We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for lunch”
Review of Mercure Swansea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Swansea
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Wales UK
Level Contributor
459 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Good for lunch”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Situated in the middle of an enterprise estate it is ideally placed for lunch etc. Thought the beverages to be a little on the pricy side at just over £8 for 3 hot drinks. The lunch menu had a good variety of things from light snacks to a good full blown lunch at reasonable prices. Service is really important to me, and experientially I have always felt Brits do not give the best service however the staff here proved that to be wrong. The guy at the bar was very young despite this excellent customer care skills along with the lady that served the drinks and food.

Nice relaxing lounge but must admit, the coffee machine sounds as if I am at an airport and a jet is taking off - absolutely horrendous!!!! Sat adjacent to the fireplace which is on the opposite wall and could not believe the noise!!

Unusually parking is free which again is another bugbear, stay at a hotel and then find an additional charge of £12-15 for parking and something to consider if planning an overnight stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Commz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Commz,

Many thanks for your kind review.

Firstly glad to hear you found the service to be good, we have a young and entusiatic team, and do work hard on keeping them delivering great service, and of course every time they get to see a review like yours on the staff notice baord it spurs them on a bit more.

The coffee machine issue, I will have to sit near it and have a listen, not something I have noticed before but I am generally waliking through the lounge on route somewhere, so probably don't notice it.

Thanks once again for taking the time to review our lovely hotel.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    256
    178
    48
    24
See reviews for
135
234
17
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire UK
Level Contributor
363 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We first stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago and had a bad experience then which we told the manager about before we left, so we thought this time our stay was going to be better given the assurances we had received after the first stay, but it wasn't.
On this occasion our room was very dark (you can see why from the photo below) and even though all the lights were working in our bathroom, the lighting level in there was still too dark to be able to shave safely. There was also a problem with the guttering outside our room which meant that everytime it rained (and it rained day and night throughout our stay), the noise from the water falling from the overflowing guttering meant we had to sleep with earplugs in if we wanted to get any sleep. There was one consolation, the bed was very large and comfortable.
The weekend deal we had booked meant that dinner was included on our first night but the set menu choice was very limited and totally lacked any imagination, so we decided to choose from the a la carte menu instead as it had a little bit more to choose from. Unfortunately though both the starter and main course I ordered (muscles, followed by chicken en croute) were so salty they were both inedible. My wife ordered a medium fillet steak and as she cut it blood ran out. We had to call over the waiter (Andy) as there were no check-backs at all throughout the meal. Although he was very nice and tried to be helpful, he told us that he would feed my comments about too much salt back to the chef and would ask the chef to cook the fillet steak a bit longer. However he then came back and said that the chef cannot cook medium or well done fillet steaks without 'butterflying them first', as thats the only way he can tell if they are cooked enough !!!!!
The Restaurant Manageress just seemed to want to avoid any conflict and left it all to poor Andy to deal with, as she just hid in the kitchen with other members of the waiting staff who we could see giggling and laughing together while this was going on.
Needless to say we did not eat in that restaurant on our second night, and that may also have explained why the restaurant empty on both nights during our stay.
The breakfasts were better, though the choice of fresh fruit and cold meat / cheeses were very disappointing.
Even when we checked out the receptionist did not enquire as to how we had enjoyed our stay. In fact whilst she was very polite and cheery, she did not show any interest in us whatsoever as customers. Needless to say we will find another hotel next time we go to Swansea.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 139 whatever you do, and only eat dinner in the restaurant if you like really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alwaysonholiday53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Mike C,

Sorry to hear that you did noy fully enjoy your stay.

Your recollection of the steak incident is not a full recollection of what happened. Your wife asked for a medium steak, our chef cooked it to what he thought was medium, however she wished for it to be cooked a little more. When our waiter (Tom - we don't employ an Andy ?) said that he would get it cooked a little more she said that that was not acceptable and wanted a fresh steak cooked. It was only after Tom said that would be fine but it would take 8 - 10 minutes that she said that was also not acceptable and after consulting with the chef he came back and said the only way to cook it quicker would be to butterfly it, as in cut it to make it thinner hence it would cook quicker.

With regard to your room we do have 4 inside corner courtyard rooms that do have a little less light as demonstrated in your photo, however you were offered a room move as you mentioned the lack of light and guttering issue on your first morning, and you declined.. The light in the bathroom issue you raised is somewhat subjective, in 16 years here as manager I have never seen this comment before, and in the 200 + reviews we have on here stretching back 2 years since we have been a Mercure you will not find any reference from any customer to poor bathroom lighting. I personally stay in the hotel 3 - 4 nights a week, and manage to shave without any problem. It is regretable that you were not asked how your stay was on check out as this is a company standard and this happens 99% of the time, it is something that we are audited on and is on the standard questionaire that all guests get by e-mail after their stay. We have inspected the guttering, and can't see anything obvious, but rest assured we will revisit this next time it rains heavily to see what is causing this noise.

Thank you for your feedback, it is only with such honest reviews that we can endeavour to improve.


Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton , East Sussex
Level Contributor
110 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is a pretty average hotel , but is looking pretty tired and needs some attention. Room was ok, it was clean but poor quality TV very limited channels . Had a Bar meal in the evening, Chicken Curry which was ok but very small portion of chicken. You do get free WiFi and free on site parking which is good. The breakfast was average and items had been under the hot lamps for too long and the eggs and bacon were rock hard. I really don understand why hotels cant have better quality food available for breakfast and at least monitor and change the food when its been under the heat lamps for too long

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhodesiabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Bill,

Thanks for your kind review.

I am sorry that you found the breakfast buffet to be looking a little tired, it is a bug bear of mine and one that our chefs should be fully on top of. They are supposed to keep smallish portions under the lamps, and replace little and often. Issues like this seem to occur when we have a very busy period at breakfast and they stock the buffet up, and then it goes quiet. If you have this issue again (and this goes for any other customer) please just ask them to cook you a fresh breakfast and quote this reply.

Glad to hear that you foiund the room to be clean, and were hgappy with the free wi fi and free on site parking. Please do try us again, and we will endeavour to make sure the breakfast standard is more consistent.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Was over with a group for Cheltenham and found the hotel and staff fantastic. Food was also wonderful. Pity that there is no residents bar, at 11 we called a couple of drinks each of the barman which he served and we paid for but when himself and the staff went home I found the night porter a bit smart in coming over and more or less accusing us of just taking the drink we had bought before he came on duty would of been more in his interest to check cameras or whatever first and get his facts right but other than that loved the hotel and staff were wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank O Ceallachain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Mr O Ceallachain,

Many thanks for your kind review, though I think you may have reviewed the wrong hotel. We are a long way from Cheltenham, and I have spoken with our nights guys and they have no recollection of any altercation around drinks and CCTV. I have reported to Trip Advisor that I think this may be a wrong posting, and they may come back to you. If you booked under a different name then please accept my apologies and do come back to me if this is the case.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Great hotel big rooms giant bed very comfortable, lovely power shower I stayed there expecting hotel in swansea top secret hotel deal so made the most of it in llansamlet dylan Thomas pub food the best and fairdeal cafe for breakfast only thing wernt the location I wanted but mercure great hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank arcticrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Arcticrad,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and gald to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed as a group of 7 guys for the rugby in Cardiff.

The hotel was in a perfect location and was ideally situated a short taxi ride away from the amazing nightlife of Swansea and a train journey away to Cardiff.

It had everything we needed, a well priced bar, a pool/sauna and comfortable clean rooms.

We arrived early and asked of we could drop our bags and it wasn't a problem what so ever. The staff were very friendly and amazingly efficient by offering us one of our rooms which was already made up.

The only minor complaint was the £13.95 for a buffet breakfast which appeared over priced. The selection of hot items could be improved for that kind of price. That said, a very enjoyable stay in a nice hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SL510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear SL510,

I'm guessing from your review you were down for the Wales V Scotland rugby, so great to have such a good review after what was a tough game for Scotland.

Glad to hear that overall you enjoyed, and points noted regarding breakfast, though it should be noted that you can prebook breakfast when making your reservation for £10, as opposed to the on the day price of £13.95.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

very very pleased with hotel, great rooms and super location as close to swansea nightlife and football stadium. Only thing that we found a was that we thought the breakfast was a bit over priced but didn't stop us enjoying our stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corcky26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Corky26,

Many thanks for your kind review and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Breakfast can be pre booked for £10 on line, or even on arrival, but is £13.95 if not pre booked and pre paid.

NB - Best of luck to the Baggies in their quest for Premier League survival, which was certainly helped by 3 vital away points down the road at the Liberty on Sat !

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
3.1 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
974 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,539 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#5 of 22 in Swansea
749 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#16 of 22 in Swansea
608 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Swansea

Property: Mercure Swansea
Address: Phoenix Way, Swansea SA7 9EG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Swansea 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel (Licensed) with 50+ letting rooms in city location. With car parking. Smoking in designated areas. Casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Children, Special Diets, Organic Products catered for. Eating outside is possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, ACCOR, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Swansea Hotel Swansea
Ramada Swansea
Swansea Ramada
Mercure Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing