We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed for two nights and this was the third time we had stayed here. We enjoyed our stay just as much as we have done on previous occasions.
Yes there was a wedding party on the Friday night of our stay but we had requested a high floor room when we booked and were not disturbed by excess noise.
The restaurant was not too busy on either of the mornings given that the hotel was full and the food was fresh with lots of choice. Some items are cooked to order and the hot food is constantly replenished by a chef cooking just behind the counter.
We also had one evening meal here which was very tasty.
The location is great and the hotel now has the added bonus of free wifi in the public areas. We will definitely be returning!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

752 - 758 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

The hotel was busy with a wedding when we arrived on a Saturday. Thankfully, our room was on the fourth floor and well away from any noise.It was a standard room and we were booked in on a room only basis. To be honest, the room was not much bigger that a room at some budget hotels. However the advantage for us was that car parking was included. Also, we found it to be clean ,quiet and in a good position, over-looking Swansea Bay and near some of Swansea`s prestigious restaurants.We were happy with our stay there and plan to stay again.We visit Swansea fairly regularly in order to see family and friends and also to visit much-loved locations.

Room Tip: The corner rooms such as our -room 401 give you some extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller504175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I was so disappointed by my brief stay at the Marriott. I asked for a quiet room and was not told there would be a very noisy wedding party the night of arrival with loud singing and shouting until early morning hours outside the window of my room which was located quite near the function room.. The staff were pleasant but rather clueless. The beds, which the Marriott prides itself on apparently (as they have a whole brochure devoted to their beds), were very uncomfortable...well past their change date.

Sad that the lovely location of the hotel is so marred by things that coud be easily rectified.

Room Tip: Check to see if there is a party happening and beg for a room well away from lobby and function room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NellKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This hotel is in a great location - just steps to the beach, marina, bus depot, grocery store, and a short walk to downtown. All without having to climb any of the Swansea hills.

The king room was reasonably nice, with a perfect view of the marina. The air conditioner was temperamental, even after they did major work to correct the problem (apparently they were all installed wrong). There were more tv channels than other hotels.

The £15/day for in-room internet was obscene. You could get free Internet in the lobby and restaurant. Many other hotels recognize that Internet is a necessity and not a luxury, and no longer charge for it. Marriott should adopt that courtesy.

The staff were extremely courteous and obliging - which is pretty much the way things are throughout Wales. Americans who always say Canadians are so polite have clearly never experienced Welsh people.

The dinner food is pretty good. The breakfast is poor by North American standards. The coffee is fair to poor (which is better than most places in the UK). This place had cream, but I'm not exactly sure what type of cream it was. After trying it, we opted for <shudder> milk.

The big negative is that this place would get in tour groups and, instead of feeding them in a banquet room, they would allow the groups to take over the restaurant for 2 hours. I had breakfast & dinner included in my stay and I wasn't allowed to eat in the restaurant on two occasions!

Room Tip: Get a view of the marina if possible. It is very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Professor78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Lovely modern hotel, helpful staff and comfortable rooms. Great base for the city centre, Gower, west Wales and the Swansea maritime quarter. Friendly and accommodating staff, we stayed here for a cycling event which the hotel was more than prepared for by extending their breakfast hours.

Room Tip: Rooms with views facing the maritime quarter have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tredaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Services would be around 4.5 stars, polite and helpful. Foods and drinks are fantastic, rooms are spacial, clean and very comfortable. Had great night sleep like home. Facilities such as sauna and bath are well maintained. Close to supermarket and pharmacy, overlooking some docks with boats, by the seaside, the location is perfect, despite the not-so-clear sea water. Lol. Like said, I would recommend this place if the price are not too much differences. Hotel are almost 90 years old, hence the structure and appearance might not be as appealing, but the standards are definitely there.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cimegs5088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Booked 2 adjoining rooms for the family. Very comfortable air conditioned, quiet rooms. added advantage was an empty fridge to enable us to place our stuff in there.
Easy walking into central swansea and the beach.
EXpensive drinks and food however!

Room Tip: 4th floor very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bulwell13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
1,039 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#13 of 22 in Swansea
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,968 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
785 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swansea Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swansea Marriott Hotel

Address: Maritime Quarter, Swansea SA1 3SS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Swansea
#4 Business Hotel in Swansea
#4 Family Hotel in Swansea
Price Range: £78 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swansea Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the bustling Maritime Quarter on the enchanting Swansea Bay, beautifully located Swansea Marriott Hotel captures the charm and beauty of its Gower peninsula surroundings. A gentle stroll to the city centre is complete with lively markets and attractions. Surrounded by the best of Wales' golf courses, a short distance from the Liberty Stadium and Ffos Las Racecourse, the Swansea Marriott Hotel has appeal for all. Experience a superior level of service and the warmest of Welsh welcomes. Our spacious guest rooms offer supreme comfort and functionality. Make use of your in-room workspace, before unwinding in our Leisure area, with mini gym, pool and sauna. The hotel restaurant serves local produce complemented with fine wine, which follows through to our extensive room service menu. Swansea Marriott Hotel has an impressive Conference and Banqueting facility, complemented by expert catering. Whether you're on business or a relaxing break, Swansea Marriott Hotel is the ideal venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Swansea Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Swansea
Swansea Marriott Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing