We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes the trip to Swansea worthwhile”
Review of Morgans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Morgans Hotel
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Makes the trip to Swansea worthwhile”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This is my third family related trip to Swansea and to Morgans... it is always a nice change from the tiny hotel rooms in London - the rooms have all been spacious, bright and clean and the bathrooms luxurious. This trip was no different. So, if we need to make another trip to Swansea Morgans would be our first choice. However, some things need attention - there were cigarette butts around the entrance to the Town House building, the carpet in the hallway needs a good clean and breakfast was not the special affair we remember from past visits... And, given it is my third trip there, it would have been nice to hear "welcome back".

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 1772_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    206
    110
    48
    42
See reviews for
107
362
31
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I had lunch in Morgans today with some great friends. There were 8 of us in the party and we all had a fantastic meal and felt it was great value. Two courses for £9.95 and not one of us was disappointed with our choices. All the food was beautifully cooked and presented. I had soup to start, that was so tasty and lamb for main. The meal experience was enhanced by the efficient and helpful staff. I will definitely be back and while this review will appear on the hotel page Morgans offers an additional excellent restaurant option. I would definitely eat in if I were staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWR42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here before and had a great experience. Booked again recently to celebrate my fiancee 40th. It was a bank holiday so we arrived on a Sunday to stay untill bank holiday Monday. Ok lets get one thing straight, the hotel and rooms are brilliant and the staff are professional, freindly and top notch. My gripe is the restaurant. When I booked I was told the main restaurant is closed on a Sunday (even on a busy bank holiday? Really? ) but another room is used for staying guests. A menu in the room was very nice so down we went. Down is the word! The other restaurant room is a basement room, no windows, the air con wasnt on and the room was small. It was horribly claustrophobic and the other guests present didnt look impressed. The menu on the table differed hugely from the one in the room with a very limited selection that did not appeal. We left and went across the road to TGI Friday and had a nice enough meal. Not though a romantic celebration I was expecting. Not happy Morgans. Not happy at all!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I discovered this hotel by chance when looking for a hotel near Swansea Marina. They do a great half price B&B Sunday deal, even on a BH weekend!! We booked for Sunday night at £55 for our room and for the Monday at £110 for the room.

The hotel was full, so I booked a room called 'Glance' in the Townhouse opposite. This double room can be converted into a twin room.

We also booked Sunday lunch, which was absolutely delicious and great value and the staff were very attentive.

The staff throughout the hotel are very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast on both mornings was equally delicious. Breakfast service on both mornings was a little lacking in attention to detail in that dishes and plates were not removed at all as we finished eating, so they piled up on the side of the table. There was no offer of more coffee and tea or just a "is everything ok, is there anything else I can get you". However, staff were very quick to bring more tea and coffee when we did eventually ask.

Our room was lovely and the beds were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was gorgeous and the big shower heavenly! We were concerned about the negative comments we read on Trip Advisor about the noisy creaking wooden floorboards at the townhouse and we did notice the noise above us in the day time, but it didn't disturb us at all during the night.

One little niggle that I've noticed particularly the last few times I've stayed at hotels in general, is the cutbacks in complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits. I'm not a massive tea drinker or biscuit eater, but why just three teabags and one packet of biscuits per two guest per room. Is there new hotel legislation been passed on this? I always have to ask for more or use one teabag to make two cups of tea. The tea cups at the Morgan are very small, so maybe this is why teabags are rationed.

Location was perfect, with easy access to the marina and shops in the town. There was also plenty of room in the free car park, even on the day of a wedding at the hotel. It's a great location to drive to the beautiful beaches in the Gower. We booked the Langland Bay Brasserie for lunch on the Monday, followed by a walk along the cliff top from Langland Bay to Caswell Bay - the views are stunning, whatever the weather.

We would definitely return to the Morgans Hotel and I have recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honestyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Located in a sympathetically restored and elegantly decorated building (the former harbourmaster's offices), Morgans is a dream of a hotel. The rooms are very well appointed with luxury beds and bathrooms; each one individually designed and decorated. They are extremely comfortable.
A very pleasant bar is well stocked and food is good quality well cooked and presented with style. But what stands out here is not just the friendliness of the staff but their training. Everyone knows what they are doing; they are helpful and pleasant but never over-powering. All are well turned out in uniform and the whole place functions seamlessly.
It's never cheap; but it is very good value and the standard is excellent. It has its own carparking at no extra charge and WIFI throughout.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wales25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely hotel with professional, friendly staff. Bedroom was immaculately clean, luxurious bed and large bathroom. Breakfast was cooked to order.. Excellent along with the service.
Would definitely reconnect this hotel.

Room Tip: Can recommend Cwmdonkin on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Gwent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night in Glance which was a really lovely room with a very comfortable bed and great bathroom with a fantastic double headed shower. Most of the staff we met were very friendly, bar staff seemed a bit off hand but this did not spoil our stay as we didn't spend long in the bar as it was quite expensive - £11.40 for a glass of wine and a pint of bitter!!!
The receptionist that we met on booking in and on check out is a credit to Morgans, I think her name was Selina - superb service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cob200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.5 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
951 reviews
0.7 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#11 of 22 in Swansea
718 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#16 of 22 in Swansea
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans Hotel

Property: Morgans Hotel
Address: Somerset Place, Swansea SA1 1RR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Swansea
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Swansea
#5 Business Hotel in Swansea
#6 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
#8 Family Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgans Hotel is located in the heart of the maritime quarter, within walking distance to the city centre of Swansea. The Main Hotel has 20 rooms of accommodation, a bar lounge, restaurant and conference facilities. The Townhouse, situated across a small side road from the main hotel, has an additional 22 bedrooms. Please note that we are unable offer room service in the Townhouse. The restaurant is open seven days a week to residents and we serve bar meals in our bar lounge daily. The restaurant is open to the public from Wednesday evening through to Sunday lunch. The hotel is non-smoking and we have disabled access and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Morgans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans Hotel Swansea, Wales
Morgans Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing