We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gower Golf Club
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The room was very tired and could have done with some upgrading. The furniture was very worn and the towels had threads hanging off them. However, the views from the room and the breakfast were superb.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sadvad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    64
    37
    30
    21
See reviews for
55
82
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We have just returned from The Gower Golf club after our third visit. As usual our stay was most enjoyable. Great course, great staff and great food. We had lots of rain but were able to get four rounds of golf in. I suggest to those who have not been to The Gower to get down there as soon as you can. You will not regret it!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are okay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Needed to find a one night stay in Swansea at the last minute, when doing a Search, came across Gower Golf Club. Know the area very well and so, were really pleased to see availability at this venue and even more delighted with the room being discounted ( this was all very last minute!!!!). Unfortunately we were unable to make the 8 o'clock deadline for check in. Phoned ahead and explained. This was not a problem at all, as we were told that someone would be available until the bar closed. On arrival we were instantly made to feel very welcome as if we had been regular guest for years! The room was, pleasant and comfortable. A fantastic nights sleep was had as there was absolute silence through the night, no traffic and no noise from other guests. In the morning we awoke to the most spectacular view right across the Loughor Estuary. Breakfast was served in the main lounge, a super breakfast! We chatted with the extremely friendly staff, for whom nothing was too much trouble. We will certainly visit this venue again. The rooms are not the most luxurious, they are functional and clean, Wi Fi is quick, bed comfortable, breakfast excellent and staff really friendly and extremely helpful. A great find at a great price right on the edge of Gower. We loved it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loobs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Just returned from Gower Golf Club after a very nice stay and play Breakfast most enjoyable and the dinner First class All staff very helpful and Friendly even the handyman who we found very helpful and chatty I would recommend any golfers to play the course we found it very challenging with some surprise holes Could not play today weather very foggy but Adrian owner said we could return and play again

Room Tip: What u expect from local golf club
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonzo186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We have just returned from a 2night stay at Gower Golf Cub and had a lovely relaxing stay. The area is very picturesque with views of the estuary and is very convenient for access to the beautiful Gower beaches.
We sampled their Sunday lunch which was delicious[especially the ginger sponge pudding made by Anne] Breakfast and dinner were also good. Owner and staff very friendly and accommodating and we will certainly use them again if in that area. We booked the deal through Groupon for a very good price but feel it is still good value at the normal rate.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Just returned from the gower golf club, stayed for the. 1 night, check in was quick shown to the room which was clean and tidy but cold as the heating was off, soon warmed up though, had an evening meal which was nice but not a lot of choice, had a quiet drink as we we the only ones in the bar, breakfast fine. Overall it was okay but as it's a golf club it would suit a golfer on a weekend away trip

Room Tip: Stayed in room 10 nice and clean, no remote for TV or milk to go with tea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob1obe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Gower golf club and from the moment we got there we were made to feel most unwelcome. As a party of 16 we booked our trip 8 months in advance. On our arrival we were asked what time we wanted to eat in the evening, we said a time and we had o wait over an hour for our meals which were pre ordered. This happened on out second night also. We were asked if we could have a preset menu as there was a function on in the next room and we said yes so as to speed things up as we had a taxi booked to go to Swansea but it didn't work. Over an hour after our food was due the taxi turned up so we had to go without food. Bearing in mind this was a golfing holiday and we booked so far in advance, to top our trip off we were told on our last day that out tee times had been double booked and they had arranged a charity golf day and that the course was unavailable.
On the morning of our last day we went down for breakfast only to find that there was nothing set up in the restaurant. There were no tablecloths on the tables, chairs were stacked up against the wall, no tea, coffee, nothing. They drafted in the cleaner to help and she was rushing around like an idiot, we all felt really sorry for her.
We would never go back nor would we advise anyone else to go there.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank geoffevans86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swansea hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
5.4 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
5.4 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
6.2 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
4.8 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gower Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gower Golf Club

Property: The Gower Golf Club
Address: Cefn Goleu | Three Crosses, Swansea SA4 3HS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gower Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gower Golf Club occupies a commanding location high above the Loughor Estuary on the North side of Gower Peninsula. Our rooms are located in 2 traditional stone barns and while we have no formal reception area,you can be assured a warm welcome by all our staff. We welcome golfers holidaymakers walkers and cyclists and business travellers.We take pride in our undisturbed sleep,comfortable beds and generous showers. We are ideally located for access to M4, Swansea City Centre, Gower Peninsula, Round Wales Cycle Path and the local railway station is just 5 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gower Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gower Golf Club Hotel Swansea
Gower Hotel Swansea
The Gower Golf Club Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing