We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Without charm, functional but uninspiring, full of bored businessmen”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Mercure Swansea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Swansea
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Swansea
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
448 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Without charm, functional but uninspiring, full of bored businessmen”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Chosen for its proximity to an early business meeting.

Soulless common parts, heating and TV didn't work in the room, chipped paint and frayed carpets and furniture. Noisy corridors. Menus predictable and unimaginative, no Michelin stars here.

Avoid if possible

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear SmOky,

Firstly if your heater and TV didn't work perhaps advising reception would have got an instant fix, as no log of this issue from your stay. Your observation of full of bored buisnesman is a little subjective to say the least, as last night for example 22% of our guests were female, 30% of our guest were leisure guests, and in my un scientific curious survey of single buisness people that I spoke to not one of them said they were bored , although a couple did they wished they had time to be bored. Take on board all your comments, but the subjective stuff is all a bit Micheal Winner - and I suspect your 'without charm' is another persons charming ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    252
    172
    45
    21
See reviews for
134
229
15
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions firstly when it was the Ramada Jarvis and subsequently as part of the Mercure Group of hotels. this is a very civilised hotel as it has smoking rooms available which is a pleasant change from the nanny state of a country we live in.
My room was clean, comfortable and well presented after a recent refurbishment. The breakfast was superb too as were the friendly waiting staff. This hotel is ideally located for those visiting Swansea Vale, reasonably priced and on that alone, well worth a visit. I generally stay in excess of two nights and have always enjoyed the ambience of the hotel as it is quite a popular venue for business travellers.

Room Tip: If you're a smoker, just ask for a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMan156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear TravellingMan 156,

Thank you for you feedback, and we look forward to welcomming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Sunny Swansea :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

The staff and food were very good it is a shame the same could not be said about the room. We paid for a Privilege double well if that was privilege I would hate to be in a normal room. None of the extras we had paid for so we had to complain. There were only toiletries for one person and the room was a double. The room was freezing so we had to complain again and then the heating was put on,bearing in mind it was a cold November day. There was a keyboard in the room to use the internet on the tv,however the batteries had corroded in the key board so we had to complain again. There was no information pack in the room about the hotel or district, so we had to ask about the times for breakfast and what we could order price wise for the evening meal we paid for. Was the company hoping we would have the most expensive items that were not in our price range? Finally the wallpaper had stains on it, the net curtains had mould spots all over them and one switch for the overbed lighting had the knob missing. In conclusion if you want to visit Swansea do not pick this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Diane,

Thank you for taking the time to talk with me regarding this, I know it has now been resolved to your satisfaction, and please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced. As you are now aware the room you were allocated was not a Priviledge Room, as due to maintainance issues we were not able to let this room.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Dated, poorly maintained - 2 of thelught fittings in the bathroom (room 155) hanging down leaving cabling exposed.

Drain smell coming from bathroom - How difficult are these things to spot and report for the housekeeping crew???

Why o why can't the maintenance people just check the rooms as the tiles in the bathroom are black in places and a poor touch up job in the ceiling looks like my 10 year old did it.

Cardboard walls allow sound to travel and the floorboards were shared between rooms - as everytime next door moved it vibrated the desk in my room.

£75 plus £10 for breakfast is no VFM and the Premier Inn just down the road is far better value with modern, clean rooms and breakfast included.

Receptionist was very helpful and professional but the hotel needs a good refurb

Room Tip: don't pick 155 unless they have refurbished it since 12th November
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline_n735762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Caroline,

Thanks for your review. This room should not have been let as it was off for refurbuishment at the time, but had not been correctly allocated in the system.

Please accept my apologies but Why oh why you couldn't have raised these issues with us at the time so we could have apologised and moved you to another room ? Premier Inn is Ok for some, but no 24 hour room service, no leisure club, no full restauarnt, no lounge with lounge menu operating from 7 am till 11 pm, so not really apples with apples.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 10 nights and founds the staff wonderful. Very warm and friendly atmosphere and staff could not do enough to help. Housekeeping was very efficient - so much so that i had to say i did not need it every day. The lady who attended to my room was called Wanda and what a lovely lady.
The food was excellent with great service and once again friendly staff. Especially Wendy, Tom, Ival and Molly. I am a visually impaired lady and the staff knew this and helped at every opportunity.
The hotel was warm, comfortable and very good value.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 149 and this was fine. I had a look at the more costly rooms and they were actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Julie C,

Many thanks for your kind review.

I shall pass on your comments to the individual staff mentioned, and post your review on the staff notice board. Thanks once again for taking the time to review our hotel.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent,
Level Contributor
198 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed in an upgraded room which didn't feel that different to other rooms in the hotel. However, the flim and internet package made it worth it. All in all not a bad stay, DB & B rate very reasonable, food was ok but nothing special. I think the hotel seems quite worn and due a refurb (if they do this, they should screw down noisey floor board in corridors). On the whole the staff are friendly and helpful, particularly the housekeeper, room 148, she must be the friendliest I've ever met. The gym's abit cramped, pool very small and dated.

This place doesn't shout at me to rebook it, but its very handy for the Phoenix Enterprise Park, so if I find myself here again I wouldn't mind.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Needmoreholdiays!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Needmoreholidays

Firstly great user name, I couldn't agree more.

Secondly many thanks for your kind review: - Our room attendant who olooks after 148 is Wanda, she's Canadian, and a bit of a local legend. I shall pass on your kind comments and give her a pat on the back, which will keep her spirits up and her rooms clean for the next guests.

Thanks once again for taking time to feedback

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants.uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Spent the night as we where going to look at the uni. Hotel was clean and the rooms where warm clean and neat. Would recommended the breakfast very nice the staff kept us topped up with coffee. Would use again

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tizzy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Tizzy63,

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
3.1 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#7 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#15 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Swansea

Property: Mercure Swansea
Address: Phoenix Way, Swansea SA7 9EG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Swansea 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel (Licensed) with 50+ letting rooms in city location. With car parking. Smoking in designated areas. Casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Children, Special Diets, Organic Products catered for. Eating outside is possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Swansea Hotel Swansea
Ramada Swansea
Swansea Ramada
Mercure Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing