We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Swansea
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

having been to village hotel on numerous occassions for weddings and parties and staying the night i can not praise the place enough the staff very helpful and polite and bedrooms first class along with food etc will take some beating excellet place to have a wedding or party or just to stay for the weekend

Room Tip: very helpful staff and very clean and tidy hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ROY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily H, General Manager at Village Hotel Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear ROY D

Thank you for your comments, it is always pleasing to know when we have exceeded our guests expectations. I will be sure to pass on my thanks to the team for their efforts.

I hope we may welcome you back again soon

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,427 - 1,433 of 1,828 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Went for just the one night with my girlfriend to go surfing, can't complain at all with the stay.

We paid the little extra to have an upper deck room, the bed was comfy, room was tidy and of a really good size. The hotel is a very urban layout and just nice to be in.

Enough restaurants to chose from, all with a good standard of food. The breakfast bar was really good as well, great selection across all ranges of breakfast.

Unfortunately only the one restaurant does room service, I had to go down to the pub and bring food back to the room as we wanted to watch the World Cup game in our room.

Staff were very friendly, no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, General Manager at Village Hotel Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest, thank you very much for such kind feedback the team will be thrilled with your comments. You will be pleased to know we are now offering room service from both the Victory Pub and Restaurant and next week launch the new verve bar and grill menu.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes, Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Oh no, even worse than the last time. Dirty areas all around, check out the ventilation above the salad/breakfast area, years old dust and dirt. Then look around the rest of the place. The only two things that I found nice about the place was the walk away from here and the roll that was served with the soup, whole cloves of garlic in it!
Never mind, at least it didn't stink of cigarette smokey this time.
Breakfast wasn't the best but it was very busy.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Easylife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily H, General Manager at Village Hotel Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Easylife1

Thank you for your comments, I am very sorry that your experience was not up to our usually high standards. I have recently been appointed and will be having a thorough department review, I am sure you will see improvements on your next stay.

If you would like to discuss this further with me, please do not hesitate to contact me on simon.barratt@village-hotels.com

Kjnd Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in June as part of a Swansea Uni event. The beds were very comfy and the general layout of room was good as was the breakfast. However our room backed onto a service room and the headboards buzzed and vibrated from some machine on the otherside. We were also on top of some sort of disco and facing Fabian Way so very noisy. We arrived late and left early otherwise we would have asked to move. As a frequent visitor to Swansea there are better places to stay when with family and possibly best to leave this place to revellers.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Harlow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, General Manager at Village Hotel Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for the feedback.

We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

We hope in the future you will re-consider returning and allow us to demonstrate our usual facilities and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I am a gym member at the Village, but have also stayed here and eaten on several occassions so hopefully can give an all round review!

Restaurants - have eaten in both the pub & resturant and food was great in both. The flat bread pizza in the pub is one I would recommend!

There is also a Starbucks franchise on site with loads of sofas, and table seating areas which is great for meetings.

Gym - great if your an average work-out - er! My other half is quite hard core into training and was disappointed at the lack of weights, however said it would be good if you were only staying a few days and wanted to use the facilities - but wouldn't be his choice of gym. Saying that I'm a gym member here and the swimming pool is great, as are the Les Mills classes (but these book up quick so don't just turn up make sure you book!).

Rooms - we stayed on the exec floor - great for the night that we needed and comfy beds, and good TV. Bathroom is shower in bath and was fine.

Meeting area (2nd floor) - great sized function room used for weddings and includes a bar area outside of the function room. Smaller meeting rooms are avaliable as well as a refreshment area with tea / coffee / soft drinks on tap.

All in all exactly what you'd expect from the Village brand - happy customer here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelledfrom0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, General Manager at Village Hotel Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Velocity Member. Thanks for your Review and I was really pleased to read how much you enjoy using all our facilities especially Velocity Health and Fitness.

We hope you stay again soon.

Best Wishes Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I Have no fault with the hotel, staff were pleasent. Food was lovely but I wouldn't book a spa break there again. There was aquaerobics in the pool with Loud music . Pool was open to non residents. It was very busy . The jucuzzi was so small even though it said on wall 6 people allowed . I was told to get out due to 5 people using it. Every 20min it would stop to filter. We were told by staff to vacate for 5min. I didn't find it at all relaxing .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann_yy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, General Manager at Village Hotel Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest. Thank you for your kind remarks, which I have shared with our staff. Sorry the leisure experience was not as relaxed as you would have liked, we can experience high footfall levels with guests enjoying the facilities at peak times. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Quite a good hotel, the rooms are clean and spacious and the facilities good. Nice dining area and the food was very good. Staff were helpful and friendly and overall the whole experience was good, probably one of the better hotels in this area. It's location is reasonable as it is only a short (2 miles) to great beaches (walkable), close to Swansea night life but far enough away so as not to be noisy. A short walk to a mini late night supermarket provides for all tastes and an ATM.
There is a seating / dining area outside BUT two major problems...One is that fact that the hotel allows customers to smoke in this area and considering it is the only seating area outside, it's a bit much and unhealthy to expect customers to sit with people inconsiderately blowing smoke in your face whilst you are trying to enjoy a nice drink or meal and the other problem is the fact that your share your seating area with a car park, despite the fact that the hotel is in a very spacious area and this problem could easily be rectified.
The hotel do not appear to have any concerns with their customers inhaling carbon monoxide or nicotine smoke on their grounds. Wake up Village it's not good enough.

Room Tip: Top Floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian10117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, General Manager at Village Hotel Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for the kind remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the Hotels facilities. We do understand your concerns and we welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better. Best wishes, Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
1.1 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
2.4 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
751 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Swansea
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
821 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#16 of 22 in Swansea
647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Swansea

Address: (Off Fabian Way Langdon Road | SA1 Waterfront, Swansea SA1 8QY, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Swansea)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range: £43 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Swansea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Swansea offers the perfect combination of breathtaking views and vibrant city life. Swansea is nestled between Cardiff and the more tranquil areas of the West Wales coast. It is also within easy reach of the Brecon Beacons National Park, St David's and Tenby. Another great day trip is to be had enjoying the scenic views and beaches of the spectacular Gower Peninsula. Village Hotel Swansea has 114 air-conditioned bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Village Hotel Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Swansea Hotel Swansea
Swansea Village Hotel
Village Hotel Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing