We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing week at the Bakehouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Welsh Welcome

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swansea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Welsh Welcome
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing week at the Bakehouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed in the Bakehouse for a week in October. Despite the weather being very stormy, we had a lovely time – it was a perfect retreat for us to get some writing done in the mornings and go out walking (in the wet!) in the afternoons. The cottage was very warm and cosy thanks to the oil burner, and all the furnishings were beautiful, particularly in the bedroom. We could only imagine how idyllic it would be in the summer, when one can use the pool! Thanks to Christine and Tony, who are exemplary hosts. We would love to stay again. Jess and Jon

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, Owner at Welsh Welcome, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you both for the review The Bakehouse is the perfect place to snuggle in a storm,so cozy and with its own little garden perfect to sit and enjoy the veiw when the storm is over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thurles, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I was brought here as a surprise for a few days. It was a brilliant surprise. We stayed in the Homey Pot cottage. It had everything we needed. The ground floor had a bathroom and kitchen while upstairs had a living area and bedroom, which had a massive bed and a view of the sea. The whole cottage was full of lovely touches, chocolate on the pillows, sherry on the side board and flowers to take home. Chris was a fantastic host who was there to answer all our questions and insisted that we took apples from the orchard and anything else we wanted from the garden. For what we couldn't get in the garden, we could get from the village shop. Less than 10 minutes away there was an endless sandy beach. We felt like the only people there while we sat eating out picnic lunch on an alcove in the cliffs. For the evenings there is a great pub 10 minutes walk away which had local ale and a menu containing everything from sandwiches to three course dinners. For between lunch and dinner, we relaxed in the hot tub with a glass of white wine, something I never thought I would do in west Wales. To sum up, we had a fantastic relaxing few days, best surprise ever.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, Owner at Welsh Welcome, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful review, it was great to see you both having such a great time, it makes me very happy when guests have enjoying everthing icluding the unexpected, I hope to see you again sometime.
Kind Regards Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We recently stayed at Cwm Ivy court farm and couldn't have wished for a more relaxing place to recharge our batteries. Christine and Tony were so warm and welcoming and only too happy to help us. The local shop provides all the essentials and the walks nearby are lovely. The sun shone the day we were leaving and we just wanted to stay! We have since raved about it to my family and my sister is looking at booking in.. Thank you for the perfect pre-baby break!

Room Tip: lovespoon is a groundfloor room with a room above
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, Owner at Welsh Welcome, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Im so glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to relax and rest before your baby arives.A lot of our first time guests come through recommendation Im pleased to say so thank you and I look forward to meeting your sister. All our best wishes for November and be sure to let us know when Baby arives.
Kind regards Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Just returned home after a lovely few days in the Gower. It is very close to a wonderful deserted beach which we enjoyed strolling along on our final day. We stayed in the Bake House which was lovely but a little on the small side so if you plan to stay for longer than a few days and want to eat an evening meal in the cottage, I would probably recommend one of the other cottages as they seem to be a little bigger from the photos. Also not a good idea for tall people due to the lovely beamed ceiling in the bedroom. Oh yes, the bed was soooo comfortable, it was difficult to leave it every morning.

We took advantage of the hot tub and the nice reading room in the Orchard but the pool was a little too cold to take advantage of. Tony and Christine were the most friendly hosts. If you want total peace and tranquility with plenty of lovely walks and not much else it doesn't get much better than this.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam&Trev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, Owner at Welsh Welcome, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us, The Bakehouse is our smallest cottage and very popular with the highes rate of reterns one guest being over 6ft, and others staying for up to a month the outdoor pool open from May /September as it is a very large pool and dificult to maintain the temprature at other times of the year, but we do make it available throughout the year for those who wish to use it.
Kind regards Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have just come back from a week's holiday at Cwm Ivy Court, staying at Swallows Rest. What an amazing location, felt very privileged to be able to stay in such a beautiful cottage, garden and area, Christine and Tony are the perfect hosts and make you feel so welcome into their home and garden. beaches are stunning and there is plenty to do.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 444lallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, Owner at Welsh Welcome, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Im so glad you enjoyed your stay in The Swallows Rest and must say the sight of you sitting in the garden watching the Barn Owls was wonderfull, I do hope to see you both again sometime. Kind regards Christine & Hooty the Owl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were so impressed with the beautiful garden that had a swimming-pool and the amazing welcome we received here (thank you for the cake and my lovely birthday present). Christine and Tony were most accommodating and very friendly. This place is fun and so welcoming! Would definitely visit again and can recommend to anyway that seeks tranquility in a sophisticated, quirky Welsh surrounding. Only a short walk from one of the most beautiful beaches we’ve ever been to and breathtaking views right on your doorstep. 5 stars!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greta780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, Owner at Welsh Welcome, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for the kind review we were happy to help you celebrate your Birthday and hope it will be one you will remember.
Kind regards Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanllyfni. Gwynedd
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Our first visit to Gower. So glad that we found Cwm Ivy Farm. Stayed in Honeypot. The view that we woke to every morning amazing. Numerous walks nearby, especially enjoyed our jaunt up Cwm Ivy Tor. The Britannia Inn is within walking distance, serving excellent food at reasonable prices. One of our best holidays.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Almallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, Owner at Welsh Welcome, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
What a loverly reiew thank you, Im so glad you enjoyed Honypot sitting with your morning cuppa in that kingsize bed looking out is amazing I hope to see you again for another great holiday.
Kind regards Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
3.5 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
11.8 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
5.5 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#1 of 7 in Llangennith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
1.5 mi away
Western House B&B
Western House B&B
#2 of 7 in Llangennith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
3.8 mi away
Broad Park Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welsh Welcome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welsh Welcome

Property: Welsh Welcome
Address: Farm Cwm Ivy Cwm IVY COURT | Llanmadoc, Swansea SA3 1DJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Swansea
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welshwelcome the perfect place for couples,set in prize winning grounds on the costal path with a hot tub perfect for relaxing and recharging, a short walk to the village community shop or Pub and right next to The Nat Trust nature reserve and Whitford beach if you can take a week off we do short breaks comfortable well equiped we try to give a very Welshwelcome ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Welsh Welcome Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing