We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Capel Cartref

Exterior of Capel Cartref
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of Capel Cartref
Spacious and Warm Lounge & Gallery Another lounge photo because I love it there!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
112 reviews
Exterior of Capel Cartref
Spacious and Warm Lounge & Gallery
Another lounge photo because I love it there!
Kitchen & Dining Area - spacious and well-equipped - Now with a large table!
Gallery - now with comfy sofas - must udpate photo!
Main Bedroom, 1st Floor
Twin Room, 1st Floor
Double Room, 1st Floor
Double Bedroom 1, Ground Floor
Double Bedroom 2, Ground Floor
Main Bedroom (Again), showing Balcony
Main Bathroom, 1st Floor
En-suite Shower Room (off main bedroom)
Ground Floor Wet Room with power shower
Heron in River nearby the chapel's river bank
Henrhyd Falls, Brecon Beacons - come stand behind it and just listen...
Rhossili, Gower Peninsula!  Whatever the weather - it's a MUST!
Brecon Beacons in the Snow - what a day that was!
Rhossili Bay - breathtaking views!
PLEASE HELP US END PUPPY FARMING BY SIGNING THE PETITION
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Swansea, Swansea County, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 112 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ester R
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent house”
Reviewed 13 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

What is there not to like of this place. Everything we needed was there, warm comfortable home from home. Good communication with Marnie. As we were a group of photographers we were spoilt for choice and we are certainly planning to go back next year. After a busy day we just chilled out at night -eating, drinking and chatting about our day.Thank you Marnie

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad you found Capel Cartref to your liking. It was a pleasure communicating with you and we are also pleased that you are planning to return next year. Thank you for looking after the chapel during your stay; we look forward to your return. Thank you and kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy2464
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Chapel Girls & Nessa”
Reviewed 6 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This is the most perfect place to stay with family and friends. This was our 4th year to stay and we are coming back next year. In a peaceful village 12miles from Swansea and lovely places to walk visit etc. The Chapel is wonderful and cosy and home from home . We all love it there made some fond memories . Highly recommend this place you most certainly won’t be disappointed .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2017
Aah, thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted to know you are returning to Capel Cartref in 2018, it is certainly never disappointing having you stay there! Nessa and the Chapel Girls certainly bring joy to the village! Thank you once again and kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for the review. We will ensure that there is a high seat for the wet room WC that's kept purposefully for people who struggle to weight bear. As with the bed, we will need to look at our options in order to provide comfort for all. We love constructive feedback. We also love the fact that you found the place to your liking and that you hope to return again some day; we look forward to it. Thank you and kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for a lovely review. We are glad you chose Capel Cartref for your reunion. You were perfect visitors; thank you for looking after the chapel during your stay. I hope you will return one day. Kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
benm14720...
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming spacious place perfect for a few days away with friends”
Reviewed 18 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This charming, characterful property is the perfect place to spend a few days away with friends. All amenities and needs catered for within the property and it's a great location to explore the sights of Southern Wales from the Brecon Beacons to The Gower.
The owner is attentive and has the spacious Chapel stocked with everything you could need.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2017
Wow! Thank you for such a lovely review. We are glad you had time away with friends and that the chapel catered for your needs. Thank you for looking after Capel Cartref during your stay, you'd be most welcome back if you wish to return to South Wales. Kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masonsand...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect family accomodation for countryside and beach lovers alike”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a wonderful family holiday in the chapel. There were 9 of us including a 2 year old and 2 month old baby but the cottage was still spacious with enough room for everyone to relax. The kitchen is extremely well equipped with a lovely big dining table, perfect for our big roast dinner on the only rainy day of the holiday! The lounge area with its double height ceilings is fantastic, and the whole place is extremely well taken care of. It is in a great location for both the Brecons and the beach, we were very lucky with the weather and had a fantastic time at Langland and Rhossili Bays. We also enjoyed a trip on the Brecon Mountain Railway with some absolutely beautiful scenery and a trip to the National Showcaves Centre and the Four Waterfalls Walk; all truly breathtaking. There is also a Tesco and Asda nearby so we didn't have to go far to get our BBQ coals and meat! Marnie was extremely helpful over email before our stay, very happy to answer any questions and extremely accommodating. All in all a truly memorable experience which I highly recommend. Thank you so much Marnie and Yonni!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Wow! Thank you so much for such an informative review, we are so looking forward to sharing this. It sounds as though you managed to explore lots of South Wales; we will definitely be taking a trip on the Mountain Railway when we return! Thank you so much for looking after the chapel during your stay. We hope you all return again one day soon. Take care and kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leedrew20...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place - ideal for groups of families”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Brilliant place to stay Marnie was very attentive and made sure we had everything we needed before arriving and even got in touch during our stay to make sure everything was ok. Great accommodation for multiple families and an ideal base to explore South Wales, highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for a great review! We are so glad you got to enjoy your time at the chapel and that you managed to get out and explore a little of what South Wales has to offer. We hope you come back one day soon. Thank you for looking after the chapel during your stay.
Kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing