We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice way to spend a few hours”

Gower Heritage Centre
Ranked #19 of 120 things to do in Swansea
Attraction details
Penarth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend a few hours”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Spent the afternoon at the Gower Heritage Centre and was not disappointed. Loads of exhibits to explore and plenty for the kids to do from glass blowing to pottery. Great to walk through the animal enclosure and have goats, sheep and horses walk amongst you. The staff were excellent and very knowledgeable. Looking forward to heading back again soon.

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    103
    62
    28
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, UK
Level Contributor
129 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Perfect for a rainy day. Free guided tour was the highlight.”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

A quaint attraction built up around the site's ancient water mill. The guided tour of the mill was far and away the best bit of our visit and without it we would've found the £22 family ticket overpriced.
The kids loved the animals in the outside area (especially the goats and feeding the trout).
I was looking forward to sampling and buying some of the Mill's cider but no-one seemed able to locate any so I left with my money in my pocket!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DenimGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“nice place to spend a couple of hours”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

came across this place as we were driving threw wales last week . Staff very informative ( especially the blacksmith ) , enjoyed the guided tour of the mill . Great for kids including puppet show , bouncy castle ,animals and playground etc . things of interest include the first flushable toilet in wales and the smallest cinema in wales

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank carl64ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place packed with history”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Great family day out, plenty of history and play areas for the kids. We went on pirate week, there were lots of activities on and even Jack Sparrow! We would definitely return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamie Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Stay!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed in the Hay Barn for 5 nights. The accommodation was fantastic; plenty of space for us, three kids and the dog. A beautiful beach within walking distance and lots of great places to walk the dog and kids!
We spent a lot of time in the Heritage Centre and the kids loved it - it was "Pirate Week" and there was lots going on for them to get involved with, as well as the playground and animals.
Every single member of staff was helpful and friendly, going out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our holiday; we will definitely go back!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank nikella2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gower Heritage Centre also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Gower Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing