We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but very expensive!”
Review of Hillend campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swansea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillend campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I spent one night at Hillend campsite, and although the location and facilities are very good, at £25 for a two man tent, it is far too expensive. Unfortunately, for this reason, we won't be going back again. It's a real pity because we love the beach there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ericamcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

Being a Gower resident I have been frequenting Hillend over the last 30 odd years. I would say from the outset that if you are young and are expecting the carefree, anarchic all night party venue that this place once was you will be disapointed. Long gone are the days when hoardes of fun lovers, me being one of them, made a beeline for Hillend every weekend, hitting the Kings Head until closing time and stumbling back to the site for very noisy all night parties.

Now Hillend is a different beast, quiet, civilised and well appointed with good clean shower/toilet blocks and a decent cafe. Site rules are rigid so no noise after 10pm, something that I personally don't have any issue with at all. When I camped there last June with a group of mates we went down on the dunes, well away from the site, where we could make a fire and enjoy sipping away at cold beers well into the night. I found the staff in general to be decent although mention has to be made of the guy who races up and down the beach at night on his quad bike checking out folks with fires on the beach. He did seem to be in a bit of a power trip to me!!

Anyway, to summarise, if you are looking for a chilled out break with friends or family then it doesn't get much better than this. Gorgeous location next to one of the World's best beaches, decent reliable surf, good facilities and a great pub just up the road. Perfect!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jez B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Awesome location and facilities are good and clean. Food at the cafe was also good. However the campsite staff are like nightclub doormen.

Due to the quite expensive prices and the restrictions on any sort of evening socialising we won't be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Not being a 'natural' camper I was amazed to find that I loved this campsite. I think its because it doesn't have a holiday camp atmosphere. No arcades, no rides etc., just beautiful scenery, great beaches with great waves for body boarding and loads to do without having to spend lots of money. It's great value with v. clean facilities and one of the only campsites you don't have to book ahead, so you can just turn up. The onsite Cafe 'Eddies' is great if you don't want to cook and there is a on site shop for the basics. Our 2 kids age 14 & 15 absolutely love it and don't even bring any of their mobile devices with them. The atmosphere on the site is great with a real respect and monitoring of noise and behaviour. Take wetsuits, bodyboards (or hire them), and you can spend all day in the sea. Normally quite girly, I usually baulk at being away from hair and make up but it really doesn't matter here and I much preferred it to other camping holidays which had a more 'Butlins' type atmosphere. 10/10

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Ania W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Love this place. Been three years running. It has everything you need for a relaxing break. All you need is a tent! And a little sun helps.... With nice weather this is certainly one of the best locations and the cheapest holiday you can get, especially if you have children! Give a child a bucket & spade, sea and sand and who needs money.... There is a little shop on site and a cafe/restaurant. There are adequate shower facilities and toilets. I have always found the staff to be polite and friendly. As good as any place abroad with it's beautiful mountains and lovely beach... All we lack is the sun!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We spent 3 nights here and really enjoyed our stay. Very reasonable, at £54 for the three nights, you can't go wrong! Toilets and showers were always clean, however, were quite a long way from the family fields, they could do with building another at least toilet block between those fields as with children you really do need them closer. On site shop was very well stocked and very reasonable. Eddys cafe on site served lovely food, although disappointingly took last orders for food at half five, which seemed really early to eat. The campsite is right on the beach and is perfect if you fancy a quiet beach holiday. A perfect paradise for surfers! There is a lovely park on site for the children to play in. Very friendly on site staff.... One even gave us some milk to make a much needed morning cup of tea because the shop wasn't open! You can't beat that for service!!
Overall a very good site, very clean and tidy site, very well maintained - would stay there again!!

Room Tip: Would recommend you try and pitch your tent around the edge of the fields, this will offer some prot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anwen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The location is to die for. Just 100 yards over the dunes to the gorgeous Rhosili beach.
The campsite is well set up and caters to families with two dedicated fields for families only.
With this in mind they are very strict about noise after 10pm and don't allow music.
These rules have resulted in numerous people being chucked off the site who are thus disgruntled and write lousy reviews. So if you want to go for a stag weekend think of somewhere else, but if you want a quiet family holiday with good surf and great views then this is the place.
The staff are very friendly and helpful - unless you flout the above rules!
Shower blocks are fine, lots of hot water, rarely queues.
The shop is OK for most things but little fresh veg.
The take away cafe is lousy, the restaurant is OK - menu sounds good but disappoints in delivery - the milk shakes, however, are almost worth the tip on their own!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jswestern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
10.4 mi away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
1,013 reviews
11.1 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
703 reviews
12.5 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
392 reviews
14.2 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#2 of 5 in Llangennith
835 reviews
15.3 mi away
Broad Park Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillend campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillend campsite

Address: Rhossili Bay | Llangennith, Swansea, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Swansea
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillend campsite 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Also Known As:
Hillend Campsite Hotel Swansea
Hillend Campsite Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing