We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Good value , refurbished hotel ,clean and comfortable, friendly staff.
Not overly convenient for train station, and didnt try the restaurant.
Usual rule of engagement apply eg bring your own shower gel and shampoo

Room Tip: Not that close to train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinr56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

located in city center but quiet.. easily accessible from bus station... near attractions, indoor market, swansea bay, museums, castle ruins and shopping... many fast food outlets nearby and also chinese takeaways and restaurants

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Excellent location, really in the heart of everything re: restaurants, nightlife, cinema directly opposite etc and staff extremely helpful re: giving extra tea/coffee etc if you need it BUT the two main issues are : the noise - we were there Fri + sat night so probably we should have expected it but the outside revellers 2 a.m. / 3 a.m. didn't assist a good night's sleep, the other issue was car parking, we were advised to use the NCP car park opposite, £11.50 overnight reduced to £9.80 with a Travelodge stamp on the ticket, I don't mind paying these prices in London, even Manchester, but not in a medium-sized city similar to my own, by the way there are cheaper parking options elsewhere, the one adjacent to the hotel had a banner on the main road saying you could park at weekend from 7 p.m. - 6 a.m. for just £1. Other than the two issues above I might have been persuaded to award 5 stars, if you're a deep-sleeper who doesn't need car parking it's perfect !!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mister J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

pleasantly surprised,for a budget hotel excellent service great location in town centre,very clean room ,new and comfortable bed,towels,and tea coffee etc replenished daily would highly recommend all the staff were very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

First impressions of the hotel were very positive, a warm welcome, pleasant reception area and smooth check-in.
Ditto for the room, great sea view! Comfortable bed, bathroom all functioning well and overall I was really pleased. However, this was then sadly overshadowed by a massive dark black hair on the white plastic seat. Maybe its me, but there's something about finding a strangers hair like that and it sort of soured my opinion on the hygiene. I also found a small piece of plastic wrapping (don't know what from) on the bathroom floor.
I would have given four or five had I had a totally cleaned room, shame.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heisenberg_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback djdameswales_UK. We are pleased to learn that you received great service from our staff and found our beds to be comfortable however it is regrettable that you felt the cleanliness of the room fell below our usual high standards. Our housekeeping team follow a specific routine when servicing our rooms so we’d like to apologise for the oversight on this occasion. We’ll ensure our hotel management team are made aware of your feedback so our staff can be reminded of the importance of customer care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights midweek. Room was basic, no frills but clean and comfortable. To our surprise the Hotel had a restaurant and bar, the food was very good, no complaints. The breakfast was a full breakfast and all you could eat if you felt like it. We had a room at the back of the hotel which looked out onto the rear of the Quadrant shopping Centre which basically meant early morning (5am) lorry deliveries to the stores so there was a degree of noise, and when everything is quiet, the noise form deliveries is amplified somewhat. We had a few other glitches, the TV remote would only work a few inches from the TV, the keycard didn't work on the second day and the room wouldn't lock on one occasion.......but these were sorted out OK.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front may be quieter but the hotel is very close to the Swansea weekend clubbing zone
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pehu44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

For the price a good hotel, however dirty pillow covers, very poor check in and room not cleaned for second night. Noises from outside and inside people shouting out sssshhh when the come in as per any normal city centre hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

We’re really sorry to learn of the issue you have raised Mark S. Our housekeeping team follow a regular routine when servicing our rooms and it is regrettable that there was a lapse in service on this occasion. We’ll be sure to pass on your feedback to our hotel management team so this can be addressed and our staff can also be reminded of the importance of providing a great service to our guests. It’s also regrettable you were disturbed by other customers, and by external noises. We do try to reduce noise in our hotels by having insulated walls and double glazing however due to the central location of the hotel we cannot completely prevent external noise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
1.2 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
2.8 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Swansea
1,006 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Swansea M4
Travelodge Swansea M4
#9 of 22 in Swansea
242 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel

Address: Princess Way, Swansea SA1 3LW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range: £48 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel Wales
Travel Lodge Swansea
Swansea Travel Lodge
Swansea Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing