We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Carlton Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Swansea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Southampton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

First member of staff we met was clearly tired of working here.
There was thick dust in places like the shelf of the bedside cabinet.
Although the website states that the restaurant opens for lunch and dinner as required, there was no sign of a menu.
Breakfast was average.
Hope to find somewhere nicer for our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkLilly1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    23
    12
    9
    8
See reviews for
12
36
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Recently stayed here with my partner at the beginning of a weekend break. Hotel was simple but nice, with friendly staff who took the time to look up travel details for us. Ideal location if you want to begin a walk around the Gower from Mumbles - the path along the waterfront is just across the road. Good value, clean and a decent cooked breakfast in the morning. Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here as a base to explore the Gower. If you're looking for just a good, simple hotel that is reasonably priced, then I would recommend this place. The staff were really nice and accommodating. We were there on a Sunday when the tourist office was closed, and they took the time to look some stuff up for us, which was very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tawny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

With a two minutes walk to the beach, this budget hotel offers a full cooked breakfast, , free view tv , , friendly staff and is next door to a Chinese takeaway.
Some rooms have a sea view. A limited library is also available as is a small lounge area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My husband is undergoing cancer treatment at Singleton so we decided to take a break from travelling daily. We booked a 5 night stay. We were allocated room 6 which is quite a climb up narrow stairs to the room. The room was spaceous but could do with an up-date. The staff did try to get the TV to work. It would be easy to fix if the ariel had some booster fitted to get a stronger signal. The whole hotel needs a good clean and re-vamp. The staff are very good and the breakfast adequate.

Room Tip: Re-vamp the entire hotel. Clients deserve a little more comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

It was clean and tidy although the rooms were a little tired. staff were friendly and helpful, it has very good views of the bay but my room was at the rear with no view at all! The bar was a welcome sight and breakfast was very nice indeed!
Do not confuse it with the other Carlton which is situated further away (not far past the prison)i stopped there in error and wow! it is to be avoided!
the owners are changing their name soon to the Mumbles hotel because of this confusion.
there are nice r hotels near by but value for money it was good/

Room Tip: front rooms have the views...rear rooms are boring
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inblan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2012

After reading the reviews on here I was extreamly worried about staying here but was presently surprised.

We stayed for a weekend (had 2 rooms there was 3 of us) our plan was just to stay here to go out and get drunk in Swansea. The hotel was clean and tidy could do with a little modernisation but is well equipped was very clean with the beds made daily and the room cleaned.

The manager was lovely very friendly and offered advise on where to go.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drcoates1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.0 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
974 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#5 of 22 in Swansea
749 reviews
4.5 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: 358 Oystermouth Road | West Glamorgan, Swansea SA1 3UL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing