We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good ,comfortable hotel in a good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A good ,comfortable hotel in a good location.”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The hotel was busy with a wedding when we arrived on a Saturday. Thankfully, our room was on the fourth floor and well away from any noise.It was a standard room and we were booked in on a room only basis. To be honest, the room was not much bigger that a room at some budget hotels. However the advantage for us was that car parking was included. Also, we found it to be clean ,quiet and in a good position, over-looking Swansea Bay and near some of Swansea`s prestigious restaurants.We were happy with our stay there and plan to stay again.We visit Swansea fairly regularly in order to see family and friends and also to visit much-loved locations.

Room Tip: The corner rooms such as our -room 401 give you some extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller504175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    407
    189
    59
    28
See reviews for
219
332
37
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I was so disappointed by my brief stay at the Marriott. I asked for a quiet room and was not told there would be a very noisy wedding party the night of arrival with loud singing and shouting until early morning hours outside the window of my room which was located quite near the function room.. The staff were pleasant but rather clueless. The beds, which the Marriott prides itself on apparently (as they have a whole brochure devoted to their beds), were very uncomfortable...well past their change date.

Sad that the lovely location of the hotel is so marred by things that coud be easily rectified.

Room Tip: Check to see if there is a party happening and beg for a room well away from lobby and function room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NellKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This hotel is in a great location - just steps to the beach, marina, bus depot, grocery store, and a short walk to downtown. All without having to climb any of the Swansea hills.

The king room was reasonably nice, with a perfect view of the marina. The air conditioner was temperamental, even after they did major work to correct the problem (apparently they were all installed wrong). There were more tv channels than other hotels.

The £15/day for in-room internet was obscene. You could get free Internet in the lobby and restaurant. Many other hotels recognize that Internet is a necessity and not a luxury, and no longer charge for it. Marriott should adopt that courtesy.

The staff were extremely courteous and obliging - which is pretty much the way things are throughout Wales. Americans who always say Canadians are so polite have clearly never experienced Welsh people.

The dinner food is pretty good. The breakfast is poor by North American standards. The coffee is fair to poor (which is better than most places in the UK). This place had cream, but I'm not exactly sure what type of cream it was. After trying it, we opted for <shudder> milk.

The big negative is that this place would get in tour groups and, instead of feeding them in a banquet room, they would allow the groups to take over the restaurant for 2 hours. I had breakfast & dinner included in my stay and I wasn't allowed to eat in the restaurant on two occasions!

Room Tip: Get a view of the marina if possible. It is very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Professor78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Lovely modern hotel, helpful staff and comfortable rooms. Great base for the city centre, Gower, west Wales and the Swansea maritime quarter. Friendly and accommodating staff, we stayed here for a cycling event which the hotel was more than prepared for by extending their breakfast hours.

Room Tip: Rooms with views facing the maritime quarter have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tredaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Services would be around 4.5 stars, polite and helpful. Foods and drinks are fantastic, rooms are spacial, clean and very comfortable. Had great night sleep like home. Facilities such as sauna and bath are well maintained. Close to supermarket and pharmacy, overlooking some docks with boats, by the seaside, the location is perfect, despite the not-so-clear sea water. Lol. Like said, I would recommend this place if the price are not too much differences. Hotel are almost 90 years old, hence the structure and appearance might not be as appealing, but the standards are definitely there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cimegs5088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Booked 2 adjoining rooms for the family. Very comfortable air conditioned, quiet rooms. added advantage was an empty fridge to enable us to place our stuff in there.
Easy walking into central swansea and the beach.
EXpensive drinks and food however!

Room Tip: 4th floor very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bulwell13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
339 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Nine of us 20-somethings stayed in this hotel on Saturday 27th July for my boyfriend's 24th birthday weekend in his old university town. The same weekend had occurred the previous year and people had stayed in the Premier Inn, but that was booked up which led my boyfriend to book this Marriott.
And how glad we were that the Premier Inn had been full!
Even before we arrived, the staff showed themselves to be incredibly helpful and friendly, as they answered my friend's request to have an alcoholic shot waiting for Alex upon arrival, along with a little note wishing him luck for his "24 shot challenge" for his 24th birthday. They certainly saw the fun side and, when my boyfriend was sorting out our booking, the lovely lady behind reception disappeared and returned with the shot glass and the little notecard, which was very kind indeed of them.
We checked into our rooms no problem, and it didn't really matter that they'd not realised we were a group booking and were spread out across different floors. We had to swap a twin for a double in one instance, but that wasn't a problem to do amongst ourselves. My boyfriend and I ended up in a twin, which was really two big double beds, which we could share quite happily! The room was very clean, modern and spacious, which is a nice contrast to the cramped hotels of the southeast where we come from.
The bathroom was well stocked and very clean and bright, and my favourite part was the beautiful view out across the marina (we were Room 216 on the second floor.)
We didn't eat in the hotel, but a friendly man on reception was happy to order us a taxi to Wind Street for our birthday night out, and indulged in some friendly banter with us as well, which is always nice from reception staff.
The following morning we were chuffed to have the hotel breakfast included in our room price (which we hadn't expected), particularly since the Marriott offers one of the best hotel breakfasts I've ever experience. For 9 people after a very late night out, the huge cooked breakfast and ability to order pancakes and waffles was the perfect hangover cure!
I must also mention that the boys in our group were big fans of the health club, spending an hour each day in the jacuzzi whilst us girls chatted in the bar. (The bar prices were a little high to my mind, but I suppose that's to be expected of a hotel bar.)
The best thing of all about the hotel is its location, however. Some rooms look out over the huge expanse of beach, as the hotel is slap bang on the beautiful beachfront. There is a small "guests only" patio that overlooks the beach, where we had our picnic lunch on Saturday. The hotel also offers a beachside BBQ which was a nice touch!
All in all, a brilliant stay for a brilliant price and we were all agreed we'd be back for Alex's 25th birthday next year!

(The only negative point: all our rooms were too warm, and neither opening the window, nor putting the fan onto its coolest and most powerful setting, seemed to help alleviate the heat.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the beach or the pretty marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelMary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
1.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,529 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
924 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#13 of 22 in Swansea
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#16 of 22 in Swansea
606 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#8 of 22 in Swansea
707 reviews
3.5 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swansea Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swansea Marriott Hotel

Property: Swansea Marriott Hotel
Address: Maritime Quarter, Swansea SA1 3SS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Swansea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Swansea
#4 Family Hotel in Swansea
#4 Business Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swansea Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the bustling Maritime Quarter on the enchanting Swansea Bay, the Swansea Marriott Hotel captures the charm and beauty of its Gower peninsula surroundings. A gentle stroll to the city centre is complete with lively markets and attractions. Surrounded by the very best of Wales' golf courses, a short distance from the Liberty Stadium and Ffos Las Racecourse, the Swansea Marriott Hotel has appeal for all. Experience a superior level of service and the warmest of Welsh welcomes. Our spacious guest rooms offer supreme comfort and functionality. Make use of your in-room workspace, before unwinding in our Leisure area, with mini gym, pool and sauna. The hotel restaurant serves local produce complemented with fine wine, which follows through to our extensive room service menu. The Swansea Marriott Hotel has an impressive Conference and Banqueting facility, complemented by expert catering. Whether you're on business or a relaxing break, the Swansea Marriott is the ideal venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Swansea Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Swansea
Swansea Marriott Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing