We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great theatre”

Swansea Grand Theatre
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Grand Theatre in Swansea has a wide variety of shows and exhibitions for everyone to enjoy. Footlights Cafe is open from 11.00am to 3.30pm on performance days (closed on Mondays), and Footlights restaurant is open from 5.00 pm on performance days until 11.00pm and has full access for wheelchair users. Opening times - Monday to Saturday: 9.30am - 8.00pm (9.30am - 6.00pm on non performance days)Sunday: Open for one hour before performances
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great theatre”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

An excellent theatre with traditional decor. All areas afford a great view other than a few seats near some pillars, however, these seats are pointed out prior to purchase. Air conditioned too which is welcome in warmer weather

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    78
    33
    12
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Poor seats and views from Upper Circle”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We saw Derren Brown last night and we were excited to see this show after missing the one's in Cardiff. Our seats were right at the front of the Upper Circle and be warned if you're over 5ft5 you won't be able to sit comfortably. At the interval we moved back a row, which did have extra leg room, but as we were off to the side we couldn't see half of the stage below or the screen on the back wall. This ruined the show's experience. The theatre as a whole is a bit run down and needs some attention, especially to the upholstery and the seating plan.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mathew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwanseaGT, Public Relations Manager at Swansea Grand Theatre, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
We are sorry to hear that your experience wasn't great at the Derren Brown show this week. We understand that for some people the leg room is quite restrictive, it is always advisable to ask at time of booking if you require extra room. With the restoration fund in place, we are working to refurbish key areas of the theatre; the next stage in the plan is to paint the front of house areas. The auditorium seating refurbishing has now be completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Morecmbe at the Grand”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Lovely venue but most of all the performance of Morecombe by Bob Golding was really good and the show is really moving and funny This was a night well spent would recommend to anyone for an enjoyable evening.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely Ambience”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Bright and cheerful entrance; comfortable auditorium with clear views.
Spacious bar and helpful staff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Josi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely theatre but seats too close together”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent a very cramped few hours here as they've got no space between your knees and the row in front. If they space them out a bit it will be great as the decor is lovely and shows very good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwanseaGT, Public Relations Manager at Swansea Grand Theatre, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of the theatre. We understand that for some people the leg room is quite restrictive in some areas of the theatre, it is always advisable to ask at time of booking if you require extra room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swansea Grand Theatre also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Swansea Grand Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing