We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What lovely people, and a lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Llethryd Barns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swansea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Llethryd Barns
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What lovely people, and a lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed for two nights as my sister's wedding was in the area. We booked out all the rooms and were made to feel like we really were home from home. The cottages were clean and comfortable, the service was amazing, and I would definitely return with my family. Excellent choice for breakfast. My boys loved the chickens and a highlight for them was feeding the goat! My only regret was that as the weekend was so busy with the wedding we didn't get to spend as long as we would have liked to in the amazing grounds.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
73
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed for two nights in a garden suite and we wished we could have stayed longer. Julie and Adrian are perfect hosts and make you feel at home straightaway. Our suite was very comfortable - a living room area and bathroom downstairs and a bedroom upstairs with Velux windows in the roof. French doors downstairs lead out onto a decked balcony with a wonderful view of the garden and woodland. There is also a fridge to chill your wine! Julie's Mum is an avid gardener and delights in keeping the garden and courtyard in pristine condition. Breakfast was delicious with plenty on offer to keep you going all day long. The surrounding area is very rural with wild ponies and cows on the common - you have to drive carefully just in case they decide to cross the road! There are many scenic walks in the area to walk off those big breakfasts and we really enjoyed walking along the beach from Oxwich and returning via the coastal path. We also visited the National Trust area at Rhossili Bay and Worm's Head - absolutely stunning scenery! We ate out at lovely places too and can recommend Castellamare at Bracelet Bay - an up-market Italian perched on the cliff near the Mumbles. It was a bit pricey, but well worth it. Julie and Adrian work extremely hard and it shows. The place is immaculate and we would highly recommend Llethryd Barns as a base to explore the Gower.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank korkythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

What a fantastic place to stay. Julie and Adrian are the most welcoming hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Accommodation is immaculate, very comfortable, and set in the most tranquil of settings. We only stayed one night but will definitely be arranging another visit as soon as possible. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but 6 & 7 have their own small balcony overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

we stayed here on 1/03/12 - 3/03/12 and the place is fantastic
It's like having your own private cottage and is great value for money
adrian and his wife really made us feel welcome and we will be back again in the near future
mobile phone reception is pretty hard to receive but to us that was a good thing as it was nice not to be mithered and helped us get into the spirit of actually getting away from the busy work life
If you do need to use your mobile whilst there though there is a petrol station about a 5 minute drive away where you can get 3g signal
There are alot of country pubs nearby the b and b all are very well priced and all take card (not just cash only)
The petrol station is pretty cheap too (same price as most other petrol stations) but alot cheaper than service station petrol prices so make sure you fill up here before going back to your hometown..it's alot cheaper in the long run
There is also a shop here which sells all the neccesties so if you want to fill up the fridge in your room at the b and b this is the nearest place to do so.
The breakfast which Adrian cooked us was fantsastic and he even offered to make us sausage butties to take with us on the long journey home.
Adrian will also ask what time you want breakfast so there is no panic on hoping you don't miss breakfast like in other b and bs where as they stop serving after 10am.
Adrian will not see you go without breakfast :)
We stayed here for a friends wedding which was further up the gower at oldwalls
Taxis are available but charge a flat fee of £25 as they have to come up from Swansea to pick you up so it is better to make friends with other wedding guests and split the taxi fare.
driving through the gower at night is pretty tricky but is acheivable if you keep your speed at 30mph and use fog lights. Sat Nav's do help alot also.
I would recommend this b and b to anybody and will for sure be visiting and staying again.
Aaron Benyon

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet and heating is fantastic apparantly being on 02 mobile network is the best one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaron b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed 2 nights when we came down for a friends wedding and we couldn't have had a warmer welcome. We stayed in the garden suite which has the most beautiful views and I loved the fact there was a living room downstairs and a bedroom upstairs, like home from home. The breakfast was amazing and Adrian even gave us a lift back to our car the following morning as we had left it at the hotel down the road after the wedding. We didn't get to see much of the surrounding countryside but we would love to come back with the children and stay for a bit longer.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

This place was amazing. I stayed in August and Julie and Adrian were really helpful. They suggested which beach would be good for a barbeque, the name of a brilliant butcher, and they even provided us with crockery and cutlery. Breakfast was excellent and I will definitely return here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Absolutely superb place to stay for a couple of nights.
we stayed in the garden suite. It was so lovely to have a lounge area as well as the bedroom...felt we could really relax.
Lovely location; v easy to access rest of Gower from Llethyrd.
Amazing hosts...couldn't do enough for us!
Couldn't ask for any more from a B&B.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReadyGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
5.3 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
3.1 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
6.0 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
5.4 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
7.8 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llethryd Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llethryd Barns

Property: Llethryd Barns
Address: Llethryd, | Gower Peninsula, Swansea SA2 7LH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed & breakfast suites set in the heart of the beautiful Gower Peninsula. A welcome break from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Llethryd Barns Hotel Swansea
Llethryd Barns Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing