We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“welcome for us and our dog”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Swansea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Swansea
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Swansea
Crowthorne
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“welcome for us and our dog”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

helpful staff and great welcome for out dog, so important. sad that steve has left but the new guys were very helpful, walk over to spar garage and they are also very friendly. enjoy the walk into swansea. for meeting up with family great space and also
good value breakfast.




  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 335annh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    285
    182
    53
    49
See reviews for
140
277
71
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Staying at the Ibis in Swansea and at first it was a good experience, on arrival the receptionist was really helpful and we checked in early. Friends of our were staying here too but had a problem with the lock on their door in that it wouldn't work. However they changed rooms without too much problem.


We went out for a few hours and arrived back early evening, after getting unchanged ready for a shower we realised we didn't have enough towels so rang reception. We were told to come down to reception to get some, I explained that we were undressed and I was told they would bring some up to our room, over 45 minutes later we were still waiting! I rang reception again and got a rude response telling us to come down and get them, I explained that we weren't dressed and were told they would bring towels up to us, the man told me that he wouldn't be bringing any up in an abrupt manner!

You have to pay for use of the very basic tv!!! There is no bin in the room either. Rubbish service, for the price you can get better!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie_Rossiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swansea hotels

Calne
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

1st room TV didn't work, 2nd room panel heater didn't work! After 1st night had to ask for bins to be emptied, tea & coffee to be replenished and soap to be filled. Does no-one check everything works?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My room for anyone interested was 133.

I arrived, was told there's a problem with the room lock so reception would have to let me in.

The room is basic, clean but I noticed lots of little things.
The Electric radiator was hanging at a funny angle as it was being held on by only one wall bracket, if you knocked it then there's not much to stop it coming off completely.
The Bathroom door handle was loose.
Window handle was totally loose,
The obligatory loose toilet seat.
Torn bed quilt.

Advertises Free wireless in room - 100% no signal at all - staff don't care.
Breakfast was very poor - powdered egg, cold bacon, hard over cooked sausages

Room Tip: I noticed a Premier Inn only 0.5 mile away, looks far better value and facilties
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatdadkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed at the Ibis Swansea for 2 nights. The web site is advertised as WiFi available in reception and all rooms. I was in room 35 and there was no WiFi available at all. When I enquires at reception, I was told, we know. WiFi was available in reception. The TV had no BBC channels available. The hotel is by a dual carraigeway. If you are facing the car park it may be ok, room 35 is on the dual carraigeway side and the noise of the passing vehicles are quite noticable in the room. It meant it was very hard to get a good nights sleep because of the noise. Would I stay here again, its a definite No

Room Tip: Get a room near reception and on the car park side (even number rooms on ground floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veksoe, Denmark
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Ibis Swansea is like any other Ibis: good value for your money.

My only complain about the hotel is the fact that they claim to have WiFi in the rooms, however, this is only the case if you have a room next to the reception!

Breakfast quality and selection was below par in my book.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the A483 are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We came as part of a group with a dinner/bed/breakfast package. The room was clean and spacious and I have seen much worse en-suite bathrooms in much more expensive hotels. The package-deal dinner, while fairly basic, was excellent value. What made the stay so pleasant was the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. And the most important thing for us was that we were greeted by bilingual signs and a warm and courteous reception in Welsh. It is high time that more hotels appreciated the economic value of the Welsh language in Wales: as Welsh-speakers we would be happy to return to somewhere that uses the language, and I'm sure that tourists will appreciate seeing that Wales actually has its own culture and language.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomCjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
2.4 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#11 of 24 in Swansea
678 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
933 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Swansea
887 reviews
0.4 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 24 in Swansea
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Swansea

Property: Ibis Swansea
Address: / a 483 Fabian Way, Swansea SA1 8LD, Wales (Formerly Ramada Encore Swansea Bay)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Swansea 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Swansea Bay hotel, featuring 99 modern rooms, a restaurant and a bar, is ideally situated in the heart of the SA1 waterfront development. The hotel is just five minutes from centre of the city of Swansea and its cafe and bar district, a ten to fifteen minutes drive to tourist attractions such as the Dylan Thomas Centre, the Grand Theatre, the National Maritime Museum as well as Gower Peninsula and its award winning beaches. Free car parking is available to hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Swansea Hotel Swansea
Ibis Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing