We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, ideal stop over”
Review of Mercure Swansea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Swansea
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great value, ideal stop over”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Very pleased with this easy to find and comfortable motel/hotel. We arrived at 2am to friendly helpful night staff. Easy parking. Room nice and clean & well equipped, comfortable bed, good buffet breakfast and all for £47 for two. Delighted, will use again. thanks

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliotssleeping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSwansea, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear Elliottwakeup,

Many thanks for your review.

Best regard

Ian Harding-Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    255
    174
    47
    22
See reviews for
135
231
15
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The Mercure Swansea lies a good car ride from the city centre and there is no nearby public transport so take this in to account if booking.
it is also quite isolated in the centre of an industrial area. By walking ten minutes in either direction you will come to out of town retail units and pubs so not too bad.
We chose this hotel as we wanted to visit Mumbles and the Gower Peninsula. It is easy to find your way by car to either place as they are well sign posted.
We got a friendly welcome from the staff and our room was fine. The hotel is laid out in a 2 storey square with quadrangle in the middle . We were on a ground floor room facing the quadrangle.
The room had everything we needed including a computer if we desired.Teamaking facilities with a biscuit! The hairdryer didn't work which I only found out the next morning. The only fault I could find was the decor which probably needs updating. I also got the impression it was a business mans hotel rather than a long stay hotel . There wasn't a wardrobe but an open arrangement of coat hangers -tasteful but not cosy. Everything was in shades of dull brown and not very cheery .
In fact the front of the house was equally dull and had big lights on all the time.
The bed was lovely and comfy.
The breakfast was self serve with both cooked and continental options. I wanted poached eggs instead of the fried option and they were promptly delivered.
We didn't eat dinner in the hotel as it was quite pricey for a couple on a pension but the choices looked good. We took a walk to a nearby sizzle grill.
We were disappointed -not in the hotel but in ourselves for not reading up on the hotel as it had a swimming pool and we hadn't packed a bathing costume!!
We can thoroughly recommend this hotel as long as you have your own transport and as long as you don't mind a dull decor!! I will definitely stay again as there is so much of the Gower yet to be explored!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigmamma10_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSwansea, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Hi Bigmamma,

Many thanks for your review the content of which I would say is broadly fair, as in hotel getting a bit tired, but staff fab, hotel clean and price reasonable. The only bit I would contest is the desiption of Swansea Vale as an "Industrial area"; - Its an office park, and we have have lovely landscaped tree lined grounds, with a lake to the rear full of Swans, Geese etc, Anyone with any concerns on our location, I would say Google Earth us SA7 9EG, and make your own mind up.

Thanks once agin for your review.

Best regards

Ian Harding-Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The breakfast was outstanding and great quality! Great choice for the vegetarians! We had an evening meal at the hotel and it too was just outstanding! The staff were very helpful, kind and gave a very warm welcoming, this included the house keeping staff. Its great to go to such a warm, friendly and outstanding hotel with excellent staff and food. I recommend this to anybody at all!

Room Tip: Any room will do as far as i have seen
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSwansea, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear Mr & Mrs Ch,

Many thanks for your kind review.

I shall put a copy on the staff noticeboard for all to see that even when we are busy (benn full 3 weeks in a row now) we can still deliver excellent customer service.


Best regards

Ian Harding-Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powys
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

A distance away from the city, but easily found with a Sat Nav, only had an overnight stay but still received a very warm welcome and introduction to the hotel and its facilities, breakfast was good, but would have liked more of a choice, which was available but only realised after spying other guests who ordered alternatives to the buffet, we were only advised by waiter/waitress to help ourselves from the buffet.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosiePowis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSwansea, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear Rosie,

Many thanks for your review, and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Mercure Swansea next time you are visiting Wales finest city :-)

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights to celebrate my birthday with my family and found the hotel was good value for money.the hotel was dated and does look slightly tired in the rooms but the rooms were clean and comfortable and for £45 a night you can overlook the decorating.the breakfast was a buffet and a good choice,we didunt dine in the resturant in the evening because we went to the taybarn about a mile away which is an all you can eat for about £9.00 an adult and has loads of choice and all six of us really enjoyed it.would stay here again if it was fairly priced again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andybCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSwansea, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Hi Andy,

Many thanks for your reveiw, which was fair and honest. We are starting a refurbishment programme in the next few months, and may well be that the deals are not quite as keen when we've splashed the cash, so bit of a double edged sword there.

Best Regards

Ian Harding-Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Got a really good deal on this hotel through KGB deals...£79 for 2 nights for 2 people including breakfast. Hotel itself is in a good location, just of the M4 and easy to find. Our room was very clean and included everything you would expect. Breakfast was great with lots of choice although i did feel slightly sorry for the poor man serving us who looked like he has been left to manage the whole breakfast room himself. The hotel were very accommodating, even letting us keep our surfboards in the room. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Gym was tiny and pool a bit dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceseria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSwansea, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Hi cessia,

You did get a good deal as we only do KGB offers twice a year, and a limited number of rooms go on there. Always great to see the feedback from our KGB guests though, as when you get a full service hotel, with a pool, restaurant, lounge etc for less than one of those awful budget hotels you kind of realise that even at normal pricing its wortyh the extra £10 to £15 a night.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
3.1 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#7 of 22 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#16 of 22 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Swansea

Property: Mercure Swansea
Address: Phoenix Way, Swansea SA7 9EG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Swansea 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel (Licensed) with 50+ letting rooms in city location. With car parking. Smoking in designated areas. Casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Children, Special Diets, Organic Products catered for. Eating outside is possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Swansea Hotel Swansea
Ramada Swansea
Swansea Ramada
Mercure Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing