We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price - amazing”
Review of Ibis Swansea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Swansea
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“For the price - amazing”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had an extremely cheap, clean, basic but comfortable room with ensuite wet room, tv and tea/coffee facilities. Decent breakfast and parking included for £111 for two of us for 3 nights - no complaints. Staff were lovely too. Located just off the main road so woken by traffic at 7:30am but that didn't bother us and it was very easy to find!

If one is looking for a luxury hotel with a view and hoards of facilities this is not for you. We just wanted a place to sleep whilst walking on the Gower.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Jo Johnston

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the ibis Swansea. It is always a great pleasure to receive positive feedback and a perfect score.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as a great encouragement to all of my team as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Kate Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    299
    187
    54
    50
See reviews for
147
288
73
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Just stayed one night as on business in South Wales. As most Ibis hotels, this one was clean, comfortable and friendly.
Immediately opposite park & ride to Swansea (although the council insists you drive your car across the road; lunacy)
No problem staying with our pooch, again as most Ibis.
Breakfast was OK, no more. Topping up of bain maries was slow, but I suppose that meant food was freshly cooked. And you can pig out if that is your thing!
In my opinion too few staff to look after reception and serve/clear breakfast. Most tables had the remnants of someone elses breakfast on them when I arrived.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Mr Ron B

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis Swansea. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback both positive and negative.

I will share your comments with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of us as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Kate Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Ibis conforms to the flat-pack hotel format that now dot our major trunk roads. This is a budget hotel, clean and quiet and ideally situated for exploring Swansea on foot, as it is located opposite the park & ride. Rather annoyingly (and not the hotel’s fault) but you have to drive your car all of 100 yards into the park & ride to make use the park & ride. Do have a couple of niggles which will explain my rating. Firstly, for the evening meal I choose the pie, mash, peas and gravy option. Not bad but a bit of a nightmare to eat, as it comes microwave-hot with each item served separately in cylindrical containers without handles, which means that you have to negotiate how get the contents onto the plate from a cylindrical gravy boat, a cylindrical pot of mashed potatoes and you guessed it, a cylindrical pot of peas. Secondly and possibly unforgiveable for me was the beer. Tomos Watkins brew some nice beers, although in bottles they are not lagers and there for do not need to heavily chilled.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Boxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the ibis Swansea, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the ibis Swansea and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,

Kate Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Recently stayed in hotel as part of 2 couples in 2 rooms for a saturday night out in swansea. Cost £100 for two rooms which is pretty good. very clean nice shower bathroom area large bed sofa was a bit dirty but didnt use. Cant comment on food as ate out but did have couple of pints in bar while wasiting for friends to get ready. Reception ordered us a taxi into town which took 5 mins to arrive and 2 to 3 min journey cost a fiver. so pretty happy all round

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Lee,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis Swansea. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team and especially the housekeeping department. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Kate Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We booked 2 nights break in Swansea to explore the Gower peninsular, booking 2 days before our visit.
Initially we booked the break with Booking.com, but wanting more info on the hotel I looked at the Ibis site and noticed that the same dates at the same hotel was not only £16 cheaper on the Ibis site but this included breakfast , whereas the Booking. Com was room only basis, so naturally we cancelled Booking.com and booked direct with Ibis. The moral never accept Booking.com is cheaper..........
The hotel was easy to find being less than a mile from Swansea centre and very convenient for the Mumbles and the peninsular.
Check in was quick and easy, we arrived early but the very pleasant receptionist checked and confirmed our room was ready so we went straight to the pleasant functional room.
The bed was very comfortable and shower room was clean and well stocked.
Breakfast was well set out and very good selection. Scrambled eggs were a bit "rubbery" In texture, but everything was fairly edible.
Probably one downside is that restaurants etc, except for a McDonalds were some distance from the hotel.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, a pleasure to stay there

Room Tip: Front rooms are better than back as the rear accommodation overlooks a main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 999AWJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear both,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis Swansea. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Kate Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
2.4 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#12 of 22 in Swansea
702 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
985 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,586 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Swansea

Property: Ibis Swansea
Address: / a 483 Fabian Way, Swansea SA1 8LD, Wales (Formerly Ramada Encore Swansea Bay)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Swansea 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Swansea Bay hotel, featuring 99 modern rooms, a restaurant and a bar, is ideally situated in the heart of the SA1 waterfront development. The hotel is just five minutes from centre of the city of Swansea and its cafe and bar district, a ten to fifteen minutes drive to tourist attractions such as the Dylan Thomas Centre, the Grand Theatre, the National Maritime Museum as well as Gower Peninsula and its award winning beaches. Free car parking is available to hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Swansea Hotel Swansea
Ibis Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing