We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standards declining” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Swansea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Hotel Swansea
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Swansea
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Standards declining”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times before and found it comfortable. However, on this last occasion, I felt the standards of the hotel had gone down considerably. Although there was salad on the menu, it was not very fresh and I could not find a vegetable on the hot menu that had not been fried. When it came to going to bed, I pulled back the covers to find it looked like the bed had been slept in and the sheets not changed. To be fair to the hotel, when is rang down to complain, a manager came up, examined the bed and changed the bedding and the sheets. Removal of the pillow cases showed less than savoury pillow cases. The experience was further marred by the fact that I had bought a reusable Starbucks travelling mug which I left in the bathroom. When I came back in the evening, it was gone. I reported it to the desk who rang housekeeping but, no, they hadn't seen it. Not a word of apology from the hotel, no offer to replace it, and no offer to re-in meeting, no offer to refund me.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller0014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    482
    287
    96
    56
See reviews for
237
596
52
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elsenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

6 of us in Swansea for a golf trip -great base for some very good courses. Only had the breakfast ,but there was an excellent choice, rooms excellent and the bar staff were very obliging. Will return!

Room Tip: Room 217 overlooks a roof--go higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyfrank44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a week ago with my fiancee and we where planning on having a wedding reception here as it's local and we are members of the village gym etc however we stayed a night and we where woken up by someone knocking the door at 3 am we investigated further and there was no one there I was then advised it was probably a hen party!
The room was a disabled room 218 with stains all over the carpet and dust on bed sheets also public hair in the shower and toilet area !!!! Could not believe it I would love to know how such an established hotel company like de vere can provide such low hospitality !!!! I'm in the army and having come back from ops to this I told my fiancee she would of found it cleaner on base !

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidjenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I have been staying here for over a month on business and it has been a pleasure. Not something I usually associate with business's travel.

The staff are so friendly and helpful, really can not do enough for you.

Biggest selling point of the hotel is the gym facilities.

Everything you need and all included when you stay at the hotel

The food is in the restaurant is varied. I didn't eat here every night. But when I did. It was enjoyable and they were happy to cater to my odd conceptions.

The restaurants staff were just lovely! Great service!


Rooms are clean and spacious. With fresh towels daily. Comfy beds, black out curtains, although I did have one room located next to the floor entrance doors did get a little noisy.

GreAt value for money. Best overall hotel in the area having stayed at most.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SDMReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at The a Village for 1 night midweek on business. The hotel is located outside the city centre on a new leisure, business and residential development. So unless you look forward to a brisk walk after a night out in the city, a taxi back from the city centre is probably preferable.

There is a large car park adjacent to the hotel so parking wasn't an issue and the hotel wasn't difficult to find.

Check in to the hotel went fine, the receptionist was friendly and the room was a decent size with a king size bed.

However, you could see wear and tear was taking its toll on the fixtures and fittings including small amounts of mould around the bath.

Breakfast the following morning was fine, plenty of room in the restaurant and a decent selection of food with friendly staff. Check out was fine too.

So for a one night stay on business at a decent price no complaints.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AggyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

booked the village as we have stayed before last minute deal a bit pricey but enjoyed our last stay the room was clean and tidy i don't know why but it just didn't seem as well kept or as exclusive as it used to be signs everywhere for this cabaret act or another breakfast as usual great hot help yourself staff as always first rate.

Room Tip: don't stay above front doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stryker710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

we recently stayed for 3 nights in a family room which was quite small, we struggled to get cases past the end of the put up bed. Room was fairly clean however cracks in bathroom tiles and dirt on the back of toilet were a bit off putting! Breakfast was ok and staff helpful especially a young man named jonathan who couldnt do enough to help. our room was hot during the night but if we opened the window we just got noise from the bar below so wouldnt recommend if you want a good sleep, ive stayed in holiday inns and premier inns before and this hotel needs a lot of work before it reaches there standards!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beth l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
1.0 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
1.0 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#15 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Swansea

Property: Village Hotel Swansea
Address: (Off Fabian Way Langdon Road | SA1 Waterfront, Swansea SA1 8QY, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Swansea)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Swansea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Swansea offers the perfect combination of breathtaking views and vibrant city life. Swansea is nestled between Cardiff and the more tranquil areas of the West Wales coast. It is also within easy reach of the Brecon Beacons National Park, St David's and Tenby. Another great day trip is to be had enjoying the scenic views and beaches of the spectacular Gower Peninsula. Village Hotel Swansea has 114 air-conditioned bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Village Hotel Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Swansea Hotel Swansea
Swansea Village Hotel
Village Hotel Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing