We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit rough around the edges”
Review of Morgans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Morgans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Lovely staff and for a short stay in Swansea, this place is definitely worth considering if you can get a decent rate. Has a lot more character than the other options in town (Holiday Inn, Marriott, etc) but unfortunately also has a bit of a tatty feel to it. I stayed in the building across from the main hotel (more like a guest house) and with cheap fittings in the room, it just feels as though too many corners have been cut. On the plus side, food in the bar was fantastic and the service was friendly and professional. Again though, cheap furniture and a shabby feel really let the place down.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pob74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We set out to explore the Gower. We originally looked for places to stay in the Gower but were disappointed with the reviews we read about them in TripAdvisor. We plumped for Morgans in Swansea as our base and never looked back! In a previous existence, this was the Harbour Board Offices and it retains a rather grand appearance. They just don't set out to build hotels like this! The place is atmospheric. The rooms are all named after ships that used to frequent the harbour in its heyday. There are beautiful timber fittings throughout though the interior decor is rather sombre. You dine in the former boardroom where fortunes were made. The rooms are sumptious with huge walk-in bathrooms. It's a very short walk to Bird Street where there are numerous places to eat - you are spoiled for choice there. It's also cheek-by-jowl with two museums and a marina where you can watch boats. The gated parking was a godsend and was never full. The staff are exceptionally helpful. A minor crib was that the lift was out of action for two days or more with no sign of any workmen on the job in all that time. Can no one in Swansea repair lifts?

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor at the front of the building have a pleasing aspect. (There may be others w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clonagam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a night in August in the town house which is across the road from the main hotel. The room was immaculate and had everything we needed although room service wasn't available as we were not in the main hotel. The bed was really comfy and the room was quiet and had air conditioning :) Breakfast the next morning was lovely, continental breakfast was on a self serve basis and you had to order cooked breakfast with the staff although we were waiting ages for our order to be taken even though it wasn't busy! Would definitely stay here again though as it's in a brilliant central location just at the bottom of wind street and proved to be a lovely night stay

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kellyjelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Served in the bar area, we had a table ready on our arrival, white tablecloth and napkins.

Party of 9. 7 adults had the £9.95 afternoon tea and 2 children had children's meals.

Presentation of food lovely all on white vintage style tiered cake plates.

We had a variety of sandwiches all were lovely, choice of white or brown bread.

Cakes, warm(yes warm) scones and welsh cakes. Cream and jam galore.

And then some muffins (small) cut in half and little pastel coloured cakes with the wrappers removed. ( this is why I scored it 4 and not 5 as they looked like Sainsbury's cakes).

All in all very enjoyable and lovely, but cake of the day said slice! We had no slice of anything.

I didn't let the rest of my guests in on this. So they enjoyed and said the atmosphere and setting was most enjoyable.

Got to say the children's meals were good portions as well.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank delyth13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed overnight in the Townhouse. We were upgraded to the top floor room, eagle. This was a lovely room, with a wow factor shower and bathroom. Felt really pampered with high quality toiletries and bathrobes. Room had everything, including mini bar and refreshment tray. The staff at this hotel are first class, really efficient and friendly, they gave the impression that they really cared about guests. Hayley the receptionist was a great first point of contact, ensuring that check in went smoothly. We were then shown to our room, by John, a really genial porter, who assisted with our luggage, and ensured we were comfortable.
We had dinner that evening, we thought about dining in the restaurant, but after perusing the menu, opted to eat in the bar, as there appeared to be more choice. The food was delicious, and really well presented. The prices were reasonable too, given it was a boutique hotel. We had a lovely wine to accompany our meal and finished off with coffee, which was the best we have had in a long time. However, what let this hotel down was the breakfast. It was cooked to order and it was very spartan to say the least. One egg, a sausage, hash brown, tomato, and two of tiniest rashers of 'streaky' bacon. This is not what we expected, when it is advertised as a full welsh breakfast. It was of poor quality and not very filling. The staff in the restaurant, however, were great, with one waiter volunteering to make our toast. The service throughout our stay was second to none. If the breakfast had been better, then we would have given a five rating. We have to say that the total experience was fantastic, and would return, hopefully, to a better breakfast.

Room Tip: Think the rooms in the main building have air con. This would help in warm weather. But our room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gwenllian812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here in June during one of the hot weekends in Wales. The hotel is outstanding, the quality of the room furnishings are high quality, the food is good and the staff are helpful and friendly.
The location of the hotel is very convenient, you can walk into Swansea, round the Marina and yet you are on a convenient access road out of Swansea itself.

Room Tip: The rooms in the hotel are quieter than the Annexe (Townhouse) and some have air-conditioning essent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank harryboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here one night but would have been happy to stay longer. Fantastic service from the initial contact to book the room, our luggage being carried to our room and a very helpful receptionist. Our room was on the top floor in the attic space of the town house and I was very pleased. Everything you needed was there (hair dryer which was very powerful, iron etc.). The breakfast is served until 10am, after a long day at a wedding party this late breakfast was welcomed. The cooked breakfast was served to your table, including a vegetarian one was not huge but plenty. A full buffet breakfast of everything you would expect and of high quality. A good location and very quiet. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allie-scrase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.5 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Swansea
1,001 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The White House
The White House
#17 of 22 in Swansea
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#15 of 22 in Swansea
657 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans Hotel

Address: Somerset Place, Swansea SA1 1RR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Swansea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Swansea
#5 Business Hotel in Swansea
#6 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
#8 Family Hotel in Swansea
Price Range: £89 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgans Hotel is located in the heart of the maritime quarter, within walking distance to the city centre of Swansea. The Main Hotel has 20 rooms of accommodation, a bar lounge, restaurant and conference facilities. The Townhouse, situated across a small side road from the main hotel, has an additional 22 bedrooms. Please note that we are unable offer room service in the Townhouse. The restaurant is open seven days a week to residents and we serve bar meals in our bar lounge daily. The restaurant is open to the public from Wednesday evening through to Sunday lunch. The hotel is non-smoking and we have disabled access and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Morgans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans Hotel Swansea, Wales
Morgans Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing