We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but no customer service skills!”
Review of Ibis Swansea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Swansea
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We visited this ibis hotel in May, as a large group, I have never stayed in an Ibis so wasn’t sure what to expect. The cleanliness of our room was to a very high standard and the room had everything we needed. However it was on the roadside and I did wake a number of times through the night because of this. The hotel has a large reception area, again very clean but not really a nice atmosphere.

What has really narked me is the service we received. The lady who checked us in was not welcoming, she did not smile or give us eye contact at any time and She did not point out directions for our room! The same again when we visited the bar area before going out, I found them quite rude and unprofessional. When we checked out the lady just said 'Thanks' again no personality or friendliness!

Overall we did not pay a lot to stop in this hotel and I would possibly stay at another Ibis but they really do need to train their team members to have some customer service skills, it’s a shame as the team here are letting the brand down!

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icklebackacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear icklebackacey,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the ibis Swansea.
I was very disappointed to hear that our customer service experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the ibis Swansea in the not too distant future.



Yours sincerely,

Kate Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 335annh
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Me with my family stay e d at Ibis Swansea for 2 nights. Rooms were neat and clean, sufficiently large, en suite toilet, TV, tea/coffee facilities. Parking next door. English Breakfast was generous with good number of choices, although just good not great. 24 hours open McDonalds at walkable distance provides good food alternative. Drive to city Centre is hardly 10 mins.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandarMSane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear MandarMSane,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis Swansea.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we continuously work towards improving the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Kate Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had an extremely cheap, clean, basic but comfortable room with ensuite wet room, tv and tea/coffee facilities. Decent breakfast and parking included for £111 for two of us for 3 nights - no complaints. Staff were lovely too. Located just off the main road so woken by traffic at 7:30am but that didn't bother us and it was very easy to find!

If one is looking for a luxury hotel with a view and hoards of facilities this is not for you. We just wanted a place to sleep whilst walking on the Gower.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Jo Johnston

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the ibis Swansea. It is always a great pleasure to receive positive feedback and a perfect score.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as a great encouragement to all of my team as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Kate Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Just stayed one night as on business in South Wales. As most Ibis hotels, this one was clean, comfortable and friendly.
Immediately opposite park & ride to Swansea (although the council insists you drive your car across the road; lunacy)
No problem staying with our pooch, again as most Ibis.
Breakfast was OK, no more. Topping up of bain maries was slow, but I suppose that meant food was freshly cooked. And you can pig out if that is your thing!
In my opinion too few staff to look after reception and serve/clear breakfast. Most tables had the remnants of someone elses breakfast on them when I arrived.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Mr Ron B

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis Swansea. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback both positive and negative.

I will share your comments with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of us as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Kate Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 April 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
2.4 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
750 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel
1.4 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,825 reviews
5.4 mi away
Travelodge Swansea M4
Travelodge Swansea M4
#8 of 22 in Swansea
241 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#7 of 22 in Swansea
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Swansea

Address: / a 483 Fabian Way, Swansea SA1 8LD, Wales (Formerly Ramada Encore Swansea Bay)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Swansea
Price Range: £35 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Swansea 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Swansea Bay hotel, featuring 99 modern rooms, a restaurant and a bar, is ideally situated in the heart of the SA1 waterfront development. The hotel is just five minutes from centre of the city of Swansea and its cafe and bar district, a ten to fifteen minutes drive to tourist attractions such as the Dylan Thomas Centre, the Grand Theatre, the National Maritime Museum as well as Gower Peninsula and its award winning beaches. Free car parking is available to hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Swansea Hotel Swansea
Ibis Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing