We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great vege food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westbourne

The Westbourne
Ranked #28 of 641 Restaurants in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are an independent family business and are not part of any pub chain or brewery. Thanks for supporting us and other independent businesses. WALES' FIRST BEER WALL Pop in and try our new self serve beer wall and table top taps with 7 different lagers and ciders to choose and pour yourself! IPAD TABLE TOP ORDERING Why queue at the bar? You can now set up a tab and order drinks and snacks to your table from our table top iPads REAL ALE HEAVEN We are in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide 2015 We now have 6 real ale pumps on the bar offering everything from small local breweries to national favourites GREAT FOOD SERVED DAILY We serve great food, we really mean it! If you're looking for some filling pub grub then grab a menu from us or online at our website OPEN LATE EVERY WEEKEND We are open until 12.30am every Friday and Saturday evening QUIZ NIGHT EVERY TUESDAY Join our regular pub quiz night on Tuesdays from 8.30pm
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great vege food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Glamorgan sausage, onion gravy and mash all in a giant yorkshire pudding. Food of the gods. I've been a vege for 30 years and get fed up of the same old same old. Its great to have something different. The food is also piping hot which is the way I like it and the service is pretty good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkEbbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    48
    8
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Neath South Wales
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The Westbourne has a lovely homely feeling, spacious and clean. Bar service is always good and the food is always well presented and very appetising.
Prices are good, it can get busy on certain days, but its a lovely place to go with your friends for a nice sit down meal, a drink and a chat.
Prices vary, but is very good value for money. I recommend for a small meal the Fish Finger Sandwich, its delicious, and I generally go for the curry; lasagne or fish for a bigger meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeJNeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Girls night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I booked a table for 22 girls at the Westbourne for a fun evening whilst also watching the rugby. Excellent food. Every meal came out fresh & delicious. Excellent service. Nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommend !!!

Helpful?
Thank Angiebbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Looked the part, tasted of nothing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Wernt even real beef. Awful. Tasteless roast dinner and over priced. Wont be going back here for food.

Helpful?
Thank kaelacarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“innept staff and terrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

upon arriving was served with wrong drink even though only one drink ordered.
Staff couldnt find a childs menu in the building which pleased my son no end so, we played safe with sausage and chips for him.
I ordered the chilli with rice and chips.
Although there were five orders there were only four eating as my food was delayed for around 20 minutes.
Luckily the chilli arrived in a bowl as it looked and tasted like dishwater.
Funnily enough this was served with a fork when a straw would have been more appropriate.
When i was asked what was wrong with it by the waitress , post explanation i was then aproached by the "cook" who was very suprised that the food was bland watery and the rice was overcooked and tasteless too.
I was indeed offered a replacement but, this was not until everyone else had finished their food.
we were given a refund and a round of coffees but, i will not be using the Westbourne again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anone I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Westbourne also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to The Westbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing