We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gREAT Find”

Gigi Gao's Favourite Authentic Chinese
Ranked #8 of 654 Restaurants in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$39
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Favourite is a special and unique place for you to enjoy a different experience: - Authentic Chinese food. All the meals on menu are the most well-known dishes in China. All the meals being served in Chinese Blue and White porcelain. All the knife, fork and chopsticks are from China in Chinese style. - Healthy food. MSG FREE! - Chinese style atmosphere. - Old ShangHai music. - Tea culture. ....
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“gREAT Find”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

took my nephew and his fiancee; this place is AWESOME; better than any chinese food i've had in oxford; comparable to mid-priced london and dc chinese fare. the hosts were very hospitable in advising on the vegetarian side of the menu. we had an aubergine dish with potatoes, 2 tofu dishes, 1 pastry with pork, and 1 string bean dish. i thought the tofu with veges and the aubergine were simple and superb. and i consider myself a foodie. if you are in swansea and like authentic asian, it's definitely worth a try.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank le_bobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    81
    22
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Favourite is definetly a favourite”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I really enjoyed the variety of food they have there and the way it's done out. The staff all very friendly and always willing to help you. Best Chinese i've ever been to

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaitlinHefferman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Henpstead
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely experience”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

On holiday in Swansea and checked out reviews for local Chinese restaurants. This one beats them all so we had to try it. We located in on a map and walked there from the Marina area. It was already busy but we were asked to wait a few moments while they cleared a table for us - a family of four. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and helped us choose a variety of starters and mains. All were absolutely fresh and delicious, Would particularly recommend the lamb satay, boiled chicken, sweet & sour pork and sizzling chicken and noodles. The staff were really attentive, the prices really reasonable and the atmosphere lovely. Would definitely return to try the Chinese burgers we saw other customers enjoying. A lovely evening enjoyed by us all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese food using local ingredients”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Favourite Cafe is a different experience to any other Chinese restaurant in Swansea. The dishes are all cooked on the premises using local ingredients to create Beijing specialities - everything we had was delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very authentic Chinese food”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Don't be put off by the décor of this café/restaurant. It is just wooden bench style tables and chairs and basic wooden floors. The staff are very friendly, we rang to say we couldn't find the restaurant and a member of staff gave us directions and then rang us back half an hour later to check that we were ok and had found it.
The food is definitely home cooked and the menu is very different to most people's idea of what Chinese food is all about. There are chow mein or chop suey type dishes. They are serving a wide selection of starters from Lamb kebabs (spicy or plain), dim sum, spare ribs, duck, etc and main courses are Chinese stew dishes varying from duck, lamb, beef, pork or vegetarian and some dishes which are very unusual to our taste, Noodles served with a pork mince sauce and a portion of sesame dip to accompany.
This last dish I mention was the one my husband and I ordered and I have to say we picked the wrong choice for us. The noodles were cold along with the pork mince topping. I don't know if it was meant to be served like that but as we are unfamiliar with this type of dish it is impossible to know if this was well prepared or not. We didn't complain as the previous starters we had, which were the lamb kebabs, and ribs were the best we've tasted. The pork dumplings were a little too large and too doughy for my taste. The price of the meals is really good, in fact for three starters and one large main that was enough to share between two people, two drinks ( One beer and one aloe vera juice) came to £19.00!! superb value.
I would definitely try this restaurant again or even maybe for a lunch, next time I would ask the waitress for some help to order the right choice for us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anniemSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
libin888888, Owner at Gigi Gao's Favourite Authentic Chinese, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Really sorry to hear that you don't like the Noodles, but it is the traditional way to serve. But I should apologize for our staff as we have trained them to expain what the food contains to our customers, and they should also inform our customer --we can always change to another dish to instead previously ordered (free) if customer don't like it. Seems she didn't mention that to you - maybe a little busy that night.

we going to put a large sign to tell customers that they can change their food they don't like to something else.

please feel free to complain if you are not happy with what you odered--we know that not all the authentic Chinese food can be enjoyed by everyone. bue I am pretty sure you will find something you really like!

Thanks very much for the review and we will do our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gigi Gao's Favourite Authentic Chinese also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Gigi Gao's Favourite Authentic Chinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing