We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff that go all out to help”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Staff that go all out to help”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We too stayed over the weekend of the swimming at the Welsh National Pool. I stayed on the Friday night and whilst it was busy outside and heavily populated with police on the main street, we did get a full night's uninterrupted sleep. Our room was on the 3rd floor and at the back of the hotel so maybe that helped.
The check in guy was very friendly and helpful and, at breakfast the following morning the staff couldn't have been more helpful. When asked if they had any gluten free bread they said they didn't but the Manager dashed out and bought some so that I could have toast - it was great service and everyone couldn't have been friendlier - the best customer service I have experienced at a Premier Inn anywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel if you want a quieter night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip A, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and good to hear you had uninterrupted sleep. Your kind comments regarding staff service have been passed on to the team. Thank you. We hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    256
    88
    36
    33
See reviews for
183
240
41
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here recently for an event at the Welsh National Pool. The room was what we expected from a Premier Inn -- clean, comfortable, with plenty of room and a good climate control system working. It was a bit surprising to find only one set of towels in the room booked for two people. Since we were there for a swimming event, we had towels with us, and were assured that if we required additional room towels, we only needed to ask, so no real problem there. The location was convenient to a variety of restaurants and the parking fee was reasonable.

The real problem was with the other guests and the local nightlife. On the Friday night, some sort of fight broke out right under our window. It took some time to subdue, though when we had gone out for dinner, there were no less than 6 police officers already stationed in the 500m or so around the hotel by 8:00 pm. On the Saturday night, the police presence was increased and most restaurants nearby had bouncers on the doors by 7:00 pm. That night, our sleep was interrupted constantly between 1:00 am and 4:00 am, primarily by drunk guests running along the corridors and shouting at each other. There was no phone in the room, and by the time we found the card with the front desk phone number, the noisy guests were in their rooms. They came out again half an hour later, and then more noisy guests continued to make noise for another couple hours. As a result, we were both exhausted the next morning.

The staff at reception were very apologetic and did refund us for a night's stay. I would suggest that the security staff checking names at the front desk after 9:00 pm would be better served to patrol the corridors to ensure noisy drunken guests do not disturb those of us who needed to sleep.

Room Tip: If you need a good night's sleep, try a different location (apparently the Premier Inn Waterfron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip A, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. On the weekend in question, there were a number of drunken related incidents which unfortunately impacted on our guests. Despite our best efforts and constant monitoring of the hotel corridors, there were guests who had their sleep interrupted and for this we apologise. Drunk, noisy, disruptive people who have no regard for other guests are not tolerated. On this occasion, we failed in our duty to ensure a good night's sleep. Please accept our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had a swimming competition at the Welsh National Swimming pool just three miles away. We always usually choose Premier Inns as we can get reliable and good quality sleep.

The hotel is located adjacent to a NCP car park and a street full of pubs.

Thursday night was good. There was a small amount of noise outside but with the windows closed (and air-con on!) it's okay. However, Friday and Saturday night was poor as between 1 and 3 am a few drunk guests decided it would be fun to run up and down the corridor and have long conversations. For some odd reason, people walking in the corridor appears quite loud. There is security on the door from 11pm and only named guests are permitted access after that. Had we known about these things before hand, alarm bells would have made us booked further away. We should have done more research on the area as people tend to use this hotel for drunk nights out.

We were refunded for 1 night of the disturbance. However, this only made some comfort as we had to pull out of the final day's competition due to exhaustion from lack of sleep.

So in summary, if you really need a good sleep and are not here to party then avoid this particular Premier Inn especially from Friday night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip A, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are so sorry to hear that you had a bad stay with us. Our location does unfortunately attract some partygoers at the weekend which is why we have door staff on a Friday and Saturday night to minimise noise and disruption. The corridors are constantly monitored by staff throughout the night to reduce noise but on this occasion we failed in our promise to guarantee a good night's sleep. Please accept our sincere apologies and thank you again for your feedback, it is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have stayed at this Premier Inn several times. Staff are great and the central position makes it easy to get to the shops. The only draw back on this visit was the noise from a party young persons went on into the night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip A, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your review John. Nice to hear you are regular guests, thank you for your kind words. Our location does attract some partygoers at the weekend and we apologise for the inconvenience they caused you on this occasion. We conduct regular corridor checks throughout the night to minimise potential noise. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed for two nights whilst attending a show at The Liberty Stadium. Standard Premier Inn with standard Premier Inn decor and in a great location for the bars and restaurants of Wind Street. Despite its very central location, I had no problem with noise, due in part to the receptionist (whose name was Charley if I remember correctly) taking the trouble to locate the quietest room of those available when we arrived. All of the other staff were very good too, and the restaurant has had a bit of a revamp since we stayed here about a year ago. Breakfast is now cooked to order and much better than the buffet style they had last year.

Our stay included a Wednesday which is student night, with very cheap drinks in many of the bars. Despite being rather older than most of the students, we had a great time with the very friendly locals in the bars of Wind Street, and this was an excellent base from which to explore them (and stagger back to our beds).

Will certainly be staying there again when next in Swansea.

Room Tip: Probably best to go for one at the rear to avoid any possible noise from the bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip A, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review Gary. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and good to hear that Charley found you a nice quiet room on a busy "student night". Your lovely comments will be passed on to the team. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights last weekend and even though we arrived at nearly midnight after being delayed on motorways, the staff were welcoming and friendly (they had even phoned me to check we were ok and on the way). The room was large and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was fine and the shower was excellent. Although it is right in the centre and overlooks a main road, there was no noise from outside, but we were disturbed in the early hours by some other guests who had obviously been sampling the local beverages, this is probably par for the course given its location.
Breakfasts were ok, but there was sometimes a wait for new batches of bacon / sausages etc. It was buffet service. The staff at breakfast were extremely friendly and helpful.
Our only gripe was with the evening meal on Saturday. There was only one other table occupied and the restaurant is obviously not one of the hotel's priorities. Our daughter has a wheat and gluten allergy and this seemed to cause real problems. The waiter said he had never been asked for a gluten free menu in all his time there and the items on the menu she could eat were few and far between as apparently they do not buy in fresh produce to be cooked from scratch and almost everything apart from steak and salad is frozen, so they could not even do her chips or mash! Having said that, again they were very helpful and did her corn on the cob instead and the steaks were very good and cooked just right for each of us.
We would return here if our first choice of Swansea Waterside were fully booked again as the staff were all so friendly and helpful, but we might choose to eat out for dinner when our daughter is with us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here with a friend because we were going out to celebrate the end of our exams on Wind Street! Everything was amazing, staff were really friendly, and check-in was very quick and efficient. The room was a lovely size with a very comfortable bed, very clean bathroom and good facilities such as a hairdryer and kettle. Considering it was a Wednesday night on Wind Street the room was very quiet and we slept really well! Perfect location, really good value, would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip A, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review Jess. We hope you enjoyed your "End of exams celebration". We're glad you had a great stay and thank you very much for your kind comments. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
985 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#10 of 22 in Swansea
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel
0.7 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,586 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#5 of 22 in Swansea
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
Address: 42 Wind Street | The City Gates, Swansea SA1 1EE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Swansea
#1 Best Value Hotel in Swansea
#3 Family Hotel in Swansea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Swansea, right beside Swansea Market and the bars and bright lights of Wind Street and a stone throw away from the Swansea marina. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel Swansea
Travel Lodge Swansea
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing