We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay”
Review of Llethryd Barns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swansea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Llethryd Barns
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I had a lovely peaceful 3 nights at Llethryd Barns during the olympics and stayed in a garden suite which I'd highly recommend. Great breakfast, sociable place to stay and meet fellow guests yet very private. Lovely gardens and a stone's throw away from all the beauty of the Gower. Julie and Adrian are perfect hosts and great fun to chat with. Will be coming back! Richard

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed here for a short weekend break (two nights) I and am pleased to highly recommend Llethryd Barns. I was originally looking for a self-catering cottage as we wanted our own space, privacy etc but could not find anything that matched our requirements. I did not fancy the idea of a B&B but this place delivered everything we were looking for.
You have your own self-contained unit within a barn conversion with your own access so can come and go as you please without disturbing anyone else. The interior was finished to a very high standard indeed with a living room area, spacious bedroom and bathroom. We chose one of the slightly more expensive Garden Suites so also had our own private outside space which was worth the extra. It felt more like comfortable hotel suite than a B&B and was perfect for us. The location was also ideal, being centrally located within the Gower Peninsula. It was the perfect spot from which to explore the stunning beaches and scenery. We spent the day walking down to 3 cliffs bay and beyond and were pleased to be able to explore the area from the doorstep rather than having to get in the car to get anywhere.
The breakfast was varied and delicious and the owners could not have been more helpful, advising us of good walks and booking restaurants etc for us.
If you are going to the Gower I would advise you to stay here as we really had nothing but a positive experience and hope to go back.

Room Tip: Garden suites are a little more expensive but worth it as you get your own private decking area over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamieA152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a courtyard suite and so lovely to have separate sitting room . Breakfast offered lots of choice for all tastes . The owners are extremely helpful and great advice re local area , things to do and places to eat . A very relaxing few days !

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annmarie2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This accommodation is more than just B+B really. The accommodation is seperate to the main house with individual access, and it is all set in beautiful grounds with flowers, lawns, water feature and seating areas.
We had a courtyard suite which was really a small cottage! Really well equipped with a normal sized fridge, a lovely living area downstairs which had two large sofas and still plenty of space, and a huge and comfortable king sized bed upstairs (mezzanine accommodation but very large). We stayed with our toddler and he had a lovely low single camp bed upstairs next to us. This worked out perfectly as we could settle him to sleep then watch tv downstairs in the evening.
Adrian was so lovely and his service was second to none! The breakfast was to a high standard, beautiful fresh fruit salad, yogurts, cereals, toast, large cooked breakfasts, small cooked breakfasts, light breakfasts (bagels, ham, scrambled eggs) YUM!
The location in the Gower is perfect as its no more than 15 mins drive to any of the beaches and some even closer. We spent the days visiting all the beautiful beaches and had some lovely meals in local pubs in the evenings.
This was a perfect, peaceful 2 night getaway which enabled us to spend some well earned quality family time together, and I would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trinabeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

A fantastic place to stay. Our suite was clean, warm and comfortable. It was great to have two storey accomodation - a room to sit in comfort downstairs and a peaceful night's sleep in a very comfortable superking bed upstairs. The bliss of having a bed that fits a 6' 4'' husband is rare and much appreciated. Adrian and Julie were friendly and extremely hospitable. Both us and our children were made to feel very welcome. Adrian's local knowledge and information about tide times to walk to Worms Head were spot on and useful. His humour and Julie's tasty breakfasts made a great start to the day. We were made to feel that nothing was too much trouble. Adrian even took the time to book local restaurants for us. A great place, great people and we can't wait until we come back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Adrian & Julie made us feel at ease right from the word go, and their hospitality didn't wane once. With Adrian's humorous anecdotes accompanying the excellent breakfasts (and Adrian does have a great sense of humour), and local, knowledgeable advice on the best things to see in the area, we felt we were really taken care of. The Garden Suite we stayed in was spotlessly clean, and we found it a real bonus to have our own suite but with breakfast cooked for us too. The advantages of self-catering and B&B all rolled into one - brilliant !
If you're going to the Gower for a break or a holiday, do yourselves a favour and book in here.
You definitely won't regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoffTrevarthen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed at Llethryd Barns for two nights and I can honestly say it is one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in. Our suite was comfortable and clean, and the old barn building itself has been converted beautifully. The owners have thought of everything - the rooms even had a fridge, wine glasses and bottle opener. The breakfasts were delicious and the owners were friendly and could not do enough to help. This is the perfect place for a Welsh weekend getaway - very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RebeccaN1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
3.6 mi away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
1,013 reviews
3.9 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
392 reviews
7.8 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
703 reviews
6.0 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
182 reviews
6.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#2 of 5 in Llangennith
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llethryd Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llethryd Barns

Address: Llethryd, | Gower Peninsula, Swansea SA2 7LH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Swansea
Price Range: £60 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed & breakfast suites set in the heart of the beautiful Gower Peninsula. A welcome break from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Llethryd Barns Hotel Swansea
Llethryd Barns Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing