We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Really good stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

A warm welcome from Reception with all options clearly explained to us, a nice clean, spacious with not much of a view but that didn't worry us. Tea and coffee in the room. We didn't plan to have breakfast but we had the Continental option - at £5.90 this was excellent value and if we stay in a Premier Inn I will definitely have this again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our clean, comfortable room, breakfast and helpful team here met your expectations. We value all feedback that we receive from our guests and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    246
    85
    34
    33
See reviews for
175
227
39
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington spa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I have stayed here before, it is in the heart of Swansea's bars and restaurants - Wednesday night is student night - so very busy in some bars. My room was at the back of the hotel and there was no noise from outside, despite the revellers in Wind Street.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Swansea City Centre Premier Inn. Premier Inn endeavour all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment. I'm glad to hear you had no noise issues during your stay with us. We always try to allocate guests as best we can and take into consideration our location in order to eliminate potential noise issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The shower was powerful and held a steady temperature. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

We had a room not facing onto Wind Street but there was a flat roof with extractor fans on top of it a floor or so below our room. So, there was a gentle pulsating hum but it was constant and didn't cause us any problems sleeping.

Not the cheapest hotel of this quality and style in the Swansea area but the price difference is easily made up for by the very central location.

Room Tip: Go for third floor facing away from Wind Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredd111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hello,

Thanks for your review. I'm Glad you experienced no problems with us and thought it was good value for money.

We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This hotle was clean and comfy prime location wright in the middle of the town ther is several food places In the Same building.
I would recommend this hotel if you are wanting to go to Swansea town or market

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooklynk_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hi,

Thanks for your review. I'm glad you made good use of our very central location and experienced no problems.

We hope to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saundersfoot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Very happy with standard of room and service. Our stay was a Sunday night so had a good night sleep as Wind Street was quiet. It would probably have been different if we stayed on a Friday or Saturday night. But that is the price you pay for such a central location amongst all the bars, restaurants and clubs in Swansea.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hello,

Thanks very much for your kind review. Don't be scared off by the weekend however, it's good fun in Swansea!

Hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at the Premier Inn last weekend. I've stayed at many Premier Inns, which have varying ratings (as you can see from my reviews) so here are my thoughts on the Swansea City Centre hotel.

Firstly we stayed for the whole weekend, seeing Arsenal claim three points at the Libery Stadium in the process. The hotel is located perfectly if you fancy hitting Wind Street during the weekend, but again as from the other reviews this is a gift and a curse. We stayed in room 204 which backs onto two or three air conditioning units, so expect a hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm droning through the windows all night if this is your room.

In terms of the room itself we were disappointed. Whenever I've stayed in a Premier Inn twin room elsewhere there have been two double beds, this room had a double bed and a sofa bed which meant one of us was going to draw the short straw and be uncomfortable. Not good enough really! Shower was OK, bathroom was clean and functional but we'll get onto the real bathroom problem later.

We had a few issues during the weekend. Firstly on the Friday the vent in the bathroom wouldn't shut up when we went to bed and stayed on for a number of hours. We phoned reception and nobody answered, so had to put up with this and only got a couple of hours sleep. We mentioned this to the cleaning staff in passing the next day and this was sorted the next day.

On the Saturday night we had a set of drunk lads outside the room, banging the door, shouting and eventually punching each other. Again called down to reception but no response. This took an hour to sort and I'm not even sure security sorted it, I think they eventually found their rooms and went to sleep! Again a disturbed night.

So if you are after a functional stay near the city centre and are prepared to put up with the noise, this hotel is for you. I completely forgot about the good night guarantee and wasn't asked how my night was on Sunday at checkout so have retrospectively written to Premier Inn to claim my money back for these two nights of broken sleep.

I've classed it as "Average" as the room itself was fine, the sleep was bad but I think I would stay here again if travelling for the football. For anything else I would stay somewhere well away from Wind Street.

Unfortunately not a particularly good review but if you have found it helpful please click "Thanks"!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank obduro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hi there,

Thanks for your interesting and fair review of the Premier Inn Swansea City Centre. With regards to your room allocation, I'm very sorry to hear of your noise problems. The units you speak of do cause us the occasional issue which we try to avoid as must as possible.

In terms of the bed set up. You will find a lot of Premier Inn hotels have this particular set up. As the rooms are set to sleep families, we don't have the option of two double beds (also they wouldn't fit very well!) This is not uncommon however, so you have been lucky with your previous Premier Inn's!

We do try our very best with internal noise problems. This is a big area that we try to tackle as we realise it can be a big issue in our hotel. Security is pressent for this very purpose as well as half hourly (sometimes more) floor walks to get everyone back into their rooms as quietly as possible. We strive to make everyone aware that we do not take these problems lighlty and care very much about our guests getting a great nights sleep.

I hope you have already been contacted, if not, please feel free to call us whenever possible.
Hopefully for your next stay you won't experience these problems and that Swansea FC will have better luck!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgend
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I have recently stayed here for one night and it was a very comfortable relaxing night.It was a typical Premier Inn,Nice size room and comfortable bed.I never eat in Premier Inns as I find the food pricey but that's the same in all of them.Even though it is situated on a busy road with lots of bars I did not experience any noise.Definitely worth the £29 I paid for the night and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickp68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hello,

Glad to see you got one of our brilliant £29 offers and that you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry to hear that you find Premier Inn meals pricey, this particular Premier Inn will soon be undergoing a restaurant refurb which we are very excited about, so hopefully you can try out our new menu and see if you prefer!

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#14 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
Address: 42 Wind Street | The City Gates, Swansea SA1 1EE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Swansea
#3 Family Hotel in Swansea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Swansea, right beside Swansea Market and the bars and bright lights of Wind Street and a stone throw away from the Swansea marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel Swansea
Travel Lodge Swansea
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing