We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for the liberty stadium”
Review of Mercure Swansea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Swansea
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great for the liberty stadium”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

was not sure about this place after reading some of the reveiws, but we booked last min.and took our chance,what a pleasant surprise it was,yes it is looking like a re furb is long over due,but it was loverly and clean comfy bed warm room very very pleasant staff nothing was to much trouble.Used the pool and gym facilities pool a bit small but good for a splash about.Nice bar area not as expensive as some have claimed,got chatting to some of the leinster fans who were there for the rugby as well.Easy 15 min walk to the liberty stadium only down side the ospreys lost but never mind good hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerome H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Jermome H,

Many thanks for your kind review.

Glad to hear you enjoyed your weekend, and you must be a fast walker as takes me 20 minutes to walk to the stadium, which is exactly how long it takes for the guys who sit next to me to get their car out of the car park and back to the hotel, so walking is the better option and quite a scenic route if you go vis the lake

Hope to see you again, and hopefully the Ospreys will perform as well as my super hotel team next time :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    256
    177
    48
    24
See reviews for
135
234
16
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I mistakenly clicked 5 stars for excellent, 3 would have been about right. No problem with the room or the breakfast which was freshly cooked and buffet style although plenty of choice from all the 'Full English' ingredients to Waffles, Croissants, fruit, cereals etc. My main gripe was the bar prices - Nearly £14 for a half of bitter, a J2O and large Vodka and tonic! The food was also very expensive so we ate out. These prices are fine for guests with business accounts and shareholders paying but for a family it is not feasible. We stayed 2 nights, the Saturday was full of conference people and very noisy (especially the woman shouting for her dog at 6.30 am right outside our window) but the next day was fine. The pool was small and not really suitable for serious swimming, any more than 8 people and it was overcrowded, but the sauna was used and enjoyed. Staff throughout were very helpful and friendly especially those at breakfast time. Not a very good location on an industrial estate but, again, for business people that doesn't matter. Very much aimed at corporate clients. Would stay here again but not on a Saturday!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Dave S,

Thanks for your review. We do price check our food and beverage prices against other local hotels on a quarterly basis, so they are in line with what you would pay in any other local full service hotel.

Glad to hear that you would stay again, and please be assured that we do do our best to control noise issues, and it is not typical for a Saturday stay to result in having to put up with the issues you identified. If you are coming again make your reservation with me direct and I'll ensure you have a quiet room,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The general atmosphere was pleasent and the staff service was helpful and happy. The big disappointment was opening the room door into a drab 2* standard rabbit hutch. But this was improved by a comfortable bed with very good linen. The breakfasts had everything you could wish for (4*) - except kippers. The evening meals were good, but with wine - expensive. The hotel location was easily found on the edge of a business/retail park - hence a corporate hotel - with no outlooks. For me - the saving grace was the inclusive indoor gym and small pool - including a wonderful dry sauna.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank philkay-66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Phikay 65,

Thanks for your review. Must have been a big rabbit !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just back from the Mercure in Swansea after a two night stay.

We got a pretty good deal but it was a real hassle sorting it through late rooms.com; first our booking couldn't be confirmed so we had to ring a 14p/min number to confirm. The man at the other end of the phone took the mick, chatting pointlessly and taking ages (over ten mins) to just confirm it. He then wanted us to pay AGAIN. So... we hung up, but the money was taken off our credit card so we assumed our booking had gone through. We rang the day before setting off, and the hotel knew nothing about it. To their absolute credit, no fuss, the Mercure sorted it all out straight away.

Now the hotel:

The good:

Breakfast is immense - as much cooked breakfast as you want, fresh tea and coffee, pastries, cereal, fruit and best of all, waffles.
The staff we spoke to were all great - Wendy at breakfast was particular friendly and went out of her way to be helpful.
Cleanliness - The whole place top to bottom was spotlessly clean and tidy.

The bad:
Decor - It is looking a bit tired. Although the room was spotless, the carpet is a bit dated and the bathroom is in need of updating too. Plus the toilet flush was very weak! Through the corridors and reception area, the dark wood is inoffensive if a bit 1980s.

The indifferent:
Location - plonk in the middle of a financial/business district, quite a way from town centre, a 10/15 minute drive, but quiet throughout our stay.
The health club - Decent gym, decent sauna, but the pool is very small. Did a job for a quick twenty minute swim, but not ideal for swimming for long or if there are more than 2/3 people in.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay, and would consider using the Mercure again.

Room Tip: Add breakfast for a small supplement - massively worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Steve,

Many thanks for your review, which is a pretty fair reflection on our hotel. We do have some refurbishment work planned to our first floor rooms which is scheduled for next year. I was sorry to hear of the issues you had with booking through Late rooms, and will pass on your feedback to them as they will be able to trace through your res number who dealt with this booking.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night and having only payed £37 I was pleased with the hotel. The rooms are clean, have decent tea and coffee making facilities, good hairdryer and powerful shower. Bed was big and really comfy. Swimming pool was absolutely tiny, more like a big bath! Bar area was nice. Best thing about this hotel was friendly staff. Really helpful and gave us lots of ideas about places to go and things to see.
About £8 taxi into the centre. Would stay again if I was in the area.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sophie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Sophie,

many thsnks for your kind review. We look forwrad to welcomming you back to the Mercure on your next visit to sunny Swansea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Booked the room in advance and expected an standard room without any luxuries for the price.
We got less than expected when we were shown a room that had been adapted for wheel chair users. This would not be a problem except the adaptations included removing all of the cupboards and drawers.

Had we been in need of these adaptations we would have been very disappointed as the bath was standard with no obvious mechanical aids to assist with access. How we would have unpacked would have been even more difficult, I suppose wheel chair users don't need cupboards or drawers!! A walk in shower and wider doors would normally be expected for such a room.

We complained and were allocated an alternative room which was in a much better state of repair complete with cupboards.

Room Tip: A good location for doing business on the retail park but to far away to walk to the city centre for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenHavill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Stephen,

Thanks for your review.

None of our ground floor rooms have cupboards they have hanging space & there is drawer space in all rooms.. Most of our corporate guests prefer these rooms, however leisure guests particularly the more mature ones seem to prefer to unpack into wardrobes & drawers. The room you got moved to was a 1st floor room, which has wardrobes, however its all subjective as to what you prefer as most of our buisiness customers prefer the open plan style downstairs Oh and we don't call them disabled rooms any more they are adaptted rooms and ours comply with all UK requirements for an adaptive room..

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Wanted to stay in Swansea city center but everywhere was fully booked apart from this hotel which is in the middle of an industrial estate. No big deal really about £9 in taxi each way. First impressions were quite good reception area was well manned and staff pleasant. The restaurant and bar area looked very nice and well maintained.

Unfortunately that is as far as it goes as soon as you head up the stairs you notice the carpet becoming threadbare in patches and everything seems to be a bit grubby. The room was probably one of the worst rooms I have ever stayed in the furniture looked like it had come from a charity shop. The carpet was dirty. The tv remote had no battery cover and was sticky! Tried to have a shower on arrival but no hot water (at 4pm!!!??) Following morning turned on shower to find that no water at all came from the hot water tap not even cold. It seems like the owners have blown their budget on the bar and restaurant and forgot about the rest of the hotel. Would not stay here again and dont recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leyton2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Leyton,

Thanks for your review.

Hotels never get refurbished all in one go (we'd have to close !) so yes there are areas that are more up to date than others, and some of our first floor rooms are due on the next phase of our rolling refurbishment programme ancheduled for completion in aerly 2014

With reagrd to hot water, I cannot tell which day you stayed but we have been over 80% full every day for the last 8 weeks, and this is the first I've heard of any hot water issue so not really sure what happened there - did you report this to anyone at the hotel ?

With regard to our location, we are on a landscaped office park, the photos on the net of the tree lined grounds and large lake to our rear are genuine, and I can guarantee if you left your window open at night (as I do when I stay) you are more likely to hear a Swan flapping across the lake to our rear than any industrial traffic. Sad to hear that you would not come again, as we havent run out of money, and chances are that next time you stayed you would see the benefits of our rolling investment plans. Apologies that we didn't fully satisfy you on this occaision.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
3.1 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
971 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,527 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#6 of 22 in Swansea
746 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#16 of 22 in Swansea
606 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Swansea

Property: Mercure Swansea
Address: Phoenix Way, Swansea SA7 9EG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Swansea 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel (Licensed) with 50+ letting rooms in city location. With car parking. Smoking in designated areas. Casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Children, Special Diets, Organic Products catered for. Eating outside is possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Lastminute, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Swansea Hotel Swansea
Ramada Swansea
Swansea Ramada
Mercure Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing