We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome place for new couples”
Review of Hurst Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hurst Dene Hotel
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“awesome place for new couples”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

this was certainly not what i expected....for self catering you get you own lounge area,bedroom,bathroom kitchen (everything you need to cook...pots,pans,dishes,bowls,cups,utensils...wow) and all at a very reasonable rate....extremely highly recommend....A+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank futzky11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    23
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
13
17
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

An unexpected journey lead us to swansea with no place to stay. Another hotel recommended Hurst Dene and we're really pleased with the room. Surprised how well equipped the kitchen is. An oven, hob, fridge, glasses, mugs, plates, egg cups, cutlery, kettle, microwave, toaster, saucepans and iron, flat screen tv. everything you'd need for a few nights or a week!
We've thoroughly enjoyed it and fantastic value for money. I will strongly recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky1497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We've used this hotel 3 times and thought it was great value for money, ideal situation to work, the rooms were nice and clean (a little small and the walls were a little thin as other guests could be heard in the corridor), flat screen tv's and suitable en-suite bathrooms and a great breakfast to see you on your way.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2009

We looked for a place to stay in Swansea, and saw the previous review. We decided to stay for 3 nights, but have extended to 12 nights because it is an amazing place to stay.

We have a self catering apartment, which has a lovely lounge with spectacular views over Swansea Bay, a good size double bedroom and a kitchen/dinner with a full size oven and hob.

20 mins walk into the city centre, or less than 5 mins walk to the buses.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boysbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2007

I booked a twin room at the Hurst Dene for myself and a friend as we were in Swansea for one night to attend a party. When we arrived, we found that we'd actually been allocated one of their self-catering apartments - which would probably been really handy if we'd been staying longer.

The apartment was cheaply furnished (but at £58 a room, what more could you expect?!). There was a small double bedroom, a shower room and a kitchen/living area. The kitchen was well-equipped, with a fridge, kettle, toaster, microwave and full-size oven and hob. One thing I noticed as I was drifting off to sleep was that the bedclothes smelled incredibly fresh and clean - the whole apartment was in fact, spotlessly clean.

The staff were friendly and we were congratulated by a gentleman (who I assumed to be the owner) for making it down to breakfast after such a late night - I thought it was nice that he remembered us as it's a pretty big place.

I can't comment too much on the suitability of the location for those wanting to visit the city centre as we stayed in the suburbs but there was a wide selection of shops, restaurants and a cash point within easy walking distance.

Breakfast was fine - full English (or variations of) plus plenty of toast, a good variety of cereals, grapefruit and prunes.

One thing I would say is that, based on our experience, the rooms look nothing like those advertised (I have included my own pics)

Helpful?
4 Thank saffstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
1.1 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
934 reviews
3.3 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
168 reviews
1.1 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#5 of 22 in Swansea
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#11 of 22 in Swansea
209 reviews
3.0 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hurst Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hurst Dene Hotel

Property: Hurst Dene Hotel
Address: 10 Sketty Road, Swansea SA2 0LJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hurst Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hurst Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hurst Dene Hotel Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing