We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for what we needed”
Review of The Dragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dragon Hotel
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for what we needed”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed at the hotel with 14 other friends (mostly couples) for a friends birthday. Hotel was perfect for what we needed and good value for money. Great location, only 10-15 min walk from the beach and under 5 mins from bars and clubs. The staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean however we did find a random pair of socks left in the drawer from a previous guest and we were only given one loo roll (but staff gave us another 2 straight away when i asked at reception). The lifts are very small and claim they can fit 6 people or 450kgs in. At a squeeze you can fit 4 people in there but we found weight became an issue anything above 3 people. All in all its a good hotel, great location and at £40 each (with 2 people sharing) its great value for money.

Room Tip: Try and stay as low as possible to avoid lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickT164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    332
    228
    80
    35
See reviews for
139
281
33
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Welcoming entrance foyer, greeted in restaurant by friendly staff, then it went slightly down hill sadly. Request for drinks and meal choice order was far too slow. The staff clothing was very food stained - not a sight diners wish to see. I expect waiting staff to look clean. BUT the carvery was delicious and very enjoyable. How are young/new staff supposed to do their job well if they are not trained properly by their seniors. Such a shame for this lovely hotel. Service/appearance could quite easily be rectified - then I will return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JW25Swansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I understand and share your concerns and have undertaken some staff restructuring to address such matters with the sincere hope of immediate improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The dragon is a true conundrum and a bit of a lottery; it depends so much on WHEN you stay as to whether its a 2, 3 or 4 star experience

The foyer makes a good impression with its fabulous bright dragon carpet and minimalist modern decor but then when we checked in staff hadn't heard of their own 'weekend by the sea' package (?) and were going to charge us too much. Also be aware a £50 deposit against what you might spend is taken automatically - I presume guests have often run away without paying!?

Then oh dear dear god you face the Lift Problem. The 2 lifts are tiny. It says there's room for 6 in each but this truly laughable. There is room only for 2 with luggage and waits for lifts can seem interminable. I'd highly recommend asking for a low or top floor as you are more likey to get a lift or be able to use stairs; by the time the lifts get even to one floor below the top they are full. They are also hot and claustrophobic so if you're fit enough it is best to go down the stairs!!

This was a major flaw and I only wish when they'd refurbished the hotel someone had had the gumption to put in a modern lift in another area to ease the pain

The room and bathroom were great and very comfortable indeed. we were glad of the air con but it too was a bit olde worlde and it only worked at the lower setting so your choices were on and baltic or off and too warm. However windows do open to let in some cool air

We had no problem with noise - a feature of a lot of reviews - but we were utterly stunned by the awfulness of the weekend breakfast expererience - the dragon is clearly completely unable to cope with being full!!

We entered the breakfast area on Sat morning all innocent and used to staying at marriotts. no manager was on duty (or at least not visible - a harassed looking waitress pointed us to a table and brought us the usual mediocre coffee

Then we went to get a hot breakfast to find a way, way too small breakfast bar being emptied by a group of locust- like golfers. I managed to get a slimy fried egg (no other type offered) and bacon and tomato - but as he foolishly went to make me some toast (adding to my uilt) my husband got nothing.

We then were in the situation that I had to eat mine (cold it would have been truly horrific) and he waited 15 minutes for the troughs to be refilled. The locusts had taken all the butter/flora as well but these were also eventually replenished.

The Sun morning was slightly more civilised but the choice the same; cereals, continental, fruit, croissants etc or slimy fried egg (overcooked too!) sausage bacon tomato beans mushrooms and black pudding

We ate just to get fuelled up and left asap

But now for the insane bit: weekday mornings, as the hotel is less busy, it's totally normal. There's the usual cold selection and a menu on the table! Different kinds of eggs!! Choice of kippers or mackerel at a £2.75 supplememt!!! Porridge if you want!!!!

We were quite stunned. I have to say the scramblies were tasteless and dry but at least they weren't slimy. What a difference. The service was fast too - on Sunday you couldn't get anything easily in the hotel as so many staff had thrown sickies to watch the world cup

If anyone from the hotel reads this please listen up; you will lose droves of customers if you treat them like cattle at weekends! Why would anyone sane come again? Breakfast is important and guests do pay for it

Here's the radical idea; Why not do something about it? Its not rocket science and how come other hotels manage??

1 Get a bigger hot breakfast trolley so there are bigger troughs
2 replenish these fast when its busy
3 if a group of golfers is in quickly get word to the kitchen to replenish asap
4 provide something other than slimy overcooked fried eggs
5 don't serve hot breakfast at all if you can't manage and charge less.

Its a mystery; why on earth do your best when the hotel is quiet and your worst when its busy? The number of customers you lose will be legion and quite rightly so

The pity of it is despite minor blips - like the leaky iron that soaked a shirt and a fair bit of our room - it's a comfortable stay and staff is friendly. The staff in the brasserie was excellent and gave us ice for drinks in our room and milk for our room when we couldn't get any for love nor money from hotel housekeeping staff on the sunday as they were so short staffed

As I say this hotel is a true conundrum as there's so much that's good but also major flaws; the location is amazing (so convenient a short walk to train station or city centre and buses) and its very reasonably priced. Its also great to have the brasserie on site

Here's the tips though;
1 beware the lifts and get a room as low or high up as you can as getting a lift on middle floors is nigh impossible
2 expect a grim hot breakfast at weekends to avoid disappointment and grab it as soon as you get there!! You may have a 15-20 minute wait otherwise for the slimy eggs and some troughs to be refilled
3 if you want a better break and time's not a constraint stay on weeknights and avoid the chaos that is weekends altogether

This could be a 5 star with proper lifts and hot breakfast at weekends, but, at weekends, it slides to about a 2-3 star rating and I have had far better breakfasts in tiny B&Bs!

We're not sure now if pros outweigh cons and we'd need a good think as to whether to risk another weekend stay

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hfulton32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your detailed review. Your feedback is truly appreciated and I am glad to see that at least some aspects of your stay were positive. Sadly there is very little we can do about the size of the lifts because of their location in relation to the hotel's steel structure. I'm sorry that breakfast proved to be so shambolic; unfortunately our Breakfast Chef was called away mid-service due to a medical emergency with his young son ( who, I'm glad to say, is now fine) so our breakfast service over the weekend was disrupted despite our best efforts. I am very sorry that you were impacted by this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We travel to Swansea every year and always stay in the Dragon hotel.
We are never dissapointed.
The hot food in the buffet breakfast is of a very high standard.
Everything cooked to perfection.
The Brasserie is very good value and the food and staff are brilliant.
The location of this hotel is second to none.
We are booked to go back in early September and are already looking forward to it..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMTELLINGU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back in September!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at the Dragon a couple of years ago & were sorely disappointed at the decline in both the standard of service and the lack of maintainence. The reception staff were helpful and friendly but our room was clearly lacking some paint and general care, the sink was cracked and a good scrub at the tiles would not have hurt , but the bed was clean and having travelled 300 miles in pouring rain the effort was too much to move. We went down to dinner, which was in the bistro -very limited menu. We both had salmon with tagitellie and veg served in some sort of sauce which was like dishwater & the veg was hard to find!. The waitress came to ask if everything was okay and left without an answer! We decline desert and when asked again if our meal was okay I advised that No it was very poor but as we were tired and had had a long journey did not pursue this any further. In the morning the breakfast was good but again we waited about 25 mins and the service was poor - one of the waitress was positively rude when we asked for tea. I did gp to speak to reception and they deducted the breakfast off our meal promising to get back to us on the dinner and the overall level of service from the catering staff which they never did.The following night we ate elsewhere. Shame really after our previous visits had been good although little noise good location in centre of town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalky30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we take all feedback seriously and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. It is most unfortunate that our follow up conversation and good will gesture is not recognised and taken in the spirit in which it was offered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We got a pokey room at the end of a corridor, really claustrophobic. Mirror was broken and sharp. Dust was thick! Bed was apparently new but the worst thing i have ever slept in! Hair in the bath! Never again! Avoid! Best thing about this hotel is the location!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Having worked for a well known hotel chain yourself, I'm sure you understand that we never set out to disappoint and that we always endeavour to provide the best possible service. Once again, I offer our sincere apologies that your stay with us appears not to have been up to our usual high standards. I'm also sorry that you have chosen not to return despite our efforts to make amends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swansea hotels

Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stayed here for one night on business having previously stayed at another Swansea City Centre hotel.
Checkin was very friendly and efficient and my room was quite spacious and comfortable although I would have preferred a double bed to two singles (this was not an option when I booked).
TV was provided by Sky and had limited channels compared with Freeview. Also, the aspect ratio was wrong and couldn't be changed.
Unfortunately, I never had a chance to check out the leisure facilities (and that was one of the reasons for choosing the hotel) but everything else was of high quality so I'm sure this would have been good too.
Breakfast cost an extra £10 when ordered at checkin and was cooked to order alongside an extensive cold buffet.
I would most probably stay here again if I have another visit in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for highlighting the issue with the television. Unfortunately I cannot immediately improve the offering but will certainly keep your comments in mind when the time is right for me to review the situation. I hope that you'll have the occasion to stay with us again, complete with an opportunity to visit our health club!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.5 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
974 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#16 of 22 in Swansea
608 reviews
0.9 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#8 of 22 in Swansea
711 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dragon Hotel

Property: The Dragon Hotel
Address: 39 The Kingsway, Swansea SA1 5LS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dragon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city centre of Swansea, The Dragon Hotel offers excellent service and superior facilities that will make for an unforgettable stay. The central location of the hotel means that it is easy to access by car from the M4, 5-minute walk from Swansea Train Station and the central Bus Station. There are many attractions to see and do while staying at The Dragon Hotel, you are within a 5-minute walking distance of Swansea's Grand Theatre, Waterfront Museum, LC2 Water Park not forgetting the vibrant night-life. In addition to the numerous attractions that are within walking distance there are many other local attractions along with award winning beaches, like Rhossili Bay; voted one of the best beaches in the world. All bedrooms are well-appointed offering guests Free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning, flat screen TV, bathtub & shower, 24-hour room service, daily housekeeping and 24-hour reception. When staying at The Dragon Hotel all guests can benefit from Free access to the Leisure Club that features an 18-metre indoor swimming pool, male & female saunas, gymnasium. Beauty treatments are also available to book in advance. When it comes to dining, The Dragon Hotel has a stylish yet relaxed Brasserie & Cafe Bar which serves AA Rosette awarded European style cuisine and a range of light snacks. Bar facilities are available from The Dragon Brasserie & Cafe Bar, offering a wide selection of alcoholic drinks. An all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast is available each morning, which includes traditional British breakfast and a wide continental selection. The Dragon Hotel is one of the few city centre hotels that can offer on-site car parking, charges do apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Swansea
The Dragon Hotel Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing