We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location ,clean & tidy...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Swansea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Village Hotel Swansea
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Swansea
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good location ,clean & tidy...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

We booked a 1 night break and it has it all - spa, steam, swim & food :) It has a private Starbuck's onside, pub & restaurant and is walking distance from the town centre. We went for a bit of a sightseeing but it was not a lot to do & see in Swansea. I would recommend a walk in the beach near the Marina...

The room was quite big with Sky Sports 1,2 & 3 for free. Also Free WiFi and Iphone speakers ...Clean and modern

I'll use it again for sure

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ds_ivanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    476
    287
    96
    56
See reviews for
233
589
51
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

Stayed here in a standard room for three nights in September 2009 to attend an event held in the hotel. Very impressed -- much nicer on all counts than the brand-new Radisson Blu in Cardiff.

Room: Extremely spacious and comfortable, with modern decor. Spotlessly clean. Room even had a small couch and coffee table. Interesting view over the port of Swansea. Free wireless internet access.

Public areas: Nice bar with, I thought, well-priced beer and better-than-average bar food. Good-sized lobby with deep comfortable couches and chairs. Starbucks just off the lobby. (Ditto the exercise center, which I didn't use.) Conference-room area was nice, though hot; I don't know if the air conditioning was inadequate or out of order.

Breakfast: Very nice buffet in a comfortable restaurant area.

Location and parking: About a ten-minute walk from town. Finding how to get there from the A road was a little tricky -- look for a small brown sign explaining where to turn. Ample free parking in a surface lot.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tahl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

Being a 'Village Hotel' regular I booked a night here without reading the reviews. Having read the reviews before I checked in, however, I was rather concerned to say the least. "Unfriendly staff, poor food, noisy rooms" - or so I read. But having stayed there I can dispel all these myths. I found the staff to be friendly and efficient; the rooms were no noiser than any other hotel and were extremely comfortable and the breakfast was varied and most enjoyable. I didn't have an evening meal there because of the reviews, but if the quality of breakfast was anything to go by then I am sorry I didn't. The hotel was very busy during my stay but it functioned as a good class hotel should. The hotel is convenient to the city centre -a very short bus, taxi or car ride away and I would certainly have no hesitation in staying there again.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cardi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest Wales UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

Stayed at The Village on a two night break B&B plus dinner on first evening. Wonderful hotel very clean and tidy. Pool was great. Staff friendly and helpful. Resturant very good and nice bar aera. Room was very clean and well equiped even and ipod docking station! would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonymink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

Good location, easy walking distance to Euston. Good sized room, spotlessly clean. Will definitely stay again but would avoid the breakfast tray service as I was asked for £1.50 upon delivery of the tray rather than at checkout - despite my being wrapped in only a towel having just got out of the shower! The two follow up 'phone calls to chase up the £1.50 wasn't the best way to start the day so ruined what would otherwise have been a very good experience. It's the small things that trip you up.!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshweekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

I have to say I was rather dissapointed with this hotel. It really did not match up to the standards of a four star hotel and I doubt it would match many three star hotels out there either.
The staff weren't the most enthusiastic people (except one receptionist who was lovely, bubbly and very helful with her knowledge of the local area.) The rooms were quite tired and very plain with no little extras you normally get in 4 star hotels.
The view was awful-a tired old building site/scrapyard! The walls were covered in dents and holes that had been shodilly filled in. The curtains were dirty as was the bathroom... gosh my list of little niggles is endless.
Onto the major issues though... dinner was awful! The worst meal I have eaten in a long time, lifeless and very plain and totally over cooked and over priced. The breakfast wasn't much better. The cooked was soggy and there was no cheeses or meats for the continental just toast or cereals and a few bits of fruit or out of the packet cakes.
The location of the hotel is pretty dire at the moment but it does look like it is an up and coming area so maybe it won't be to bad once all of the developments finished.
The worst thing however was the noise. The walls were like paper and both myself and my partner, me being a very heavy sleeper couldn't get a wink between us due to the doors closing or people moving upstairs. It wasn't due to inconsiderate guests it was purely because of the design of the hotel. On the one night it was due to an inconsiderate, noisy shewolf I was ever so close to dragging myself out of bed and going down the millions of stairs to complain but luckily her mate had a bit of an 'issue' and they soon quietened down!
Good points about the hotel-the fact it is a hotel and you don't have to ever go back again if you don't want to! (Oh the reception area was decorated nicely too!)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovepinkmilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
160 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

I have stayed at this hotel several times, always on business. It is convenient for the nightlife (10 minutes walk or a few quid in a cab) but in a quiet location with nice views if you get a room facing the docks.

The gym and pool are superb but they do close early (around 2130, I think). Parking is easy and reasonably secure (some cameras but no barrier).

Rooms are modern and comfortable, bathrooms good but getting a bit tired (my towel rail didn't work, soap dispenser by the shower was broken, there was some mould and staining around the bath). Modern flatscreen tv's but sadly not digital - had to put up with the poor quality in house system - pictures the wrong shape and size! Some facilities noticably missing, ie box of tissues, laptop safe.

Not sure if this claims to be 4*; in my experience it is probably a more honest 3*.

The main problem is the attitude of some of the staff who do not go out of the way to make your visit special. I arrived a bit early (about 1315), my room wasn't ready - not a problem. I asked if I could have a sea view but 'my room had already been allocated'. I had to ask if it could be changed which was duely done.

When I came back that evening the poor receptionist (not the same one as earlier) was trying to deal with about 8 people on her own! Where was the duty manager or her colleagues? She coped well, was polite and efficient - definately one of the better ones!

Bar food was acceptable, prices reasonable. Breakfast ok - but plates cold!

Similar staff issues in the bar - some excellent; others not bothered. I left an account open which was 'no problem'. On the next drink I forgot to tell the other server; he was very short with me about having to tell him first about the open account. Luckily my last drink was from server 1 who was great and although Polish (I think), was in tune with the British sense of humour!

Checking out was slow - again only one behind reception. He was effiecient but not bothered about whether I had had an enjoyable stay. It was only then that I noticed the sign saying £2 credit card suplement - not told on check-in. Had to ask for a comment form - should be some on reception. I then I remebered the comment card I had sent back after my previous stay - nothing heard back despite leaving full contact details!

So come on DeVere, show some interest in your customers, do some staff training and get a loyalty scheme going so at least we will have something to come back for!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alister C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
1.0 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
1.0 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#12 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Swansea

Property: Village Hotel Swansea
Address: (Off Fabian Way Langdon Road | SA1 Waterfront, Swansea SA1 8QY, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Swansea)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Swansea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Swansea offers the perfect combination of breathtaking views and vibrant city life. Swansea is nestled between Cardiff and the more tranquil areas of the West Wales coast. It is also within easy reach of the Brecon Beacons National Park, St David's and Tenby. Another great day trip is to be had enjoying the scenic views and beaches of the spectacular Gower Peninsula. Village Hotel Swansea has 114 air-conditioned bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Village Hotel Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Swansea Hotel Swansea
Swansea Village Hotel
Village Hotel Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing