We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, noisy ambiance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Reef - CLOSED

Bar Reef
Cuisines: British, Bar
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, noisy ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Three generations of us went to Bar Reef, one of my kids and my Aunt, so a wide range of ages. The food was excellent; there was a long wait between placing our order and getting the food, but in a way that was reassuring as the food was being freshly cooked for us. I had pork belly which was both crisp on the outside and moist on the inside, and having had samples of the others choices, they were equally good.
The drawback with the restuarant was the sound system. We were under one of the loudspeakers and had to shout to make ourselves heard. It seems like Bar Reef is trying to be a restaurant and trendy bar at the same time, and they need to choose which they want to be. Its a shame that we could not enjoy a conversation with such good food.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    2
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“come dine with me”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

just 5 minutes walk from the mirador and the food was far better than any pub food Ive ever had.the menu is different to the usual pub menues and it was cooked and served to perfection.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dav1d49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very tasty. Can't wait until next time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Went on a Friday night, lovely atmosphere. Three of us had the burger and our friend had the chicken Ballantine, very well presented and extremly tasty. Defo be goin back. Very friendly staff. See you soon.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Merccorsa20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Went with six friends on a fri evening. I was the only one who had been before. Everybody was so impressed as they could only remember the Bar Reef of old when it was a bit run down. The place is now very impressive .The owners and staff are very pleasant and helpful. They deserve to do well. The food was perfection and reasonably priced.. Cant reccommend it enough. All of us wont hesitate to go back. I eat out a lot in Swansea and I would say that Bar Reef is my favourite place .

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank harvey801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent food in modern surroundings swanseas best kept secret!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had an excellent 3 course Sunday lunch here everything was home made cooked to perfection and beautifully presented and only about £20 per head with drinks. The staff were friendly and attentive and the live jazz pianist really gave the place a lovely atmosphere we could have Stayed all day. Looking forward to our next visit all ready a hidden gem I'n Swansea.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank littlehaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Reef also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing