We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of papa sanchos stonegrill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
papa sanchos stonegrill
Price range: US$51 - US$204
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great steaks”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

One of the best steaks I've ever tasted, hardly any fat at all! Love he sides of veg and potatoes. The chilli bread, a must at ordering! The bread doughs are great at the start of meal

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank churchillWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of the best steaks ever!”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Papa Sancho's is my all time favorite. I don't live in the area anymore, but I still think about going back there!
The food is just mind blowing. The meat is cooked exactly how you like it, and they have so much choice. I actually had a pasta dish when I went the second time which was equally as good.
The wine selection is great, and not too expensive, and the desserts are just as yummy.
I miss Papa Sancho's!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HBGeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
304 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Kebab skewers are more presentable here”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This restaurant was recommended to me and it was a very pleasant experience. The speciality appeared to be large skewers of various meats hanging from a half-metre long ornament in the middle of the table. The chicken kebab i selected (for around £13.00) was tender and succulent. The accompanying vegetables appeared on the small side or maybe the plate was too large!. Italian beers formed part of the menu but there were some other types. The desserts were very tasty and most were around £4.50. On the night i visited which was mid week, they had a live entertainer playing guitar. The waiters were helpful and very pleasant. A quick look around to see what the other diners were eating indicated that the steaks may be worth having when/if i pop in again, they were sizzling on hot plates and smelled delicious.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChiefRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Can't say I thought it very authentic but food was fresh & good value & staff were very good

Helpful?
1 Thank amandah84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

this retaurant is one of my favourites. we regularly visit here. the steak is fantastic. i love the hot stone as you can cook your meat as you wish and also adds a little bit extra to eating out rather than just having the meal brought to you. yes its not often full but i feel this is better so your not shouting over eachother like in some busy restaurants. the atmosphere is nice quiet and romantic. cannot complain

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JemmaRibeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed papa sanchos stonegrill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing