We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good as a stopover for visiting around Wales not city centre hotel though” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Swansea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercure Swansea
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Swansea
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good as a stopover for visiting around Wales not city centre hotel though”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

This hotel used to be a Ramada Jarvis beofre being bought and is an exact replica of the Ramada Jarvis Livingston. The rooms have been slightly updated it looks since the takeover although roonm views a little to be desired. Plenty of parking on site and reaturants and supermarkets nearby especially if you wanted to eat other then at the hotel. Obviously at weekends it seems that this is more of a coach tour hotel as had 3 coachs in when we got there which meant they had taken over the lounge and bar areas (this being the reason we ate out of the hotel.) Basic hotel with all that you need for a couple of nights, really good if you are looking to go to different places not just city centre as it means you dont get stuck in much traffic and links to roads are really good. We went in June time what i would say is that the rooms get reaklly hot i would not want to be stuck in one of these rooms when it is over 25c outside as you would bake. Other then that an average hotel nothing to really shout about.

Room Tip: Ak for one at the back although it will be a bit of a walk to the room it means you wont hear every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Miss B,

Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    249
    171
    44
    21
See reviews for
134
228
14
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

The exterior is a little dated but don't be put off. This is a very good hotel. I have stayed here three times on business and have never been disappointed.

The room was very nice, very clean and well equipped. My only concern was that the bathroom floor could be slippery even when dry.

The restaurant was excellent with a good menu and great quality food. The staff in the bar restaurant and reception were very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Jon,

Many thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a coorporate event. All the staff we met were nice enough. The hotel is very dated with an eighties feel to it. The floors seem to move when you are on the first floor!! The rooms are OK though I struggled to get a decent temperature on the shower - either too hot or too cold. Breakfast was below average. Seemed to be in a rather out of the way location - very much a low budget business hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoykseasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Dear Stoykseasy,

Thank for your review.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

We requested a quiet room and got just that. Very surprised at how quiet it was considering the creaky floors in the corridors (there was no way you could walk anywhere without making some noise). The shower was impressively powerful but the water didn't drain away well and sat in the bath for a while. Restaurant staff couldn't have been better, very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinnywren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Hi Jilly Wren,

Some coridor floors do creak a bit, but as you discovered once in the room you don't here this, and our quiet locatioj means that even if you leave your window opemn, unlike hotels in the city centre you won't here a thing.

General consensus seems to be tired hotel and lovely staff, is better than lovely hotel with tired staff !,, so we'll just keep smiling through till someone funds a refurbishment programme.

Thanks for your review


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

I was invited to a corporate dinner and admit to being anxious as the hotel has changed hands many times. There was no need to be concerned as from start to finish, the evening was fab! Our host was Michelle O'Rourke the hotel's sales manager who was extremely attentive, very professional, and couldn't do enough for us. The meal was just excellent, divine pâté starter, then carvers, then yummy chocolate tart, scrumptious.
We understand the hotel is having a facelift in the New Year, which it could do with, but we will certainly be using this hotel's facilities in the future, and will be the venue for our Xmas do next year. Thank you Michelle and staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverthou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Hi Silverthou,

Thanks for your kind review.
Seems like a good night was had by all, which is great news, and we look forward to welcomming you back in 2013.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Stayed here for an overnight break in Swansea. Our room was a standard double, very clean and comfortable and had everything you need tv, tea & coffee tray, plenty of storage space.Nice view of the lake complete with Swans. Bathroom quite dated with old style shower over the bath, but clean and with fresh towels and toiletries.

Breakfast buffet had a really good selection of all the usual cereals, juice, fruit, and the cooked breakfast was top notch.There's a nice restaurant and a relaxed bar area with sofa's and easy chairs and free wi-fi zone. However, we chose not to dine in the restaurant as £22 for a 3 course carvery seemed a little steep, so we drove into the city to dine and returned to use the hotel bar for a couple of late night drinks.
All the staff we encountered were without fail friendly and polite, a real credit to the hotel and management.
It's a few miles from the city centre, so you really need a car to get around but all in all it offers a good base for events at the Liberty Stadium and for exploring further afield with good road links to City centre, mumbles and the Gower area.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mxcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Dear Mxal,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Look forward to welcomming you back in 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

I'm currently spending 3 days a week working in Swansea (& have been since the summer) and stay at the Mercure every week.
The staff are all very friendly and the rooms comfortable. Make sure you ask for a ground floor room if you like a decent shower though.
The food in the restaurant is not bad at all. Reasonable choice, with daily specials, and some decent wines. There's a good choice at breakfast too.

Any problems have been very quickly dealt with.

All in all a decent business hotel.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MikeDev643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Dear Mike,

Many thanks for your kind review.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
3.1 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#7 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
2.3 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Swansea

Property: Mercure Swansea
Address: Phoenix Way, Swansea SA7 9EG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Swansea 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel (Licensed) with 50+ letting rooms in city location. With car parking. Smoking in designated areas. Casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Children, Special Diets, Organic Products catered for. Eating outside is possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Lastminute and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Swansea Hotel Swansea
Ramada Swansea
Swansea Ramada
Mercure Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing