We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Hotel - Provided you dont like sitting outside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Swansea
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Reasonable Hotel - Provided you dont like sitting outside”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Quite a good hotel, the rooms are clean and spacious and the facilities good. Nice dining area and the food was very good. Staff were helpful and friendly and overall the whole experience was good, probably one of the better hotels in this area. It's location is reasonable as it is only a short (2 miles) to great beaches (walkable), close to Swansea night life but far enough away so as not to be noisy. A short walk to a mini late night supermarket provides for all tastes and an ATM.
There is a seating / dining area outside BUT two major problems...One is that fact that the hotel allows customers to smoke in this area and considering it is the only seating area outside, it's a bit much and unhealthy to expect customers to sit with people inconsiderately blowing smoke in your face whilst you are trying to enjoy a nice drink or meal and the other problem is the fact that your share your seating area with a car park, despite the fact that the hotel is in a very spacious area and this problem could easily be rectified.
The hotel do not appear to have any concerns with their customers inhaling carbon monoxide or nicotine smoke on their grounds. Wake up Village it's not good enough.

Room Tip: Top Floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian10117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, General Manager at Village Hotel Swansea, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for the kind remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the Hotels facilities. We do understand your concerns and we welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better. Best wishes, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    555
    330
    105
    60
See reviews for
282
704
62
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed on a Saturday and Sunday night; all great but make sure you don't dawdle on Monday morning for breakfast. It all winds down quite quickly in the last half an hour so getting a cooked breakfast is tricky and all the pastries have pretty much gone. Very comfy bed and the staff went the extra mike to give us room service on the bar after the bar stopped serving food to non-residents. Good location with free parking is a bonus.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doodific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, General Manager at Village Hotel Swansea, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your kind comments, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The staff are efficient and the rooms a good size. There is a Starbucks on site which means that if you don't like cooked or large breakfasts you have the option of reasonable coffee and croissants or pastries. If you like swimming or the gym then these facilities are available.
Now the downsides.
1. The grouting in the shower and the area by the shower screen needed a good clean. 2.There was a hole in the bedroom carpet and wearing to the floor underneath it. 3. The sofa was stained.4.The room was far too hot and the air con did nothing but make noise. 5. There was loud thumping music reverberating through the room early and late ( I was told that this was probably music from the gym and that they would be asked to turn it down. Possibly the source of the heat as well). 6. The décor of the room was dismal. 7. The lobby is dark and the furniture threadbare and grubby. This area gets a lot of traffic with the gym, the pub, Starbucks and the many organised parties that seemed to be there. 8.The hotel is a bit far out from the center and feels like it is in an industrial wasteland, although this does mean that there is ample parking. 9. Finally the hotel is not cheap

Room Tip: Room 221 is hot and noisy and I suspect that this is the case for most if not all of the odd numbers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francis161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, General Manager at Village Hotel Swansea, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest, We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. As a result of this feedback we are committed to rectifying the issues raised (especially the bedroom). We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here for one night. Easy to get to and very large car park. Welcoming receptionist who was helpful, outlining all functions of hotel. Room was spacious ...... Large double bed and sofa, but very very warm at night, despite air con being on (?) there was some mould in bathroom I noticed and also we noticed the corridors, carpets and walls were slightly scruffy in places. I was surprised that I could see into my friends room through the peep hole since there was no cover on it.... Not very private! (Hence my rating) . Didn't sample breakfast but enjoyed Starbucks on site, and location walking distance to wind street for pubs, clubs and bars.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, General Manager at Village Hotel Swansea, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest.
Thank you for your comments we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Room was spacious - linens Ok.

Bathroom a little tired but does the job.

Air conditioning turned off in the early hours. Reception advised me that this happens every night. What is the point of air conditioning?

Bar food poor quality.

Staff were eager to serve and were very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Competency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, General Manager at Village Hotel Swansea, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for the constructive feedback, we do listen and take reported issues very seriously.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Overall a good location rooms good although the mould around the bath and shower need attention. Breakfast on Sunday morning was a little chaotic the chef could not keep up with demand for the buffet breakfast.Leisure amenities were good although around the pool the surface was extremely slippy especially for the less abled

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, General Manager at Village Hotel Swansea, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you for the constructive feedback, we do listen and take reported issues very seriously.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

My husband took part in a sporting event this weekend and we needed a place to stay at fairly short notice.

We paid a little extra for the upper deck room and it was worth it, spacious and with the extras of sky movies, Starbucks coffee in room etc.

We have been able to arrive, relax and energize before the big event.

Reception staff (the lady we had) did not brief or inform us of the facilities but its easy to figure out or just ask.

Clean and comfortable and we're staying two nights.

I'd imagine they cater for functional requirements like business trips, weekend travel or events.

A little unsure about location as we've not been out locally.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank N J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, General Manager at Village Hotel Swansea, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind comments we hope you come back again.

Best Wishes, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
1.1 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
985 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
933 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#12 of 22 in Swansea
702 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#16 of 22 in Swansea
617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#5 of 22 in Swansea
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Swansea

Property: Village Hotel Swansea
Address: (Off Fabian Way Langdon Road | SA1 Waterfront, Swansea SA1 8QY, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Swansea)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Swansea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Swansea offers the perfect combination of breathtaking views and vibrant city life. Swansea is nestled between Cardiff and the more tranquil areas of the West Wales coast. It is also within easy reach of the Brecon Beacons National Park, St David's and Tenby. Another great day trip is to be had enjoying the scenic views and beaches of the spectacular Gower Peninsula. Village Hotel Swansea has 114 air-conditioned bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Swansea Hotel Swansea
Swansea Village Hotel
Village Hotel Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing