We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swansea stopover”
Review of Mercure Swansea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Swansea
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Swansea stopover”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I stayed in the Mecure Swansea for 1 night on a business trip. In all the hotel has what's needed for a comfortable stay out of the city centre. Plenty of free parking and no problems on check in. The room was adequate for my needs and had a well stocked bathroom and tea tray. If anything the decor looked a little tired but bed was fine. The hotel generally felt a little dark. The pool is small and the gym is tiny so it was fortunate the hotel was not busy. I had dinner in the restaurant from a pre booked 2 course menu. I struggled to get a drink at first as the bar was not attended. When seated the staff seemed unsure of what I had booked and which of 3 menus I should order from. The service was not great I had to get condiments myself from other tables. To be fair the food was of an acceptable standard. I had breakfast the following morning which was fine apart from the staff wreaking of tobacco after obviously nipping out for a smoke. Check out was fine apart from the account not balancing. As everything was pre booked and paid it should have balanced but this was quickly adjusted by the reception staff. All in all it was an average experience but not unpleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Aly boy,

Thanks for your review, there are a few useful pointers on here for my restauarnt manager to attend to, and rest assured we will work on these training issues ASAP.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    255
    174
    47
    22
See reviews for
135
231
15
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I stayed at the Mercure for one night on a business trip to Swansea.
I chose the hotel for its convenient location relative to the office I was visiting on the Enterprise Zone and the plentiful on-site car parking. The price was very competitive too!
On arrival I had a friendly welcome from the receptionist and was quickly booked in and directed to my room but getting there was a long walk along a rather dark and somewhat drab corridor and this proved to be the same with my room. Although well maintained and clean it is badly in need of updating,, preferably with lighter, brighter colours.
The biggest disappointment though was the buffet breakfast - this definitely could be improved and compares poorly against similar arrangements in other hotels I visit.
All in all, I would rate the hotel as average - not bad but not especially good either - and would probably get breakfast elsewhere if I visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dai-derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Dear Dai,

Thanks for your kind review,

We have recently updated our breakfast offering and presentation after veiwng all of our competitors brekfasts, with the aim of beating what they are offering. Next time your staying give it a try, and if you still have any observations/ comments as to how we could im,prove, please give me a shout, and happy to discuss.

Best regards

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel could do with some money being spent on it. Decor is outdated and the beds are awful (you can feel every spring). Pool is nice and warm and the staff are friendly and courteous. I was given an upgrade by the lovely receptionist, after finding my bath had not been cleaned and had 'intimate hair' in it. This hotel has the potential to be great, as the location is in the middle of an enterprise zone and is also right next to a large lake, with swans, geese and ducks etc and has some great walking trails. Unfortunately the standard price of the rooms are not competitive with other hotels of a better standard in Swansea. Mercure need to invest some money on this hotel, starting with replacing the mattresses!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarefromSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Dear Claire,

Thanks for your kind review.

We contstantly (daily) price check against oither full service hotels to ensure we are competitive in the market place so not sure what specifics there were to your stay that made it out of sync with better hotels in the area price wise.

We do have a rolling programme of bed replacements, and I have asked our housekleeper to move the room you stayed in to the next phase of 20 beds comiong in March.

Thanks for your comments, it is only with such honest feedback that we can endeavour to improve.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Stayed here two years ago and I had a great stay but this hotel really needs some tlc. room was spacious and it had a modern finish but the standard of cleaning and maintenance was unaceptable. I raised my issues such as dirty bedding with reception and I was quickly moved to another room but i realised that this standard was clearly consistent througout the hotel. Dirty towels and a broken shower head lay waiting in room number two which was disappointing. On the plus side the staff could not have been more friendly and the location was ideal for my requirements.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jockey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Jockey01,

Many thanks for your review, and please accept my apologies for the poor housekeeping and maintenance issues you encountered. A short read through a few other reviews for the hotel will reasuure you that the standards you found are most certainly not the norm, and steps will be taken to ensure that such poor standards are not repeated.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This hotel used to be a Ramada Jarvis beofre being bought and is an exact replica of the Ramada Jarvis Livingston. The rooms have been slightly updated it looks since the takeover although roonm views a little to be desired. Plenty of parking on site and reaturants and supermarkets nearby especially if you wanted to eat other then at the hotel. Obviously at weekends it seems that this is more of a coach tour hotel as had 3 coachs in when we got there which meant they had taken over the lounge and bar areas (this being the reason we ate out of the hotel.) Basic hotel with all that you need for a couple of nights, really good if you are looking to go to different places not just city centre as it means you dont get stuck in much traffic and links to roads are really good. We went in June time what i would say is that the rooms get reaklly hot i would not want to be stuck in one of these rooms when it is over 25c outside as you would bake. Other then that an average hotel nothing to really shout about.

Room Tip: Ak for one at the back although it will be a bit of a walk to the room it means you wont hear every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Miss B,

Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

The exterior is a little dated but don't be put off. This is a very good hotel. I have stayed here three times on business and have never been disappointed.

The room was very nice, very clean and well equipped. My only concern was that the bathroom floor could be slippery even when dry.

The restaurant was excellent with a good menu and great quality food. The staff in the bar restaurant and reception were very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Jon,

Many thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a coorporate event. All the staff we met were nice enough. The hotel is very dated with an eighties feel to it. The floors seem to move when you are on the first floor!! The rooms are OK though I struggled to get a decent temperature on the shower - either too hot or too cold. Breakfast was below average. Seemed to be in a rather out of the way location - very much a low budget business hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoykseasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Dear Stoykseasy,

Thank for your review.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
3.1 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 22 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#7 of 22 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#16 of 22 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Swansea

Property: Mercure Swansea
Address: Phoenix Way, Swansea SA7 9EG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Swansea 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel (Licensed) with 50+ letting rooms in city location. With car parking. Smoking in designated areas. Casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Children, Special Diets, Organic Products catered for. Eating outside is possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, ACCOR, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Swansea Hotel Swansea
Ramada Swansea
Swansea Ramada
Mercure Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing