We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good”
Review of papa sanchos stonegrill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
papa sanchos stonegrill
Price range: US$51 - US$204
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Can't say I thought it very authentic but food was fresh & good value & staff were very good

Helpful?
1 Thank amandah84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

this retaurant is one of my favourites. we regularly visit here. the steak is fantastic. i love the hot stone as you can cook your meat as you wish and also adds a little bit extra to eating out rather than just having the meal brought to you. yes its not often full but i feel this is better so your not shouting over eachother like in some busy restaurants. the atmosphere is nice quiet and romantic. cannot complain

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JemmaRibeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany Berlin, Stuttgart
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

When we arrived half of the restaurant was empty. The waitress sent us upstairs to the bar to have a drink. She said: after two minutes a table would be ready. We went upstairs into an empty bar to get a glass of wine and some water in glasses made of PLASTIC! It took at least 10 minutes until they showed us one of the many empty tables downstairs. We ordered the Soup of the day (tomato and basil) and Gambas as a starter. Again it took at least 15 minutes until the food arrived. The Soup tasted like some tomato sauce from the supermarket. The Gambas were ok but there was to much sauce all over. Then the main dishes (Ribeye steak and lamb rump, both over 15 pounds) arrived: We didn't understand what this Stone-grill-thing was all about. If I order a steak, I want it raw, medium or well done. But in this case the raw steak lies sizzling on the hot stone and while you try to eat it becomes well down. The hot stone is like an oven in front of your face. The sizzling food on your table (and the open kitchen) make your clothes dirty and give them an ugly smell of fat. The staff never really cared. There was no salt or pepper on the table. Any sauce for the dry meat and dry potatoes was more than 2 pounds extra. Everything seemed very well disorganized.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty food, fabulous, friendly and helpful staff!”
Reviewed 11 April 2011

After attending a concert in Swansea on a Saturday night we (4 50+ adults) needed somewhere to eat away from the more youthful revellers. We choose Papa Sanchos on recommendation and were not disapppointed. The waiting staff bent over backwards to accommodate, even allowing us to taste the wines which were already open so that we could choose which ones we liked before ordering. They were able to offer information and advice about the dishes and consequently we enjoyed a meal cooked to a high standard, tasty dishes served quickly by staff who looked as if they enjoyed what they were doing. We can't wait to go back and my husband wants to celebrate his next birthday there.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank jacknjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Utterly Rubbish”
Reviewed 6 November 2010

A complete waste of time and money! The restaurant was freezing cold and empty when we arrived (at 7:30 pm) and the service was equally icy. The 4 waiting staff seemed more interested in discussing their social lives than serving and hence service was slow, inefficient and not interested in either taking our order or even delivering it. The waitress who served us had no idea what was on the menu (indeed she gave us the outdated lunch menu), gave us no drinks menu, and indeed seemingly had no idea on how to even record our correct order. The food when it eventually arrived was bland and the starters were cold (they where meant to be hot) with hard undercooked bread. The redeeming feature was of course the novelty of the stone grill cooking but whilst I love stone grill cooking paying £16 to cook my own food with poor indifferent service in a freezing restaurant with loud repeating music is not something I would care to repeat.

In short if you want a nice meal or relaxing date look elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelStudentCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed papa sanchos stonegrill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing