We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for us.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Alexander
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Swansea
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great for us.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

On arrival met by owner who was most welcoming and helpful outlining places to eat, opinions (which transpired to be spot on) on each. The rooms, bedroom and bathroom are filled with a host of helpful things which I am more accustomed to in larger hotels. From the biscuits, ear buds, cotton wool and filter coffee and coffee maker in the room which is my preference in the morning.
The hot water took a few moments to come through on the shower, no problem though and at last a shower area big enough for someone 6 feet and broad shouldered.
On arrival the area (largely student flats) looks an unlikely location but was close to eateries and quiet. Note however parking in side streets is about 100 metres away.

NOTE to those going. My SatNav would have gone through Swansea centre from M4. Ignore it keep going and turn right close to boating lake. The SatNav will redirect a much quicker and easier way.

The cost was compatible to Travelodge and the other major chains but included a nice breakfast, and someone to help with local places. Overall of returning to area I would try and book here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdeWotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    58
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
41
51
37
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have just returned from a weekend away in South Wales, & can honestly say we had a lovely stay at The Alexander.

The welcome we received was excellent, very friendly & welcoming. We booked the last room that they had available and were warned that the room was small. We're still trying to work out why! Ok it wasn't the biggest room hotel room we've ever stayed in but it was more than acceptable, Very clean, very well equipped and very comfortable, it certainly had everything you could need for a short stay. The TV was also small but again perfectly acceptable with a good selection of channels. Wifi is also available free of charge in the rooms, something a lot of hotels of this size do not offer.

The breakfast was excellent, with a good selection of cereals, fruit etc & a choice of cooked options. All in all we couldn't fault it on either quality or service.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to our family and friends and will definitely stay here again when we're next in Swansea.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelfanfromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed at the Alexander hotel when visiting the Singleton hospital for training on two separate occasions. I found both Heino and Lynn very welcoming. Each time I had a different room which was clean, good décor with crisp white bed linen which smelt gorgeous. The bed was extremely comfortable, good bathroom facilities and the breakfast catered to every taste. There are a good range of shops in the vicinity and it is within easy walking distance to the university and Singleton hospital.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Yes a nice welcome, very pleasing Host, but a vew mishaps which should not have happened. The toilet would not flush, and dripped constantly during the night, my wife was unable to sleep; we did not feel it opportune to call the "owners" in the middle of the night!!! When I mentioned it in the morning " I will check it later" was the response!! should be checked before guests arrive!! However he knocked a £5 off the bill to compensate, but!!!!!!! On shaving in the morning at 0745 there was absolutely NO HOT WATER..... again told will check it out!!!!! We are in our mid 70,s and found the climb up three flights to room 4 very arduous!! Clean yes, parking near by ok
Television so old fashioned late 1990.s and a small 15" screen. Hotel was full so am sure the owners feel complacent... this could be a big mistake!! Olga Politzzi would enjoy.

Room Tip: do not use top floor, and check the plumbing!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANTHONYAHYATT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busterSwansea, Owner at The Alexander, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
We are very sorry that we did not come up to the customers expectations. We have never had a problem with the water temperature, the only thing that we feel could have happened is that the guest did not know how to regulate the temperature on the taps. The toilet is a central button press system and flushes if used correctly. There is a flat screen TV/DVD player in the room and is only 2 years old not bought in the 1990s as stated. If the guest had requested when booking a lower level room we would have tried our very best to accommodate them. All rooms are checked before every guest arrives and no other guests on that day had any complaints about water etc. We take every customers feedback very seriously and have never and will never become complacent as stated by the guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed in The Alexander hotel when we visited Swansea University. The hotel was in a good location, about 15-20 minutes walk to the university and the sea front. The check-in was prompt, the room we stayed in was spacious and the decor chic and cute. The bathroom was clean, plenty of amenities and towels. There was tea/coffee making facility, a mini fridge was available on the landing outside our room, which would be useful to keep water/soft drinks cold. The TV was of good size and the bed was comfortable. Several restaurant round the corner from the hotel which meant we didn't have to go far to have our dinner (a big advantage after a long drive). There was no parking at the hotel but plenty of parking along the next (side) road and it was safe.

The dinning room was cozy, and our breakfast was cooked to order. Plenty of choices with cereals, juices, fruit breads etc and the cooked breakfast was delicious.

The staff was helpful and friendly, the price of our double room was very reasonable.

I would recommend this hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fierce-Spicy-Chilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Alexander: Easy parking; warmly welcomed by Hieno; spotless and tastefully decorated room (quietly situated on top floor overlooking the Bay) with tea, coffee, cocoa, and biscuits; en-suite plentiful of shampoo, soaps, bathrobe and towels; wonderful night’s sleep (very comfy beds); lovely cooked breakfast with ‘additional’ breakfast offerings: yoghurts’, nuts, fruit, cheese etc. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Having read other reviews regarding noise - perhaps choose a room to the rear of the property - I di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MstravellingM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
305 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here whilst away with work,  upon arrival I was greeted my the owner who made me feel very welcome. The place is very clean and comfortable,my room was on the front which was bit noisy due to main road but not to bad, bed was very comfy and my room was spotless, breakfast in the morning was lovely. Highly recommend this place

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Squawking44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
1.1 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
0.2 mi away
The White House
The White House
#14 of 24 in Swansea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
3.3 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander

Property: The Alexander
Address: 3 Sketty Road, Swansea SA2 0EU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Swansea
#3 Business Hotel in Swansea
#7 Family Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alexander Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing