We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice resting place.”
Review of Ibis Swansea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Swansea
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed recently for one night on our way to the ferry to Ireland. The hotel was modern, bright and very comfortable we did not have the opportunity to use the restaurants or bar, however we can say that it appeared to be the usual high standard that you mostly get from Ibis. The staff were friendly, helpful and very polite. The location was good as it's located just behind the main road to the centre. Value for money was as usual excellent especially if you are a Le Club member and have accumulated the points to use towards your stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoseandHilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear JoseandHilary,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis Swansea.

I will share your valued comments with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope you will come back and visit us again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Kate Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Swansea
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 402 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Have stayed in Ibis hotels before, and although basic, are generally good value for money. This one was no exception, and we had a very good deal on a 3 night stay that included breakfast. I was pleasantly surprised when I discovered this included a full English breakfast, and as much as you wanted. We ate in the hotel each evening and found the food to be good, and very reasonably priced. Staff all friendly, and particular thanks to Michele and Anita, who made our stay very welcoming. Thanks ladies. We stayed mid week, so unable to comment on previous a previous review concerning noisy behaviour on a Fri/Sat night. Rooms were clean, as was reminder of hotel. Only 2 bath towels supplied. Would have been nice to have had a hand towel as well. Overall a very nice stay and a lot cheaper than some other hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank contrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Contrail,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis Swansea. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team especailly Anita and Michelle.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Kate Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Neville G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just stayed a weekend at the Ibis, price was excellent £80 for 2 nts. The location is OK it isnt near anything else apart from a McDonalds so need a car, Ate dinner at the restaurant on the 1st night, the food was edible thats about it they had run out of most things went for the margarhita pizza which was obviously frozen and just whacked in the oven, was still cold in the middle. Cant comment on breakfast as didnt have, the room was small but clean. Room cleaning was very late had to vacate our room late in the afternoon on the Sat so it could be cleaned, had been out all day and came back to it not clean. Very short of staff also only 1 person on the front desk on the Fri when we arrived was checked in my a member of the kitchen staff in her overalls lol. Also only 1 person on the bar most of the weekend took ages to get drinks. A couple of good points the bed was very comfy and the free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the car park not the road
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank straveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Straveller65

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the ibis Swansea, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Guest feedback gives us the valuable opportunity to see what we do well and what we do not so well. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrences.

Thank you once again for taking valuable time to share your experience and I hope in the future that you will come back and let us demonstrate that we do listen.

Yours sincerley

Kate Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Booked 2 rooms over the May bank holiday weekend. 1 room required disabled access.
Both rooms were clean and quiet and the room for disabled people was genuinely accessible.
Rooms had the basic essentials (TV, WIFI, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, phones and wake up calls). The latter were done by a real person at reception, rather than a recorded voice! Beds were comfortable.

Breakfast buffet choice was reasonable and the coffee was good.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Cleaning staff also did a good job, and the rooms were in a good state of repair.

Location is on the eastern edge of town, about a mile or so from the centre. So, not the most scenic views from your windows, but the city centre is about a mile away and the more scenic beaches on the Gower peninsular are a short drive to the west.

Great quality for a budget hotel. I can recommend it.

Room Tip: Children's activities and swimming pool do not exist at this hotel - so do not expect these amen...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Mr Chris B

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis Swansea. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Yours sincerely,

Kate Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

You never know what hotel's are like from one to another having stopped here this time it was clean and the room was quite spacious with good views, the staff were courteous & friendly and were available when you needed them. The food was excellent. We will definitely go there again

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Richard,

We are very delighted to receive your comments regarding your recent stay at ibis Swansea. It is always with great pleasure to receive positive feedback and such high scoring overall.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Kate Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
2.4 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#13 of 22 in Swansea
733 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel
5.4 mi away
Travelodge Swansea M4
Travelodge Swansea M4
#10 of 22 in Swansea
228 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#16 of 22 in Swansea
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Swansea

Address: / a 483 Fabian Way, Swansea SA1 8LD, Wales (Formerly Ramada Encore Swansea Bay)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range: £36 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Swansea 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Swansea Bay hotel, featuring 99 modern rooms, a restaurant and a bar, is ideally situated in the heart of the SA1 waterfront development. The hotel is just five minutes from centre of the city of Swansea and its cafe and bar district, a ten to fifteen minutes drive to tourist attractions such as the Dylan Thomas Centre, the Grand Theatre, the National Maritime Museum as well as Gower Peninsula and its award winning beaches. Free car parking is available to hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Swansea Hotel Swansea
Ibis Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing