We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,200)
Filter reviews
1,200 results
Traveller rating
350
476
246
82
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
476
246
82
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marina view two double beds restaurant staff car park public areas city centre sea front reception staff stayed here for one night breakfast was excellent lovely location family room good nights sleep saturday night gower peninsula leisure facilities gym
Filter
Updating list...
874 - 879 of 1,200 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The hotel was busy with a wedding when we arrived on a Saturday. Thankfully, our room was on the fourth floor and well away from any noise.It was a standard room and we were booked in on a room only basis. To be honest, the room was not much bigger that a room at some budget hotels. However the advantage for us was that car parking was included. Also, we found it to be clean ,quiet and in a good position, over-looking Swansea Bay and near some of Swansea`s prestigious restaurants.We were happy with our stay there and plan to stay again.We visit Swansea fairly regularly in order to see family and friends and also to visit much-loved locations.

Room tip: The corner rooms such as our -room 401 give you some extra space.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller504175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I was so disappointed by my brief stay at the Marriott. I asked for a quiet room and was not told there would be a very noisy wedding party the night of arrival with loud singing and shouting until early morning hours outside the window of my room which was located quite near the function room.. The staff were pleasant but rather clueless. The beds, which the Marriott prides itself on apparently (as they have a whole brochure devoted to their beds), were very uncomfortable...well past their change date.

Sad that the lovely location of the hotel is so marred by things that coud be easily rectified.

Room tip: Check to see if there is a party happening and beg for a room well away from lobby and function room.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NellKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This hotel is in a great location - just steps to the beach, marina, bus depot, grocery store, and a short walk to downtown. All without having to climb any of the Swansea hills.

The king room was reasonably nice, with a perfect view of the marina. The air conditioner was temperamental, even after they did major work to correct the problem (apparently they were all installed wrong). There were more tv channels than other hotels.

The £15/day for in-room internet was obscene. You could get free Internet in the lobby and restaurant. Many other hotels recognize that Internet is a necessity and not a luxury, and no longer charge for it. Marriott should adopt that courtesy.

The staff were extremely courteous and obliging - which is pretty much the way things are throughout Wales. Americans who always say Canadians are so polite have clearly never experienced Welsh people.

The dinner food is pretty good. The breakfast is poor by North American standards. The coffee is fair to poor (which is better than most places in the UK). This place had cream, but I'm not exactly sure what type of cream it was. After trying it, we opted for <shudder> milk.

The big negative is that this place would get in tour groups and, instead of feeding them in a banquet room, they would allow the groups to take over the restaurant for 2 hours. I had breakfast & dinner included in my stay and I wasn't allowed to eat in the restaurant on two occasions!

Room tip: Get a view of the marina if possible. It is very peaceful.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Professor78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Lovely modern hotel, helpful staff and comfortable rooms. Great base for the city centre, Gower, west Wales and the Swansea maritime quarter. Friendly and accommodating staff, we stayed here for a cycling event which the hotel was more than prepared for by extending their breakfast hours.

Room tip: Rooms with views facing the maritime quarter have the best views.
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tredaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Services would be around 4.5 stars, polite and helpful. Foods and drinks are fantastic, rooms are spacial, clean and very comfortable. Had great night sleep like home. Facilities such as sauna and bath are well maintained. Close to supermarket and pharmacy, overlooking some docks with boats, by the seaside, the location is perfect, despite the not-so-clear sea water. Lol. Like said, I would recommend this place if the price are not too much differences. Hotel are almost 90 years old, hence the structure and appearance might not be as appealing, but the standards are definitely there.

Date of stay: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cimegs5088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews