles. We have 5 star food hygiene rating!!! Just a short walk to the town centre with its famous indoor market and surrounded by fine restaurants of almost every nationality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Devon View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon View Guest House Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing