We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Mercure Swansea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Swansea
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Great hotel big rooms giant bed very comfortable, lovely power shower I stayed there expecting hotel in swansea top secret hotel deal so made the most of it in llansamlet dylan Thomas pub food the best and fairdeal cafe for breakfast only thing wernt the location I wanted but mercure great hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank arcticrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Arcticrad,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and gald to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed as a group of 7 guys for the rugby in Cardiff.

The hotel was in a perfect location and was ideally situated a short taxi ride away from the amazing nightlife of Swansea and a train journey away to Cardiff.

It had everything we needed, a well priced bar, a pool/sauna and comfortable clean rooms.

We arrived early and asked of we could drop our bags and it wasn't a problem what so ever. The staff were very friendly and amazingly efficient by offering us one of our rooms which was already made up.

The only minor complaint was the £13.95 for a buffet breakfast which appeared over priced. The selection of hot items could be improved for that kind of price. That said, a very enjoyable stay in a nice hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SL510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear SL510,

I'm guessing from your review you were down for the Wales V Scotland rugby, so great to have such a good review after what was a tough game for Scotland.

Glad to hear that overall you enjoyed, and points noted regarding breakfast, though it should be noted that you can prebook breakfast when making your reservation for £10, as opposed to the on the day price of £13.95.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

very very pleased with hotel, great rooms and super location as close to swansea nightlife and football stadium. Only thing that we found a was that we thought the breakfast was a bit over priced but didn't stop us enjoying our stay

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corcky26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Corky26,

Many thanks for your kind review and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Breakfast can be pre booked for £10 on line, or even on arrival, but is £13.95 if not pre booked and pre paid.

NB - Best of luck to the Baggies in their quest for Premier League survival, which was certainly helped by 3 vital away points down the road at the Liberty on Sat !

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We are currently staying here and the place couldn't be better.
From the moment we arrived the staff couldn't be nicer. A small blip with the room and staff were on hand in minutes to sort things out.
Breakfast was hot and plentiful with so many choices.
The room is clean and well stocked with all the little extras you need.
Free WiFi allows me to write this review.
It's very close to Swansea centre and watching the footie fans walking to the stadium means it's convenient if you want to be close by.
A short drive to the mumbles a lovely Welsh resort
Unspoilt at this time of year.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank EssexDavidos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear EssexDavidos,

Many thanks for your kind review. You are correct about Mumbles being unspoilt at this time of year, but you have to be lucky with the weather and last weekend you certainly were. Glad you enjoyed, and we look forward to welcomming you back to sunny Swansea t some point in the not too distant fture.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We held our wedding breakfast and evening reception at Mercure Swansea 1st March 2014, and can only say what a fab day was held by all. From initial contact and throughout the day all the staff were more than helpful. The meal was superb especially the pork and the lemon tart. Our room was lovely, very spacious and clean. Several of our guests stayed as well and they have all said they had an enjoyable stay and some even managed to use the pool. Over all a very successful process. Will be looking forward to coming for our 1yr anniversary meal. Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Lisa G,

Many thanks for your kind review and we look forward to welcomming you back for your 1st anniversary meal.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

On checking in the receptionist was pleasant however the room card was not validated properly (first of a few small irritations). Chose to have dinner in the hotel restaurant which was lovely, although main course interrupted three times to check that everything was ok. Room was lovely for the price paid on a sunday and reception staff attentive with request for ice bucket and extra shower gel - they never give enough toiletries! Double bed was two singles put together which is never ideal. Overall, a pleasant stay and would certainly return but not worth the full mid week price. Search out the good deals and then it is fantastic value for money

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 5LF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear 5LF,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be 'fantastic value for money' and rest assured we will work on the couple of issues you mentioned so as to improve the experience for future guests.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just stayed in Mercure, which is out of town as needed peace and quiet and a good nights sleep .... They finally got the noise to stop after 4am. When I complained again in the morning, I was offered a complimentary coffee to help keep me awake! Whilst this may help my immediate tiredness, it doesn't exactly give me the night I've just paid for back!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Sharon,

I know Carl our Front Office Manager has been in contact and this matter has now been resolved, howver please also accept my sincere apologies that the behavoir of other guests disturbed your nights sleep, and rest assured this particular group will not be welcomed back at the hotel.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
3.1 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
2.4 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
801 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Swansea
976 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#15 of 22 in Swansea
635 reviews
2.7 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#8 of 22 in Swansea
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Swansea

Address: Phoenix Way, Swansea SA7 9EG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
Price Range: £60 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Swansea 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel (Licensed) with 50+ letting rooms in city location. With car parking. Smoking in designated areas. Casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Children, Special Diets, Organic Products catered for. Eating outside is possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Swansea Hotel Swansea
Ramada Swansea
Swansea Ramada
Mercure Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing