We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Proprty and Excellent stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Capel Cartref

Exterior of Capel Cartref
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of Capel Cartref
Spacious and Warm Lounge & Gallery Another lounge photo because I love it there!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
114 reviews
Exterior of Capel Cartref
Spacious and Warm Lounge & Gallery
Another lounge photo because I love it there!
Kitchen & Dining Area - spacious and well-equipped - Now with a large table!
Gallery - now with comfy sofas - must udpate photo!
Main Bedroom, 1st Floor
Twin Room, 1st Floor
Double Room, 1st Floor
Double Bedroom 1, Ground Floor
Double Bedroom 2, Ground Floor
Main Bedroom (Again), showing Balcony
Main Bathroom, 1st Floor
En-suite Shower Room (off main bedroom)
Ground Floor Wet Room with power shower
Heron in River nearby the chapel's river bank
Henrhyd Falls, Brecon Beacons - come stand behind it and just listen...
Rhossili, Gower Peninsula!  Whatever the weather - it's a MUST!
Brecon Beacons in the Snow - what a day that was!
Rhossili Bay - breathtaking views!
PLEASE HELP US END PUPPY FARMING BY SIGNING THE PETITION
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Swansea, Swansea County, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 114 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sueB9416A...
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely Proprty and Excellent stay”
Reviewed 30 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

All the family went for my father's birthday. The property was easy to find from the instructions. We found it warm and welcoming and all the rooms were lovely. It had everything there that you could possibly think of. Had a lovely time and Marnie was in touch throughout the weekend to check we had everything we needed. Will definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We are glad to know that your father's birthday went well and that you intend to return someday. Thank you so much for caring for the chapel during your stay. Please return soon. Kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keithmb83
1 review
“Out of this world”
Reviewed 20 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

What an amazing place in a breath taking location.
This Chapel had everything and more. Equipped with everything you could ever need to enjoy the home comforts away from home.
The only bad thing was we only stayed for a weekend. The kids loved the space and enjoyed exploring the area. I'd rate this 100 stars if I could.

Thank you so much we will be back in the summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2016
Wow! A 100 stars would be amazing!!! Thank you very much, you're our 80 review and what a lovely one to wake up to! You are most welcome back in the summer. Thank you so much for looking after the chapel so well during your visit. We are both very glad to know you all had a nice time with family. Kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libby286
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“reUNIon (university friends get together)”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Wow! The chapel is such a beautiful place. There's so much to do and see nearby it's a 5* all round! 10 of us stayed for the weekend but it felt do spacious, plenty of room! Really felt like a home from home, had everything we needed and more. Would 100% recommend and would love to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
Thank you very much for the 'Wow' and for the 'wow' review! We are so glad you had a great weekend and that it felt like 'home from home.' I hope you all come back again in the near future. Take care and kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy2464
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Chapel girls weekend”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Absolutely perfection love this beautiful Chapel our second visit to the Chapel and we are all booked up again for 2017. 10 of us friends chill out for. A lovely get together . Local pubs fabulous food recommend The George and The New Tredegar Pub. Local shops and post office great for getting your food you need etc. Lovely places to visit but most importantly this Chapel is such a warming relaxing place to stay and Marnie the owener is only a phone call text away if you need her.

Ideal for big parties families etc beautiful bedrooms and bathrooms home from home. Oh and a lovely river running by which is great to listen to whilst you have a cuppa on the veranda.

Highly recommended we all love it there full star rating from us

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything can't fault it
Liked least: Nothing it was oerfect
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
Thank you for that informative review! It was lovely having you stay - for the THIRD time, 2014/2015/2016 and looking forward to your return in 2017. You are such a lovely group and you look after the chapel during your visit. Your dates are booked for next year and confirmed, thank you and kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faithwerr...
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place, perfect for large families”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in May 2016

10 of us stayed here to celebrate my Mum's birthday and it was lovely. The accommodation is lovely and big, plenty of room for all of us. It was lovely and clean and the kitchen had everything you could possibly need, plenty of crockery and cutlery etc for everyone.
Marnie answered any questions leading up to the stay quickly and was happy to give recommendations of places to eat, we went to the pub up the road for Sunday Roast and it was lovely, definitely recommend.
We would definitely recommend this place to anyone as it is perfect for large groups and also very reasonably priced.
Many thanks Marnie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We are glad you felt the kitchen was well equipped for all ten of you. We also hope your mum had a fabulous birthday and that it has left her with happy memories. Thank you also for looking after the chapel during your stay, we hope you will return one day in the near future. Kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonnyWebb
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful renovation in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed here for my partners parents wedding anniversary with extended family. We filled all the beds and there was plenty of space for all. A really beautiful place to stay and we only wish we had more than one weekend to enjoy it. Perfectly situated to explore Swansea, the Gower, the Brecon's and even across to Pembrokeshire should you want! Marnie was fantastically helpful and made us feel very welcome even with the short notice booking. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to stay in the South Wales area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2016
Wow! Thank you so much for your feedback. We were very happy for you to stay at the chapel. Thank you for looking after it so well. We hope you come back in the near future for a longer visit. Kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
1 review
“5*”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Absolutely stunning place to stay. We all fell in love with it as soon as we walked in.
Lovely owner too! Very quick and helpful in answering any questions.
Would absolutely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2016
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so happy that you had the ideal place for your special weekend. We would very much welcome you back as you looked after the place so well during your stay. Take care and kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing