We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Placed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Swansea
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Well Placed”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Situated opposite the main railway station this well placed hotel offers affordable accomodation within a short walking distance of all main attractions. Very clean and comfortable, rooms a little on the small side but this is probably reflected in the price. Would have liked to have seen coat hangers on the open hanging rail. The breakfast was brilliant, Plenty of choice and freshly cooked oif you went for the full English. Otherwise so much to choose from. There is a restaurant at the hotel but did not try it as there was a wine event in the main dining room and was not open. Car parking very close by so another plus and not overpriced. The bar adjacent to the lobby was handy but did somewhat smell of beer. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salsa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Swansea, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Salsa13,

Thank you for taking time to write this review, Great comments overall. I am sorry to hear there was no hangers in your room on arrival and also about the smell of beer in the bar area. Thank you for bringing these to my attention

Kind Regards
Laura Horan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    185
    102
    61
    47
See reviews for
79
206
55
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

I chose this hotel because I was arriving late by train and it is right opposite the railway station. The price was also excellent. Outside you have the impression of a previously grand hotel that has fallen on hard times. Inside it couldn't be more different.

My room was lovely. Clean, modern decor, comfy bed, hot shower, fluffy towels and reasonably quiet even though it overlooked the street.

Breakfast was excellent too. A good variety of cereals, pastries, fruit, yoghurt and juices plus a small number of hot meals. I chose creamy scrambled eggs (they were) and smoked salmon. Fabulous!

The staff were without exception extremely helpful and I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sp1000_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Swansea, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Sp1000_12

Thank you for taking take to write this review. Great comments to hear. Hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Laura Horan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We were looking for a hotel for one night, and did plenty of reseach before finally booking with the Grand.
We emailed them to enquire about the penthouse, as we like the idea of a bit of outside space (balcony) and were impressed to find it also had a hot tub (though in November not something we decided to use, though the water was warm, it was very rainy!) We booked well in advance and secured the booking by telephone, although the website mentions children are not allowed in the penthouse, they were happy to provide a zed bed for our three year old daughter, and even provided free breakfast for her.
The room was not as big as some rooms I have stayed in, however, it was ample for us, with a panoramic view over Swansea city, the balcony, and hot tub, a good sized tv, and mini bar, free mineral water, and robes and slippers for your stay (there was a notice saying if you took them home you would be charged, so dont go "borrowing" the robes, unless you are happy to pay) We also had a complimentry bottle of champagne, and roses, which was a lovely touch.
The bathroom had a shower, spa bath and a small range of complimentry showergels etc.
The receptionists were welcoming, and had already charged our card for the stay, so check-in took seconds, we took a lift to the top floor to the room.
Breakfast was served on the first floor, there was a great selection of fruits, cheese and breads and cereals, breakfast was cooked to order and they were happy to change items from the selection on the menu.
Any small points we considered mentionig in our review have now slipped our mind, we slept so well considering we were in the centre of a busy city, we would stay again if we were in the area, in the Penthouse of course!

Room Tip: penthouse suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HONESTEYISMYPOLICY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Swansea, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Youdontknowmeright,

Thank you taking time out to write such a wonderful review. Great to hear all the great comments.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Laura Horan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
188 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I stayed here 6 months or so ago, and was so pleased decided to stay here again even though there were cheaper rates at Premier Inn and the Dragon - this won my affection for character, convenience to station and great rooms.

This visit I arrived early and happy to just leave bag was delighted to be able to check into room before normal check in time, and was allocated an Exec 4th floor room. These are quite a bit bigger than the standard rooms and this one benefited from a small balcony. The room was perfect, very comfy and clean and bathroom top notch with brilliant shower and smartly furnished.

Reception and the bar staff were very welcoming and made me feel I'd made the right choice to stay here. I had come to see a show at the Grand Theatre - it is a bit of a trek to the theatre - but that goes with Swansea - the town is a bit drawn out.

Only negative was (again) breakfast - the selection was good, but waitress more interested in her smartphone than customers - seemed glued to this - not sure why someone does so much texting at 7 in the morning. The hot selection was OK - good portion, bacon a bit boiled. Cold selection was good and well worth the effort of getting up for. I get the impression that the manageress runs a tight ship in general - it's just unfortunate that one colleague lets the side down.

Check out spot on.

Definately would stay again - worth the bit extra over some hotels, just not quite there for the 5*.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for an Executive room - larger and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManxQueenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Swansea, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear ManxQueenies,

Thanks for taking time to write this review. Great to hear the comments about reception staff, and bedrooms. It is sad to see that the waitress glued to her mobile phone while you were at breakfast has let down the image of the hotel.I would be very grateful if you to contact me directly in ordered to investigate this further on the below email address as I am taking this issue very seriously as we have a strict policy in placed in the hotel as no staff should be using mobile phones while on duty in the workplace.

Please email me info@thegrandhotelswansea.com

Kind Regards
Laura Horan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Gwent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Staff are friendly and helpful.
Rooms are well apointed and clean but maintenance could be better - not all lights were working and the bathroom sink was very slow to empty.
Good choice for breakfast but did not match the description on the menu in the room. Full Welsh breakfast included bara lawr and rhython (laver bread and cockles).
Excellent location for the railway station.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marywales_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Swansea, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Marywales_54,

Thank you for writing this review. Thank you for the nice comments about staff, location and cleanness. I have taken your points on board about breakfast menu in the bedrooms and the maintenance issues.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Laura Horan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Our first visit around May 2012 had some confusion with our booking as we had an email from the hotel confirming all was in order as it was myself, my wife and young daughter - but on arrival there were issues. However, the staff did try their upmost to find a suitable room and also gave us a complimentary bottle of wine - hence why we decided to give the hotel another go this time.

Booked up this time and again had an email from the hotel informing us all would be ok. On arrival, the same staff and they kindly provided us with one of their new family rooms. Very professional again and we had a wonderful stay. The staff are excellent and also called us just a few minutes after arriving in our room to ensure all was ok. Fantastic and you don't receive such service at many places.

The hotel itself is just outside the station, so ideally placed. We sent to see the football and shuttle busses come outside the hotel to take you to the ground. Or if you have 30-40 mins, it is walkable as we did.

The hotel inside has a bar which can get a bit noisy but you don't hear this from your rooms. Our room itself was fantastic, more than enough for us three. Plenty of tea, coffee and toileteries. Breakfast also - excellent. The same chef as last time and they do provide a very tasty welsh breakfast, no complaints there.

The location I guess is away from areas such as mumbles and marina but if you are going to the liberty its ideal. We also found a nice chinese restuarant round the corner which is more authentic than lots of uk style chinese places.

All in all, a big thanks to the staff - and the Swans won also, so a great weekend.

Room Tip: If you are a family with a young child, check with the hotel before arriving to ensure the room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank telfordswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Swansea, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Dear Telfordswan,

Thanks for the taking time to write this review. Great to hear all the comments. I have passed these on to all the staff. Our location is great when heading to the Liberty Stadium and yes the Swans won.!!

Looking forward to welcoming you all back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Laura Horan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed for one night in this hotel whilst over from Ireland for a Munster rugby game against the Ospreys. The hotel is located right next to the train station and right in the middle of town. you can walk to wherever you want in town. If you are over for a game in the Liberty station a 4 quid taxi ride will get you there no problem with Taxis lined up outside the main train station entrance.
The Hotel:
The very first contact at the reception desk was extremely friendly, enthusiastic and helpful. We were looking for a no frills hotel for good value and we got more than we expected. The room was on the small-ish side but very well finished and very clean and tidy. We bumped into the owner of the hotel who is a pure gentleman and had a drink with him later on that night after returning from the game. He was genuinely friendly and stayed talking with us for quite sometime. Great bloke.
Slept very well. Beds are very comfortable and the room had air-con which we didn't need to use.The breakfast in the morning was very good indeed. You can even go for a traditional cockles and lava bread breakfast if that's your fancy but the normal breakfast was very tasty and there was lots of it.

It's a great spot to stay in. I'd definitely go back again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor facing out towards the Train station and didn't hear a single exter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Swansea, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Dear James F,

Thanks for writing this review. Thanks for all the great comments. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel when Munster are playing being from Munster myself.................Up Munster !!

Kind Regards
Laura Horan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.8 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#8 of 22 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.9 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Swansea

Property: The Grand Hotel Swansea
Address: Ivey Place | High Street, Swansea SA1 1NX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Swansea 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel, Swansea has been a landmark hotel since the 1930’s, largely due to its ideal location and unique design. In 2004 the hotel was subject to a complete re-furbishment and reopened as one of Swansea’s leading independent hotels, Great attention to detail was given to insure guests are offered the very best in accommodation services to include:Spacious rooms;Fully air conditioned;Ensuite to include power showers, bath and heated mirrors;Tea and coffee making facilities;Flat screen TV with DVD player;Iron and pressing board;And introducing our new ONLINE SHOPPING MALLAs well as our new ONLINE CONCIERGE.Our 4 executive rooms, and 2 Penthouses offer a range of Super King and Queen Beds, private balconies and jacuzzi baths, with the Penthouses boasting South Wales only roof top hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swansea Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing