We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor travelodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Poor staff, poor signage, poor bathrooms, fire doors propped open by staff and left open, reception poor, key cards which work once! TV remote not working, tv fell off its wall support, price ok, rooms set up wrong no other beds! Shower dribbles! Screaming women coming back to their rooms at 3am! If you can book for £29 or less for one night suffer it if you want comfort forget it!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

We are sorry to learn of your recent disappointment Mark S. We would like to further understand the issues you have highlighted to find a resolution. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

Good hotel, however considering it is advertised as newly refurbished I was surprised to find my room with a chipped desk, paint flaking off the bath hand rail and black marks across the ceiling and heater. Unfortunately there was no warning about the roadworks outside the hotel on booking also, the sound of a jackhammer isnt very relaxing! The bedding and towels were clean though.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Scruzzbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

There was very limited access and no dropping off zone for disabled people before having to park the car off site in an expensive car park. The rooms were not well designed for disabled people although the bath rooms were well kitted out to accommodate a wheelchair.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The location is really convenient for shops and restaurants. Clean and spacious room. All staff friendly, helpful and efficient, including giving us a recommendation for a pub lunch! Lovely as a base for a few days on Gower.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at this Travelodge for Valentines day /night and had
a lovely time. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the bed was really comfortable and the hotel was close to the centre. There was a lovely oriental restaurant 300 yards from the hotel
'

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank JanCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a wee night out in Swansea on wind street. The hotel has a fab central location & is really clean & modern. Super big bedrooms that are spotlessly clean & have very comfy beds. The breakfast was good & staff very friendly. Couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed for two nights as my partner was working in Swansea and plus we wanted to bring our Jack Russell along and Travelodge was one of only 3 hotels that accepted pets. The rooms were basic & clean but functional, no frills ie no shower gel, hair dryer. We did miss a bath mat for when you get out the shower. The staff deserve medals for dealing with some of the guests they have stay there, it was very much an eye opener sitting in the bar. I would have given five but the travelodge website and attitude of the call centre staff let it down. We'll definitely stay again when in Swansea

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Fussyaboutfoodme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

We can confirm as a brand standard we do not provide toiletries in our rooms grungemonster, however we do provide a vending machine at reception which will contain toiletries should you have forgotten any items. We also do not provide bath mats however our bathrooms will have an anti slip surface for the safety of our guests. Our Central Reservations team are expected to provide a great service so we will be sure to investigate this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
1.3 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Swansea
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#8 of 22 in Swansea
760 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
740 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#15 of 22 in Swansea
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel

Address: Princess Way, Swansea SA1 3LW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range: £35 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel Wales
Travel Lodge Swansea
Swansea Travel Lodge
Swansea Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing