We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay.”
Review of Morgans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Morgans Hotel
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay.”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed one night recently whilst working in Swansea. The room was comfortable, warm, clean and cosy. Bed and duvet great, but the pillows were very empty! The bathroom was stylish, with Molton Brown products. Good water pressure in the shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Free parking. Good location for restaurants and shops. We didn't eat in the restaurant as it was a bit on the expensive side and mostly Christmas fare, so we popped over the road where there are loads of eating places. All in all, a good stay and would certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiestaGirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    196
    103
    47
    40
See reviews for
102
337
31
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed overnight following a work Christmas meal. The room was excellent. Spotless and tastefully furnished. Bed very comfortable. Mini bar in room with reasonably priced items...although it was strangely located in a wardrobe along with the tea making facilities - strange ! Fab shower and bath ...but the shower gel was fixed to the wall and the height was more suited to a six foot man than a 5ft woman ! Also a pet peeve of mine , no hand attachment to the shower so the usual gymnastic contortions needed ! Breakfast choice was extensive - fruit, cereal, yogurt, pastries, toast (fabulous bread) , range of condiments...smoked salmon and kippers in addition to the usual cooked breakfast. Coffee served at table , but needed to request refills from staff who were busy taking orders, clearing tables and serving food - would be nice to have the coffee more freely available. Only one odd moment - during breakfast I went to use the bathroom and got a very frosty reception from the cleaner who just said in response to my query 'am I ok to use the toilets?' 'it's wet' leaving me none the wiser ! When I said 'ok' she positively glared at me and ordered me to use the disabled toilet which I could not find !

Room Tip: we stayed in Merlin in the townhouse annex. No street noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanMaskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Excellent location and fantastic hotel, restaurant and bar. Staff were so friendly and welcoming, we were given an upgrade and the room was one of the best we have stayed in. Would thoroughly recommend and we hope to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Digby Grand, fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cht62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Efficient check in and showed to our room in the Town houses across the street. Very clean and modern room but it did seem to lack space. Mini bar and coffee making facilities in a limited size wardrobe, new one on me. Personal view is that all the same facilities on offer in the main hotel are on offer in the town houses like trouser presses and room service.
We returned to the hotel in the afternoon and the main bar area was like a hen/ stag party which I did not expect in this sort of establishment.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Lovely boutique hotel providing very good value for money. Service excellent and very friendly. Restaurant food fresh and delightful. Location excellent though slightly compromised by such close proximity to Wine Street and swamped by non-residents. Needs something like a residents bar for an occasional bit of peace and quiet!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed in the Town Houses across the road from the main building and they were well equipped, the beds were comfortable, it was very clean and it had a beautiful bathroom. I was impressed with the soaps and hand wash all over the hotel it was "Molton Brown" in all the dispensers. I usually use my own soap but didn't have to there.
We went to a friends wedding last year, and the meals were excellent and the breakfast room was nicely set out in the morning with plenty of choice.
Before leaving we went for a stroll around the area this was a nice walk to blow the cobwebs away before heading home, we were never rushed to vacate the room.
after arriving home we have had emails from them with offers, which we find is handy to know.
I will certainly go back there as it is first class accomadation.

Room Tip: We didn't have a ground floor room as it is in the centre of town and I would imagine it could b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

what a wonderful hotel.. We stayed in the Townhouse, just across the street from the main hotel. We had a beautiful room with a four poster bed and top quality furnishings and fittings. The bar and ambience in Morgans is first class

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keen-holidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.5 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#16 of 22 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.7 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans Hotel

Property: Morgans Hotel
Address: Somerset Place, Swansea SA1 1RR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Swansea
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Swansea
#5 Business Hotel in Swansea
#6 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
#8 Family Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgans Hotel is located in the heart of the maritime quarter, within walking distance to the city centre of Swansea. The Main Hotel has 20 rooms of accommodation, a bar lounge, restaurant and conference facilities. The Townhouse, situated across a small side road from the main hotel, has an additional 22 bedrooms. Please note that we are unable offer room service in the Townhouse. The restaurant is open seven days a week to residents and we serve bar meals in our bar lounge daily. The restaurant is open to the public from Wednesday evening through to Sunday lunch. The hotel is non-smoking and we have disabled access and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Morgans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans Hotel Swansea, Wales
Morgans Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing