We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking tried”
Review of The Dragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dragon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at the Dragon a couple of years ago & were sorely disappointed at the decline in both the standard of service and the lack of maintainence. The reception staff were helpful and friendly but our room was clearly lacking some paint and general care, the sink was cracked and a good scrub at the tiles would not have hurt , but the bed was clean and having travelled 300 miles in pouring rain the effort was too much to move. We went down to dinner, which was in the bistro -very limited menu. We both had salmon with tagitellie and veg served in some sort of sauce which was like dishwater & the veg was hard to find!. The waitress came to ask if everything was okay and left without an answer! We decline desert and when asked again if our meal was okay I advised that No it was very poor but as we were tired and had had a long journey did not pursue this any further. In the morning the breakfast was good but again we waited about 25 mins and the service was poor - one of the waitress was positively rude when we asked for tea. I did gp to speak to reception and they deducted the breakfast off our meal promising to get back to us on the dinner and the overall level of service from the catering staff which they never did.The following night we ate elsewhere. Shame really after our previous visits had been good although little noise good location in centre of town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chalky30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your review, we take all feedback seriously and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. It is most unfortunate that our follow up conversation and good will gesture is not recognised and taken in the spirit in which it was offered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 619 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We got a pokey room at the end of a corridor, really claustrophobic. Mirror was broken and sharp. Dust was thick! Bed was apparently new but the worst thing i have ever slept in! Hair in the bath! Never again! Avoid! Best thing about this hotel is the location!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Having worked for a well known hotel chain yourself, I'm sure you understand that we never set out to disappoint and that we always endeavour to provide the best possible service. Once again, I offer our sincere apologies that your stay with us appears not to have been up to our usual high standards. I'm also sorry that you have chosen not to return despite our efforts to make amends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stayed here for one night on business having previously stayed at another Swansea City Centre hotel.
Checkin was very friendly and efficient and my room was quite spacious and comfortable although I would have preferred a double bed to two singles (this was not an option when I booked).
TV was provided by Sky and had limited channels compared with Freeview. Also, the aspect ratio was wrong and couldn't be changed.
Unfortunately, I never had a chance to check out the leisure facilities (and that was one of the reasons for choosing the hotel) but everything else was of high quality so I'm sure this would have been good too.
Breakfast cost an extra £10 when ordered at checkin and was cooked to order alongside an extensive cold buffet.
I would most probably stay here again if I have another visit in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for highlighting the issue with the television. Unfortunately I cannot immediately improve the offering but will certainly keep your comments in mind when the time is right for me to review the situation. I hope that you'll have the occasion to stay with us again, complete with an opportunity to visit our health club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We often stay here while working in Swansea. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is very good quality and value.
There is also a leisure club with sauna, gym etc...
The general decor of the hotel is very clean and smart.
The hotel is also situated about 5 mins walk from the station and 1 minute walk from the middle of town.
Would definitely recommend for business or pleasure.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here when booked in by the University for a 2 night visit. Lovely room, clean and very comfortable. Air conditioning worked a treat. The brasserie was great and good value. I worked in the lounge for 1 day - quiet and relaxing. The staff were wonderful and very helpful, even finding me a nail file in the evening when the shops were closed - the personal touches really make a difference. One small point, but an important one when I was staying on business: the high speed wifi didn't work in my room (floor 5). Still, am looking forward to my next trip to the Dragon at Christmas, and have told the University how good the stay was.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights; the good thing about it is that hotel is nearby town center. The room was clean but not perfect, service was average, food was average and price was a bet high for this quality.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Good sized hotel with extensive facilities. Fully functional rooms with good bathrooms. Nice ground floor brasserie with a further bar and restaurant on the first floor. Located in the centre of Swansea with everything walking distance. Secure parking, always a bonus:)

Top tip: Staff friendly and caring. Couldn't do enough to ensure you have everything you need. Recommended.

Room Tip: Double beds are 4'6" yet shorter than standard in length. If over 6ft tall ask for a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martinecm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your expeiences here, I shall be sure to pass on your comments to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.5 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
0.9 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,968 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
691 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#13 of 22 in Swansea
774 reviews
0.4 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dragon Hotel

Address: 39 The Kingsway, Swansea SA1 5LS, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Swansea
Price Range: £63 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dragon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city centre of Swansea, The Dragon Hotel offers excellent service and superior facilities that will make for an unforgettable stay. The central location of the hotel means that it is easy to access by car from the M4, 5-minute walk from Swansea Train Station and the central Bus Station. There are many attractions to see and do while staying at The Dragon Hotel, you are within a 5-minute walking distance of Swansea's Grand Theatre, Waterfront Museum, LC2 Water Park not forgetting the vibrant night-life. In addition to the numerous attractions that are within walking distance there are many other local attractions along with award winning beaches, like Rhossili Bay; voted one of the best beaches in the world. All bedrooms are well-appointed offering guests Free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning, flat screen TV, bathtub & shower, 24-hour room service, daily housekeeping and 24-hour reception. When staying at The Dragon Hotel all guests can benefit from Free access to the Leisure Club that features an 18-metre indoor swimming pool, male & female saunas, gymnasium. Beauty treatments are also available to book in advance. When it comes to dining, The Dragon Hotel has a stylish yet relaxed Brasserie & Cafe Bar which serves AA Rosette awarded European style cuisine and a range of light snacks. Bar facilities are available from The Dragon Brasserie & Cafe Bar, offering a wide selection of alcoholic drinks. An all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast is available each morning, which includes traditional British breakfast and a wide continental selection. The Dragon Hotel is one of the few city centre hotels that can offer on-site car parking, charges do apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Swansea
The Dragon Hotel Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing