We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!”
Review of Monni's Fish Bar

Monni's Fish Bar
Ranked #205 of 647 Restaurants in Swansea
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We popped in for a quick dinner and it was great!

We all had cod and chips and it was cooked to perfection!!

Only thing I would critique is that the restaurant needs an update and the tables aren't 100% comfortable. It if you can look past that you're in for lovely fish and chips!

Helpful?
1 Thank Zeta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Its close but its the only reason i go”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

As I've said before the quality and portion size in this chip shop varies so dramatically its not even funny. Really had the urge for chips the other night, the good kind I know they can produce but what my boyfriend bought home were overcooked and luke warm, and were soaked in oil, like they'd been sat there a long time. Based on this experience I wouldn't recommend them and I wouldn't go back, but to be quite honest I'm lazy and there isn't really another chip shop in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank the_girls_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Always great food here. Definitely the best fish for miles around. I always sit down for food as I have a 10 mile drive to get here, and it's the only place I buy fish and chips.

Helpful?
Thank Kate41st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Its alright”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Portion size varies, largely depends on who is serving, and who is supervising. Ketchup costs 20p a sachet and sometimes there is a fairly long queue (Saturdays) but the chips are alright and they serve all the usual things.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank the_girls_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Chips are always cooked just right and the rissole is amazing there. Sit-down service is actually quite good and they're quite friendly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AceRockers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monni's Fish Bar also viewed

Morriston, Swansea
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Monni's Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing