We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Village Hotel Swansea
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Not bad but . . .”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Not a bad hotel and you won't hate it. My poor night's sleep had more to do with the teenagers slamming each other's doors than anything else.

There is a very strong smell of chlorine throughout the hotel due to the design of the fire escape going poolside. This does also allow hot air up to the rooms meaning that I had to put the room aircon on, something that I wouldn't normally consider necessity. The noise didn't help my sleep either.

The kitchen closes at 9:30, a bit early and the restaurant is one of the Vinny Vitos that I don't even like that much so missing dinner wasn't a hardship and there are other places to eat close by. At least it isn't a Bucca Di Beppo, I can't state how much I dislike them.

Pool is pretty good and is open till 10 without much effort taken to get you removed.


Staff are a good lot.

It is a smaller village and my stay was marred by the other guests and the hotel design. I didn't hate it but I doubt I shall use it again.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandAssessEnergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, General Manager at Village Hotel Swansea, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the constructive review. We will learn from this feedback and aim to develop our guest experience.

We hope you visit again soon.

Best Wishes, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    570
    339
    110
    62
See reviews for
301
738
63
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
1,289 reviews
313 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,269 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just stayed a night here but was happy with the hotel. The room was large and very clean. Staff were friendly. The bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Location is nice. I would recommend it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank champkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, General Manager at Village Hotel Swansea, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Champkis

Thanks for the great review regarding your recent stay with us here at Village Urban Resort Swansea! We are really happy that you had a great stay, and experienced our breakfast with the fantastic choice we have to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Many Thanks
Mark McMahon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

It was our first holiday with the baby and we were satisfied by the amenities provided by the hotel. We asked for the cot, but it came without any bedding, when we called reception they said they don't provide beddings for cot ( which was bit strange, they should inform us earlier) but they gave us some bedsheets. Apart from this everything was good. They have a nice pool and restaurants. The food was nice. The location is really good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veenuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, General Manager at Village Hotel Swansea, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Veenuja,

Many thanks for your review. We are thrilled to see you found the hotel to be in an excellent location and enjoyed the facilities we have to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

V.Kind Regards
Mark McMahon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights with our 15 month old grandchild. The facilities were excellent, the attitude of the staff was fantastic whatever the management are doing they should pass it on to other chains. In our original room the towel rail wasn't working, not normally a problem but with the torrential rain we need to dry some clothes. They sent a 'man that can' immediately but unfortunately he couldn't . The next thing we were offered an alternative room which happened to be an upgrade, which was really good as the hotel was extremely busy. Although busy we didn't seem to notice.
The pool was good and they even had a number of children's toys out on the Sunday evening. The hotel is a short walk from the town centre and a short drive from the beaches .
The only gripe I have as with all hotels is that the food and drink can be a bit on the expensive side, but I guess we have to live with that. Would stay there again and other hotels in the chain.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, General Manager at Village Hotel Swansea, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Mark D,

Many thanks for the great review you have provided about your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

V.Kind Regards
Mark McMahon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed on two occasions on business in May and found I had mixed feelings for the Village.
The business rooms were good and all helped by Marius who couldn't do enough.
The hotel is looking a bit tired though. Too many areas look scuffed and in need of a good lick of paint.
Staff are generally helpful and pleasant but the restaurant isn't brilliant. Breakfast has a good choice of food but the cooked items were only just about warm and sit under heated lamps for too long. We didn't use the main restauarant as the menu just didn't look interesting enough to stay in for.....so we didn't. The pub grub was mediocre and they must sell hundreds of chicken wings !!
The room was of a generous size but the air con seemed to need a good clear out as each time I used it the air ponged badly. My rooms were clean and free wi-fi is very good.
Overall I wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silversurfer020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have been on a long term contract and have been staying at The Village during the week for 6 months- the hotel is ideally situated if you fancy a stroll through to the main attraction, the rooms are comfortable and clean and the staff are excellent.
They have a large, very good bar which always shows the latest sports- and when the weather is good enough (not often) then the bar spreads out into the sunshine, and a good indicator of its popularity is the number of locals frequenting it.
The breakfast fare is very good indeed, and the food in the bar and restaurant is always well prepared.
There is also the added benefit of an OUTSTANDING gym and indoor swimming pool- free for hotel guests

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front of the hotel (even numbers) and high up offer the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martindhogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proud to be British
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

First time in a Village Urban Resort hotel and I am not sure what to make of it. Modernistic approach I suppose, staff seem very laid back, uniform is minimal or maybe I should say relaxed but that doesn't make it bad. Staff were friendly well mannered and helpful, rooms were comfortable and clean with all conveniences. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free use of Leisure facilities, which are excellent, 25m heated pool, spa, sauna, fitness zone, cardio zone etc.
Food wise I was not impressed with the menu in the main restaurant (Vinny & Vito's) and the food I did order was overcooked to burnt, breakfast was a little better but only just. There is however a better, (pub grub) selection available in the Victory Pub & Kitchen. I do not want to appear negative about this hotel, some aspects were spot on others left a lot to be desired. I would say it was aimed at the younger business set and as such not for me but who knows maybe next time it will bowl me over.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longhair9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
1.1 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
2.4 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#11 of 22 in Swansea
718 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
773 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#16 of 22 in Swansea
623 reviews
0.7 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#8 of 22 in Swansea
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Swansea

Property: Village Hotel Swansea
Address: (Off Fabian Way Langdon Road | SA1 Waterfront, Swansea SA1 8QY, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Swansea)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Swansea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Swansea offers the perfect combination of breathtaking views and vibrant city life. Swansea is nestled between Cardiff and the more tranquil areas of the West Wales coast. It is also within easy reach of the Brecon Beacons National Park, St David's and Tenby. Another great day trip is to be had enjoying the scenic views and beaches of the spectacular Gower Peninsula. Village Hotel Swansea has 114 air-conditioned bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Village Hotel Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Swansea Hotel Swansea
Swansea Village Hotel
Village Hotel Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing