We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location lovely hotel great staff”
Review of The Dragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dragon Hotel
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location lovely hotel great staff”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Birthday celebration with living social . A great location brilliant staff especially Emma on
Reception and had good food mention to Liam one of the brasserie chefs location good for Swansea nightlife and food great base to see the GOWER

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison bamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I shall ensure that both Emma and Leam are made aware of your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    334
    231
    80
    35
See reviews for
140
284
33
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stopped here with work for two nights. I have stopped here before but this time a few things need to be addressed. Rooms small but adequate. Toilet hard to flush, thought it was just my room until others said the same. The first morning went for breakfast and I thought like the last time we visited you helped yourself, no it was to order. That was ok we all ordered a full English breakfast. When it came it was ok but half a sausage was a bit skimpy. We visited the hotel bar the first night to find very expensive beer which was awful. The next night 11 pm doors were locked thought residents could get a drink after hours ???. The next morning breakfast was a joke. As we waited for others two German lads had mistakenly thought breakfast was included only to be told £17.50 each all he had was a cheese roll. They walked out. We sat down ordered hot drinks the wrong ones came. While we were waiting we were entrained by the girl running the show to abruptly argue with the waiter ( I've been here 6 years I know where it is). We then asked the waiter to take our order in which he looked at the other girl as if it was her job. We ordered a full breakfast each. It came with half of it missing, when asked where the rest was they were taken away to be completed. Even then it was not right with the waiter saying we ordered wrong. This was after he was dressed down by the girl in charge. We said just leave it as we needed to go to work. If you have to have words with your staff please DO NOT do it in public. £17.50 you expect a fully breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoventryCovlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your comments, I'm sorry that you were subjected to such an experience. Following a recent drop in service levels at breakfast we have undertaken a change to our staffing structure to ensure an improvement in service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights the hotel was lovely the rooms where spacious, comfortable and clean - a great base for exploring the area. The reception and heath club staff where great - polite, helpful and very friendly, cant praise the staff enough. The only thing that let it down was on the last day in the breakfast room, we was greeted to be asked our room number but never asked if we wanted a hot drink or meal - other guests came in after us and where all served promptly? Otherwise can't fault the hotel lovely stay

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are addressing the service issues at breakfast, I'm sorry that we had been unable to get it right for your stay on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend break and had a great time. Well located and very friendly staff. Two nice bar areas. A decent size spa although we didn't venture in. Service at breakfast a little slow but worth waiting for. Will definitely return when next in area

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Saxondalefoxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

4 people serving in Restaurant for breakfast but no order, no resemblance of who has and who hasn't been served. 35 minutes to get a bowl of porridge and then cooked breakfast arrives - wrong order.!! Never again. Needs to be sorted and a Maître De appointed to oversee.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
I'm sorry that your experience at Breakfast was not good. We have undertaken some staff restructuring to ensure that our service improves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swansea hotels

Birmingham,
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here for one night earlier in the week. The reception staff were welcoming and helpful. Our room on the sixth floor was spotless and cool and although being at the front of the hotel it was quiet enough to have the window open all night. We had a drink in the bar which was pleasant. Breakfast was well organised and the cooked breakfast fresh and hot. Staff were friendly. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madaboutthemaldives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Staff was nice, breakfast was good, room was fine, bed comfy. seagulls woke us up each morning, price a little steep for the areA, car park was small and not enough room for our car each night I would stay again but might research other options

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.5 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#5 of 22 in Swansea
985 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#16 of 22 in Swansea
618 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#13 of 22 in Swansea
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#8 of 22 in Swansea
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dragon Hotel

Property: The Dragon Hotel
Address: 39 The Kingsway, Swansea SA1 5LS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dragon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city centre of Swansea, The Dragon Hotel offers excellent service and superior facilities that will make for an unforgettable stay. The central location of the hotel means that it is easy to access by car from the M4, 5-minute walk from Swansea Train Station and the central Bus Station. There are many attractions to see and do while staying at The Dragon Hotel, you are within a 5-minute walking distance of Swansea's Grand Theatre, Waterfront Museum, LC2 Water Park not forgetting the vibrant night-life. In addition to the numerous attractions that are within walking distance there are many other local attractions along with award winning beaches, like Rhossili Bay; voted one of the best beaches in the world. All bedrooms are well-appointed offering guests Free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning, flat screen TV, bathtub & shower, 24-hour room service, daily housekeeping and 24-hour reception. When staying at The Dragon Hotel all guests can benefit from Free access to the Leisure Club that features an 18-metre indoor swimming pool, male & female saunas, gymnasium. Beauty treatments are also available to book in advance. When it comes to dining, The Dragon Hotel has a stylish yet relaxed Brasserie & Cafe Bar which serves AA Rosette awarded European style cuisine and a range of light snacks. Bar facilities are available from The Dragon Brasserie & Cafe Bar, offering a wide selection of alcoholic drinks. An all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast is available each morning, which includes traditional British breakfast and a wide continental selection. The Dragon Hotel is one of the few city centre hotels that can offer on-site car parking, charges do apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Swansea
The Dragon Hotel Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing