We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of Mercure Swansea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Swansea
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Hotel is a couple of miles out of city centre, with a huge lake behind it, great for a stroll first thing in the morning - swans, ducks, geese, cormorants - all to be seen there.
Room spotless, staff very friendly, waiter at breakfast even gave us some history of the local area which was a nice touch. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofilou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Sofilou,

Many thanks for your kind review.

I have printed and popped on the staff noticebaord, as such great feedback inspires them to keep up the good work .

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

600 - 606 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

The staff were attentive and very helpful. Rooms superb and spotless. The restaurant was fabulous and the food great value for money. I booked a night away via a deal through facebook which included a complimentary bottle of wine if we dined at the hotel. We thought of going out for the evening but decided to stay at the hotel wjhen we saw the menu.
Couldn't have asked for more for a night away without the kids. Not forgetting that Swansea is beautiful and The Mumbles is stunning!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruceybonus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Dear Brucy,

Thanks for your kind review.

Hope to see you back in Sunny Swansea again in the not too distant fture.

Best regards

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We had a week off from work so used our Groupon vouchers to Hotel Hop, 2 nights in Abergavenny,2 nights in Breacon and 2 nights in Swansea. Because of the Groupon Offer we were told of the terms and conditions of use with each hotel, special menu for food ect.. which made us feel like we were getting second rate srvice and of course we had to pay for any up grades ,like full english breakfast instead of continental, different choices of meals ect.
The best by far was our stay at the Mercure in Swansea. No hidden costs here and 1st class service.
It was the best for Service, Accomodation, Food & Location. All excellent food in hotel is amazing we had a special 2 course with wine for £20.00 and it was superbe.
Centrally placed to travel all over the Swansea Coast.
Just a short drive away is the park and ride bus service that takes you into Swansea City.
It is placed along side a beautiful lake with swans and geese on, which we had a lovely veiw from our window.
We are already planning our next stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 100_angelaruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Dear Angela,

Many thanks fr your kind review.

We look forward to welcomming you back to Sunny Swansea on your next visit !

Best Regards

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Not much to say ... and that's a good thing. There are no complaints. The staff are amazingly helpful and obliging. The food in the restaurant great. Room lovely.

Oh, one thing, perhaps some thought could go into upgrading the WiFi connection for everyone to have access in their rooms. Sitting in the foyer to try and get a connection was not a highlight.

But ignoring this ... everything else was lovely particularly the lovely welcoming reception.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8bettyboop8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Dear Betty Boop,

Many thanks for your kind review.

And some good news, the free wi fi is coming shortly, should all be working by end of March, we have had the survey done, they just need to come and plug in the kit now and press GO !

Best Regards


Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Just returned from a two day break at the Mercure.Booked a package with breakfasts and
evening meal.Made very welcome by all the staff the food and accomodation were excellent.
This is ideal base to tour the gower and Swansea itself.Really impressed.

Made to feel reallly welcome throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobLynneWestCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Dear RobLynne,

Many thanks for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We had a friendly welcome and a very pleasant stay in late October 2012, all the staff we met were helpful and cheerful. The room was clean, warm and well appointed, we especially like the small table and chair set. There was always plenty of hot water in the en-suite. The car park is spacious and seems quite secure with cctv. The location will appeal to some, it did to us, but disappoint others. The hotel is on a retail park a short drive from the town centre. A very useful Park & Ride into Swansea is nearby, excellent value for money and should be considered in preference to the town centre car parks. The shops on the retail park are open until late and include a 24 hour supermarket with fuel, an outdoor goods, pet store, bargain price shops and fishing tackle shop to mention just a few, overall, very handy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forshaw7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Dear Forshaw7,

Many thans for your kind review. I am always pleased to advise when someone scores a first on our review (first person to mention something no one else has) and you win a first for mentioning there is a fishing tackle shop nearby.

You had me hooked from that point onwards !

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel in Swansea. We were on our way to visit family we have in Wales. We found this the best hotel due it location being a halfway point. We arrive late afternoon to a warm reception. I think the receptionist name was Delia. She greeted us with a smile which gave us a fantastic first impression. The room was clean and tidy, decor a bit out of date but never the less had everything we needed. We decided not to have dinner in the hotel that evening as we went out with friends.

Breakfast was served from 7.00 -9.30 which gave us a little lie in that morning. We were spoilt for choice at the option available. I had the cooked breakfast and my husband had fruit and cereal. Absolutely outstanding quality for a 3 star hotel.

We had the pleasure of meeting 2 lovely lady staff members. One looked as if she was in a management position and could not be more helpful and accommodating. The other older lady was chatty and made us laugh on a few occasions.

Although our stay was very short we were treated as individuals and were made to feel that this was a place we would definitely visit again.

The reason I have givin this 5 stars is because of the wonderful attitude of the staff members. The hotel should be proud.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee-ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Dear Lee - Ann,

Many thanks for your kind review, always delighted to get a 5 star score :-)

I will pass your comments on to Delia, and the rest of the team.

Best Regards

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
3.1 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Swansea
1,006 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
825 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#16 of 22 in Swansea
659 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Swansea

Address: Phoenix Way, Swansea SA7 9EG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
Price Range: £52 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Swansea 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel (Licensed) with 50+ letting rooms in city location. With car parking. Smoking in designated areas. Casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Children, Special Diets, Organic Products catered for. Eating outside is possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Swansea Hotel Swansea
Ramada Swansea
Swansea Ramada
Mercure Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing